We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elemental Fusion was sooooo good”
Review of Element Fusion Restaurant - CLOSED

Element Fusion Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Kula, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Elemental Fusion was sooooo good”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We enjoyed Elemental so much we had dinner twice in our 3 nights in Tulum.
The sign reading Vegetarian Fusion caught our eye, and thinking this would lead to menu choices that were both fresh and healthy got us to give them a try.
The very capable and friendly couple of young Italians, Max and Vero.... who just took the place over less than 4 months ago, set a very relaxed atmosphere. Fun, slightly upbeat music is played, but not overly loud like in some of the restaurants in Tulum. This place shares street side seating with 2 other cafes, and a shady back courtyard as well. The bathrooms were very nice, and that's a big plus when traveling.
With our smoothies and fresh juices as our introduction to their fare, we were hooked. The food all tastes very fresh, the place is very cool, the choices are plentiful, and the hosts were kind with their time. Visiting in June, which is slow season, was a plus for us as we were able to really talk with the locals and ex pats who make Tulum their home. And to see the enthusiasm that these two have for their new experience of owning and running a cafe, was uplifting.
The decor of this place caught my eye after sitting there a while.....almost everything is built out of repurposed wood pallets. Tables, chairs, cabinets, planter boxes, everything....Max said there is a local company who produce whatever you want, ingenious!
The salads were fantastic, fresh and flavorful. The fish was done just right, the pasta bowl was plentiful, the panini's very tasty, and the eggplant capponata divine. Nutella crepes as dessert with our espresso was the perfect finishing touch, and we left both nights feeling satisfied, but not stuffed like when you eat all fried foods.
There are a lot of choices when you walk up and down Tulum Av, and this is situated just down a side street...Centauro Sur (the side streets are all names of celestial origin, both Norte and Sur to the sides of the main avenue)....and there are probably less expensive options, but in this instance the little bit more in expense is more than made up for in taste and freshness.
Absolutely, I would eat here again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KulaGrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Element Fusion Restaurant, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
thank you so much, I expect soon!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    16
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elemental is open”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I visited this restaurant in Tulum in March and April 2012. I think the word vegetarian is exaggerating, because there was not much more vegetarian options in the menu than in other restaurants. I think the restaurant was a bit expensive, at least my vegetarian plate. The smoothies were good though and as a vegan I got nice foods to eat. And it was clean and nice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JepulisHKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The firts time at the Elemental Antigua Cocina Mexina, and for sure we'll be back soon!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We eat for the first time at tine really nice place and we felt in love with...we found a lot of veggi opstion and a lot of old style mexican style, dishes that remeber the family cooking style, and for sure the flavour of a real mexican cusine. the service was really friendly and the price was good for the quality of the experience. for sure we will be back as soon as possible!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We went to this restaurant after reading reviews that it was good and vegetarian. The service was so rude, we didn't stay to try the food. After ordering a vegetarian sandwich, our server brought us a ham sandwich and rudely insisted that it was what we ordered (it's name sounded nothing like the name of our sandwich).
I told her to just bring the bill, not only were we charged for the uneaten, mistake of a sandwich...we were double charged!!
Not a good example of the kind, gentle people that we met throughout the rest of our stay in Tulum.
would not recommend this place to anyone, especially if you are looking for vegetarian food.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60893Jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our second visit only reminded us how much we loved our first!”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This year's visit to Elemental brought only one disappointment: we learned that Diego and his family had recently moved to Brazil. We were definitely NOT disappointed in our lunch, however. The new owners have carried on with the fresh, veggie, unique recipes on which Diego founded this wonderful restaurant. We enjoyed fresh smoothies, great salads, and delicious sandwiches on fresh-baked bread and pita. Our waiter, Antonio, was cheerful and kind. We are planning to return to Tulum before our vacation is over, and a trip to Elemental is a must for us!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank travelBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Element Fusion Restaurant also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing