We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish we'd found it earlier”
Review of Flor de Michoacan

Flor de Michoacan
Ranked #8 of 13 Dessert in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wish we'd found it earlier”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

As soon as you step in, you notice a different vibe in this tiny place (with a hidden secret garden in the back!) - all the ladies who work there, really seem to be enjoying doing what they're doing, and that makes a huge difference in a customer's perception.
We felt like we've wandered into our own home, that's how good they take care of you. :)
Their desserts are great, the tiny frozen fruit ice creams are scrumptious, and we've found that's the only place that won't rip you off for a coco frio - a chilled coconut!

Definitely go there if you have a chance.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    39
    12
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this little place!”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This amazing little store just about has it all! They have wonderful Mexican ice cream, homemade fruit Popsicles (some with pure fruit and some with fruit and cream), a huge number of aqua frescas and aqua fresca smoothie mixtures. Chocolate-covered frozen bananas. They have basic sandwiches on regular bread and croissant if you need a quick bite and cool drink before running to your next destination. They also have breakfasts made with eggs (I did not eat these so not sure if they are good or not, but my guess it that they are fresh and perfectly edible. They have a lovely little courtyard you can sit in and enjoy your late night treat. I enjoyed having the coconut water. They have refrigerated coconuts that they crack a hole in, stick in a straw and you drink. It is a really cheap version of Zico (bottled Coconut Water in the states)! Then when you are done they will scrap the coconut meat out for you to eat. I also enjoyed getting the aqua frescas para llvar and fortifying them with rum or vodka that had been purchased at Duty free. Better than any drink you are going to buy for sure! I think we went here four or five times. Can't wait to come back here and continue sampling that yummy treats!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place for your fruit fix in Tulum!”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We discovered this place walking by one night and continued to return for the days we were in Tulum. Their fresh juices are delicious! The owner was so friendly and told us all about the cafe and showed us all of the AMAZING Fruit popsicles... all using Fresh Fruit! We tried the Kiwi and Mango-Strawberry. The next day we went back for breakfast and had coffee, juice, ham and cheese omlette with toast for only $3 USD! Best of all, they have a beautiful garden in the back to enjoy your meal-- Definitely a place to go while in Tulum!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank villagepottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“terrible ice cream. but good juice.”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

terrible ice cream. but good juice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kolbyMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“best thing in downtown tulum”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

great capuccino, great coconuts (chilled), great fresh juices, great ice cream and popsicles, great garden in back, great staff!

Helpful?
Thank dphender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flor de Michoacan also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Flor de Michoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing