We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful and intriguing”

Ruinas Mayas de Tulum
Book In Advance
More Info
$218.99*
and up
Private Tour: Early Access to Tulum with an Archaeologist and Xel-Há or Xcaret...
More Info
$26.99*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Tulum Ruins with an Archeologist
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Tulum Ruins, ATV Extreme and Cenotes Tour from Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 87 things to do in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tulum (Spanish pronunciation: [tu'lum], Yucatec: Tulu'um) is the site of a Pre-Columbian Maya walled city serving as a major port for Coba.[1] The ruins are situated on 12-meter (39 ft) tall cliffs, along the east coast of the Yucatan Peninsula on the Caribbean Sea in the state of Quintana Roo, Mexico.[1] Tulum was one of the last cities built and inhabited by the Maya; it was at its height between the 13th and 15th centuries and managed to survive about 70 years after the Spanish began occupying Mexico. Old World diseases brought by the Spanish settlers appear to have resulted in very high fatalities, disrupting the society and eventually causing the city to be abandoned.[citation needed] One of the best-preserved coastal Maya sites, Tulum is today a popular site for tourists.[1]
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful and intriguing”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just an amazing place, with some really amazing vistas. The temple and the other buildings are really beautiful. Watch out for mosquitos - take insect repellent. The Mexican tourists who went to the beach at the same time were a highlight for us - they ran into the sea fully clothed and had a great time hooting and holloring. A must visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,715
    6,583
    1,791
    265
    99
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spring Equinox”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was a wonderful visit, but it was attended by so many people this special day I felt as if i was back at woodstock

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very neat... but very crowded”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very pretty location with lots of great history. Downside was that it was totally packed. Shoulder to shoulder in some places. Highly recommend going about an hour earlier to get there before the cruise ships open their doors. We arrived around 10am. We came from our hotel, which was 45 minutes away. I wish we had skipped breakfast and gotten there at 8am to beat the crowds. One of the guys in our group had been there before, and said that it was not this crowded when he went the last time, but that it was VERY hot when he went before, with very little shade, which makes going early even more critical. Our guide was very helpful (without the guide, you probably wouldn't know what you were looking at). But, the crowds were overwhelming. We couldn't even walk down to the water because the steps were packed. We had to wait in line just to get out of the ruins through the one small entry way. I am barely giving this a four. I KNOW I would have given it a five if it hadn't been so crazy crowded that day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very disapointing”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were very excited to see Tulum ruins after seeing Chichen Itza in December.
It ended up being a big disapointment as the ruins have seen better days. A fellow travelor described Tulum Ruins as "just another pile if rocks" .
Now the view of the Carribean was the highlight of the whole trip, absolutely breathtaking!
Save your money and see Chichen Itza.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank takeme2coz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great views and Mayan history”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited Tulum using the Collectivo (Public Transit Van) from our Resort and did a self-guided tour of the ruins. Total cost was under $25 US and everything was very safe. The ruins are great though you can see everything in under an hour. There is a beach that is open to swimming for anyone who paid to enter the ruins. We paid with pesos to enter the ruins which may be required. If you are interested in self-guided or guided tours, bypass all the people who try to talk to you until you get to the main entrance to the ruins. They may seem like the are officially associated with the ruins, but they are not. It's about a 10 minute walk from the Collective stop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ATL-travel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruinas Mayas de Tulum also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Ruinas Mayas de Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing