We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xibalba Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    LiveTulum(Tulum)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (74)
    Filter reviews
    74 results
    Traveler rating
    57
    11
    4
    2
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    57
    11
    4
    2
    0
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    30 - 35 of 74 reviews
    Reviewed February 11, 2011

    If you are a technical scuba diver, Cave diver or like to single tank a Cenote, Xibalba can take care of your needs plus provide very good accommodations with the dive center and fill station right in the hotel.

    Owner and operated my Robbie and Aneke Schmittner, you will not find a more capable and friendly environment for divers.

    Robbie is a renowned exploring cave diver and Cave instructor. He has recently discovered the connection of two large cave system, Actun Hu and Sac Actun to form the largest under water cave system in the world.

    Have fun you are in good company.

    • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank spin1234
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 8, 2011

    This hotel is very clean, new, well-run, close enough to downtown restaurants that cater to tourists that it is a nice walk. The drawback is that downtown is 4km from the beach and it really isn't walkable from downtown (or this hotel) so you need to take a cab (which are plentiful and cheap - $50 pesos.) The staff is friendly and helpful. We didn't go scuba diving through the dive center but several other guests at the hotel spoke highly of it. Hiro (not sure on his spelling) who runs the dive center set up some excellent day trips for us 9that weren't scuba diving). One to the nature reserve (a must if you're here to see rare bird species) and a trip to Coba ruins (largest Mayan pyramid). Hiro suggested a taxi for the day ($1200 pesos for the day for 5 people) which gave us a lot of flexibility on coming/going, side trips to cenotes (cave dives) and buying some local art. Tip - go to the ruins early enough to avoid the buses of tourists.
    The town itself is definately 3rd world. But the places we encountered are trying very hard to appeal to tourists and we were impressed. Some friends stayed at cabanas on the beach (sand floors, shared bathrooms) and we were SO MUCH happier at this excellent hotel--they came to downtown to eat dinner with us almost every night because of the better choice in restaurants vs. what is at the beach. In this town, a good hotel with AC is a must. Also, one night we decided to dine in so we walked to the grocery store (3-4 blocks away) and came back to Xibalba Hotel and used their kitchen to cook dinner. A nice change from downtown restaurants. Xibalba offers about the same food for breakfast every day but it was good. The hotel is one block off the main street so there is minimal street noise. There was a lot of security on the main street, keeping things safe for tourists. Our group felt like we've done most of the local ruins, dived in caves, spent time at the beach, rented bikes for a day and saw the ecological reserve (only 72 people per day are allowed so make a reservation 2 days in advance to guarantee your spot). For cold Americans from Minnesota, this was a great place (the town, and the hotel in particular) to defrost for 5 days. Aneke also arranged a shuttle for us to/from Cancun airport.

    • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank ErikR_0321
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 9, 2011

    Xibalba was the first dive shop we checked out and decided to sign up right away due to the incredibly resourceful and friendly staff. The facilities were spotless and modern. My husband dove the caverns for 4 days and is completely hooked on the idea of returning to do his cave diving certification. I'm 5 months pregnant so couldn't dive but was welcomed amongst the diving community. The hotel was impeccable - super modern and comfortable with extra large rooms. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. Definitely one of the highlights of our 3 week tour around the Yucatan Peninsula - highly recommend!

    • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank iloveeagles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 30, 2010

    We were very comfortable in the nice room - we had great breakfasts with Tomas, and Richie our dive master was incredible with his safety and tours of 3 mind blowing cenote dives!!!

    • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Palapas_Ventana
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 5, 2010

    Xibalba Hotel and Dive Center in Tulum is the perfect spot for a fantastic holiday, whether you want to relax at the beach, explore the many sights of Mexico or go diving.
    I absolutely love this small, cozy hotel. Staff is helpful and smiling, rooms are big and confortable and the atmosphere is relaxed.
    I went there with friends and we had an unforgetable holiday. Will recommend this hotel to everyone!

    • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank DMJensen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews