We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undiscovered Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel
Ranked #60 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Tulum is the place you go when you want to forget about the world for a while, and Las Ranitas is the place you stay when you do.
Upscale but not pretentious, this beachfront hotel has everything you need to unwind: white sand beach, lounge chairs with umbrellas, giant "beach beds" a stone's throw from the water and an incredibly-attentive staff that will know your name (and remember it!) from Day 1.
It's hard to describe the people in this place - bohemian, yet progressive is the best thing we could come up with. You have to experience it for yourself!
We enjoyed everything from the hotel's beachfront restaurant (think Corona's and fresh guacamole prepared tableside!), the free wifi for checking in back home and long walks on the beach under the sun and the moon.
You've got several room options, many of which are literally on the beach. Rooms are spare but the beds are super-comfortable. Many other hotels here have mosquito netting on the bed (you're on the edge of the jungle, you know) but no need for that here with great screened windows and well-sealed doors.
Keep in mind the hotels along this strip of beach are "off the grid" - A.K.A. their power is generated from wind, solar or generators. You won't find any name-brand or chain hotels here, and all hotels are at most 2 stories tall to preserve the natural feel of the place.
A rental car is handy if you want to see the area's natural attractions - ruins at Tulum, Coba or Chitzen Itza, freshwater pools (cenotes) for swimming, snorkeling or diving and the Sian-Ka'an biosphere. It's not necessary though as you can arrange excursions to take you off property. There are also bikes to rent to cruise the strip or ride into town, and taxis are plentiful and frequent.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here, get a room on the beach. It's worth that little bit extra. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arely D, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Our greatest joy is that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Tulum is fantastic and provides a perfect place to reconnect with nature, is an exclusive and organic space where you can get a break from the city. Remember that you are always welcome to come back.
Kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    60
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
70
133
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I planned my wedding in Mexico from the other side of the Caribbean, Antigua and Barbuda. Through my business as a wedding photographer in Antigua I made contact with my favourite photographers in Mexico, Del Sol Photography. Angie came highly recommended as a planner from Matt + Sol and at the same time Angie started working with Las Ranitas. We did our homework and researched all the hotels in Tulum through Trip Advisor, Google Maps and local knowledge. Las Ranitas was the perfect fit.

Angie guided us through the entire process and made sure our 55 guests were happy from arrival to departure and that the wedding day was seemless. This girl doesn't get enough credit.
Communication prior to the wedding was timely and responsive to our questions and concerns.
Which was one of the reasons I booked Angie. Other hotels didn't communicate well.

The beach - Las Ranitas has the best part of the Tulum stretch. We thoroughly enjoyed sunrise runs, beach cricket and the boys could launch their kites to kite surf. I come from an island that claims to have 365 beaches so for me to rave about the beach, it has to be GOOD! :)

Rooms - Some of the newer rooms offer A/C but in November you don't need it. In the summer you would. I liked that all the rooms had close access to the beach. Comfy rooms and spacious. We had majority of the hotel booked, it was lovely knowing your neighbour.

Food and Service - Mango Margarita was my favourite cocktail. A chilled, fresh, coconut cured the hangovers and the breakfast smoothies were yummy. Great food selection, fresh fish from the local fisherman that delivers on the beach from his boat. Often the restaurant service was slow and struggled with breakfast as many of us showed up at the same time. That's my only bit of criticism. The menu was a guide and if there's something else you preferred the chef was happy to accommodate.
Our wedding dinner service was tip top! We decided on a family style service of food that way everyone ate at the same time. It was the best decision we made. Plates of pork, chicken, fish, shellfish, beef etc. This was also the easiest way to deal with guests who had allergies.

Everyone at Las Ranitas made our trip one never to forget.Thanks!!!
Married Nov 2nd 2012

Room Tip: If you travel in summer i suggest selecting a room with A/C. Nov was the perfect time of year for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessaehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arely D, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are so glad that your wedding was full of magic and met your expectations, Vanessa. Your words have left a big smile on our faces. Remember that you are always welcome to come back.
Kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Besides being in the Maya Riviera which is one of the most beautiful and special places in the world....this hotel has everything you would want for full comforts of home (except tv which is amazing) The restaurant is open the whole day, full drinks anything you want. Beautiful rooms with an actual mexican feeling to the whole place. Walkways through bungalows to beach are beautiful and each bungalow has a hammock and outside hanging out place. The beach has comfy couches and chairs, there is a pool but the cleansing and detoxification of ocean and breeze and sun that this place has to offer is beyond what I can write. Kiteboarding right off of beach also. The staff was amazing as well, so friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arely D, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for these lovely comments, KJocelyn. Indeed, we always strive to make sure Las Ranitas is the perfect place to reconnect with yourself and your environment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got married this month at Las Ranitas. Angie, Fernando and the crew were amazing, can't say enough good things about this place. The night of our reception was amazing topped off with hundreds of turtles hatching right in front of the hotel. November was and ideal time with warm water and cool nights, perfect for sleeping. 10/10!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mous_on_the_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arely D, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are so glad that your wedding was full of magic and met your expectations. Remember that we will always greet you with a smile every time you decide to come back.
Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Las Ranitas is a hotel in the south of Tulum at a very seclusive and nice part of Tulum beach. The setting is picturesque, the beach and water just perfect... There are different types of rooms available, very modern and rather basic ones. We unfortunately stayed in a very basic room which really was nothing special for the rather high price. (no AC, no TV, very little furniture etc.) Also the terrace which was in front of our room was not comfy at all and could not really be used for anything...
Breakfast is not included in the room rate but is available at the restaurant. The food overall is decent. The restaurant/bar staff is very polite, the front desk manager on the other side is not so much guest oriented. (i.e. we tried to contact them per email several times before the arrival but were completely ignored...) Parking is available, I would definitely recommend to rent a car at Cancun airport as Las Ranitas is not within walking distance to most of the bars/ restaurants or Tulum town. Also the hotel airport pick up is by far more costly.
Overall I would say the setting is very beautiful and really relaxing, but the hotel itself is quite pricey ...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FQTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arely D, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Indeed, Tulum is fantastic and provides a perfect place to reconnect with nature, which is why we take advantage of the environment to provide an unmatched, exclusive and organic space where you can get a break from the city. You can rest assured that our staff will always work to make your stay incredibly relaxing. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Where do i start.... the staff, the location, the food, the service, the rooms, the beach.....ooo the tequila alll WOW.
persons in particular
Omar - GM
Angelina
Roxanna
Jerome
and the waiters are probably in the 17 years of travelling gonna be the most rememorable..
book this place and be in for a treat!!!!!!
thanks all at Las Ranitas.

Room Tip: the 2 occasions i stayed both rooms were located at different area's. One to the sea........out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arely D, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Many thanks Vinay. Your words have left a big smile on our faces. We were so happy to see that you enjoyed a memorable stay. Remember that you are always welcome to come back.
Kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The first thing to mention about Las Ranitas is the view. Sitting in the bar / restaurant you are literally just a couple of hundred metres from the the most beautiful blue sea. It's mesmerising.
The dining area is stunning with a thatched roof and palm trees all around, you do feel that much closer to nature. It is a private beach and so was never crowded and as a result felt like a much more intimate experience than the larger resorts I am used to.
The service was also exceptional, the management and staff really went out of their way to make it the best stay possible, changing things around last minute to accomodate us - truly hospitality with a personal touch. The food was also excellent and the rooms / beds very comfortable. The whole hotel / staff / location is absolutely charming.
Would be an ideal place for families, couples or even wedding parties. I will certainly be returning.
The view alone is worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arely D, Social Media Manager at Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, Tom. Our greatest joy is that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will always be available, waiting to see you with a great big smile on our faces with the beautiful sea of Tulum as the backdrop. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#39 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suenos Tulum
Suenos Tulum
#22 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#23 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Las Estrellas
Villa Las Estrellas
#52 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#61 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel

Property: Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small eco-friendly hotel freshly renovated on the wonderful beach of Tulum, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Las Ranitas Eco-boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing