We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel
Ranked #71 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just got back to New York after 5 extraordinary days at Las Ranitas. I had to be dragged out of there. It's just the most lovely place. Beautiful clean and wonderfully decorated rooms. Superb service with kind and wonderful employees at every level. It's hard to find anything about it that was not ideal. (well maybe the water pressure in the show could have been better?) Of course the beach is absolutely breathtaking. White sand, jade and turquoise water..... I'm still trying to figure out why I left.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The-Decider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasRanitas, Community manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi Decider:

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write to us. It's great to know you enjoyed your time here.

Hope to see you again soon in las Ranitas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 292 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I, along with our adult daughter, spent a week at this lovely hotel in November 2012. As other reviewers have mentioned, the setting is without equal. Compared to many hotels in Tulum, Las Ranitas occupies a huge stretch of beach, and the beach is exquisite as well as mostly empty. Our room, Coqui 2, was beautiful, with a large sitting area, a huge comfortable bed, and a terrific view. The lobby/restaurant is multi-leveled and stunning. Without exception, everyone who works there was efficient, friendly and charming.

Tulum is a place to go to relax, and that is what we did. The chairs/beds on the beach were so comfortable, and the sea so beautiful that we really didn't leave the hotel often, except to wander up and down the beach and try a few other restaurants. I would agree with another reviewer who said the food was a bit over-priced, but you can also avail yourself to nearby restaurants. The pricing did not detract from our overall experience, which was beauty, tranquility, stunning setting, and lovely people. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NWK38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with 40 of our family and friends. The rooms were fine, the view awesome, the food and service - outstanding. All of our guests were very satisfied! Angelina Cardenas helped to coordinate a wonderful Mayan ceremony on the beach as well as a terrific dinner and party for all of us. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After getting married at Las Ranitas in May, we knew we would be back again, and again. We got to spent nine days at the beautiful Las Ranitas, and it was perfect. The setting is incredibly beautiful, the rooms are charming , and the food and drinks are delicious. We loved that we could sleep with the noise of the oean and fresh breeze...ahhhh such a treat. The new rooms are amazing, and everything at this hotel is very spaced out, so we were never around more then 6 people at a time on the beach. It was wild that we were at such a beautiful strech of beach, and yet it was never busy or crowded. Do keep in mind that things are more expensive then in other areas of Mexico, yet the exclusive feel and privacy makes it worth it to us. We can honestly say we loved every minute there and cant wait to go back. We love to travel and usually do not repeat places, yet Las Ranitas we plan to visit once a year!!

Room Tip: I would suggest an upper level floor, or one of the new suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PamelaVanderHeagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Las Ranitas is located on the best spot of the best beach in the world. Hands-down. You won't find a prettier, cleaner, more virginal stretch of beach than at Las Ranitas.

The lobby/restaurant is the most breathtaking indoor-outdoor building I've ever been in, and really respects the natural beauty of the ocean while incorporating the old-world feeling of a thatch roof.

The rooms are beautifully appointed with lovely Mayan tiles in the bathroom. We never missed the AC because the night breeze was cool enough to keep us from getting too hot.

We loved this place and really felt we could relax. This place is for people who want to kick back and enjoy the peaceful solitude of the Mayan Rivera. Will be back for sure!

Our only complaint...
The food was delicious, but we felt it was overpriced. We were spending around $30-$40 USD each morning for breakfast for 2 ppl (consisting of: 2 waters, 2 coffees, 1 omelette, 1 granola/fruit plate), and well over $100USD per lunch and dinner. It was just too much for us to keep paying, so we started eating only one meal per day at the hotel and for the others we would walk down the beach to the other hotels and have our lunch or dinner there. (On that subject, I highly recommend Luv Tulum's quaint little family-owned restaurant just 5 minutes down the beach)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Tulum is at the lower end of the Riveria Maya and the changes I've seen in ten years have been startling. Once an elegant word-of-mouth destination at the end of a rutted dirt road, Las Ranitas has gone upscale. New owners have added amenities but the feeling of the hotel remains warm and special. Where good food was once very difficult to find, the area abounds in excellent restaurants and cafe's. And the beach remains one of the most beautiful and accessible I can imagine. On long winter nights I dream of the sounds of palms and the gentle lapping of waves in the crystal clear water.

The price has gone up considerably, too, in ten years. Where once a stay at the hotel seemed to be a stay at a very special house party -- with low prices and personal attention -- now the hotel has a more commercial vibe. Is the new Las Ranitas worth the price?

It's a luxury that I somewhat reluctantly pay for. I miss the elegant and creative former owners -- Layla and Yannick -- and the less-formal atmosphere. But the beach itself is something that has to be experienced to be believed. So if price isn't too much of an issue, check it out. And imagine this paradise when hippies hitched the rutted roads and one could bonefish on the beach without seeing more than a dozen tourists per morning. All things change, some for better, some not. Las Ranitas remains very special, but it's an expensive indulgence.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jc6031212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasRanitas, Mariana B, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We have made some changes to make sure our guests receive the service they deserve. We hope you enjoyed your stay and will be available to serve you each time you come back to Las Ranitas. Best regards and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Tulum is the place you go when you want to forget about the world for a while, and Las Ranitas is the place you stay when you do.
Upscale but not pretentious, this beachfront hotel has everything you need to unwind: white sand beach, lounge chairs with umbrellas, giant "beach beds" a stone's throw from the water and an incredibly-attentive staff that will know your name (and remember it!) from Day 1.
It's hard to describe the people in this place - bohemian, yet progressive is the best thing we could come up with. You have to experience it for yourself!
We enjoyed everything from the hotel's beachfront restaurant (think Corona's and fresh guacamole prepared tableside!), the free wifi for checking in back home and long walks on the beach under the sun and the moon.
You've got several room options, many of which are literally on the beach. Rooms are spare but the beds are super-comfortable. Many other hotels here have mosquito netting on the bed (you're on the edge of the jungle, you know) but no need for that here with great screened windows and well-sealed doors.
Keep in mind the hotels along this strip of beach are "off the grid" - A.K.A. their power is generated from wind, solar or generators. You won't find any name-brand or chain hotels here, and all hotels are at most 2 stories tall to preserve the natural feel of the place.
A rental car is handy if you want to see the area's natural attractions - ruins at Tulum, Coba or Chitzen Itza, freshwater pools (cenotes) for swimming, snorkeling or diving and the Sian-Ka'an biosphere. It's not necessary though as you can arrange excursions to take you off property. There are also bikes to rent to cruise the strip or ride into town, and taxis are plentiful and frequent.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, get a room on the beach. It's worth that little bit extra. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arely D, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Our greatest joy is that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Tulum is fantastic and provides a perfect place to reconnect with nature, is an exclusive and organic space where you can get a break from the city. Remember that you are always welcome to come back.
Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Suenos Tulum
Suenos Tulum
#27 of 101 in Tulum
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#50 of 101 in Tulum
286 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#25 of 101 in Tulum
917 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 101 in Tulum
655 reviews
3.1 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: $420 - $1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small eco-friendly hotel freshly renovated on the wonderful beach of Tulum, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing