We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and very friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 89 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Secret Garden is tucked away a few blocks behind the main road. It has a very chilled look, with cool seating, buddha statues and candles lit at night. It has a jungly feel to it, which on the negative side makes it all a bit dark and airless. Luckily it wasn't hot when we were there 2 weeks ago otherwise it might have felt a bit claustrophobic. The manager and owner were both very friendly. The free teas, coffees and bran buns went down well for breakfast. The birdsong is prolific in the morning!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpackergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Secret Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 679 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

I got an extremely warm welcome here: the staff are great. But the room I stayed in (with a thatch roof) smelled strongly of damp and drains. It was full of mosquitos and there were cockroaches (picture attached). I had to light incense for the smell. There's plenty of hot water in the shower, but the tap in the bathroom hardly functions (I got only a dribble). The safe does not close, many of the window locks are broken and the door is difficult to lock. I didn't feel I could leave my valuables in the room, although the staff were very helpful in leaving them at the front desk. I would given the room a 'terrible' review, but since the staff were so great, it gets only 'poor'. Expensive too for a nasty room, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Secret Garden in Tulum.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - on the first day Manuela (I think that's her name) sat down with us and a map and went through all the options we had to explore the area. She was happy to answer all of our questions even though I'm sure some of them were silly and repetitive.
Joshua and his staff present as people that are really happy to be there and really happy to share their love of Tulum with all of their guests.
Our room was beautiful, clean and private. The garden in the middle of the rooms is a great place to relax with a book when it's too hot or too rainy for the beach.
The hotel is also very convenient, less than a five minute walk from the bus station and an easy 20-30 minute bike ride to the beach along a bike track for most of the way. (Note of caution - we didn't know where we were going when we arrived late at night so we took a cab all of two blocks to the hotel for 30 pesos!)
The Secret Garden is a beautiful laid back hotel that offers a more economical option to the bigger brasher resorts on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrystallaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Staff are all very friendly and helpful...doing a heartful job. Garden is cool and shade. Very good location. Rooms are a bit humid. It will be good if all windows and doors are kept open before guests arrive...this will allow ventilation.
They gave us very good recommendations on food, beach clubs etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Planned to stay for 3 nights, ended up staying 5!

We had to switch rooms twice, but the staff did the moving for us and it really wasn't a big deal. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. Joshua helped us decide how we would spend our time in Tulum with great advice on Tulum and its' surrounds.

The hotel itself is lovely - gorgeous garden with lots of palms, fern and hanging vines. Lots of space to lounge about in a hammock or day bed. We preferred the rooms over the bungalows. The rooms have aircon (good for reducing the amount of mozzies in the room) and a separate day bed for reading and relaxing. The bungalows would be better for families - they have basic cooking facilities and a loft bed.

The staff go to a lot of effort to make the most of their facilities. While the finishings aren't 5 star, which you wouldn't except for the price, there are loads of towels provided, candles, incense, bottled water, toiletries, cute stone floored shower (even if the water pressure is lacking), cushions and freshly painted rooms.

Good location if you're interested in eating cheap, local food. We hired bikes (100 each/ 24 hours) for the days we planned to do a few things - the ruins, cenote etc. And took a taxi (140 pesos return) on the days we planned to spend all day by the beach.

The 'tacos el pastor' on the main strip around the corner are incredible! ADO bus station 5 mins walk. And the vegetarian restaurant on the main strip near the lights on the left when heading out of town towards the ruins is amazing! 25 pesos fresh juices! I think it's called 'a la vegetariana'.

All in all Secret Garden was a great option! If spending 5 nights in Tulum, I would spend the first few at Secret Garden and then the remainder at a spot on the beach for a bit of a mix.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bek_chew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Secret garden was the first hotel on our trip through Central America.

The receptionists has been always friendly and enormously helpful with any questions we had ( and we had loads of questions )!

We booked a bungalow with bathroom, shower and toilet.
The room has been cleaned every day so it was always super tidy.
especially we were touched by the lovely bed decorations they made for us.

The garden is a wonderful cozy place to chill out and enjoying life.

The hotel itself is located at a place out of the tourism area but that doesn't matter at all just rent a bike and in 1/2 h you'll have a great time at the beautiful beach of tulum.

So enjoy your stay at secret garden you definitely won't regret it

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bubuontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The common area was really nice and the room spacious and useful to have a kitchenette. Well located for the bus station in town and very friendly and helpful staff. Also useful to be able to rent bikes straight from the hostel.

The bed was not very comfortable and the water pressure was a bit rubbish but generally a really nice hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcresswell100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 98 in Tulum
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 98 in Tulum
548 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Address: Calle Sagitario Poniente # 54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $50 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing