We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A wonderful and beautiful place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful and beautiful place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Secret garden was the first hotel on our trip through Central America.

The receptionists has been always friendly and enormously helpful with any questions we had ( and we had loads of questions )!

We booked a bungalow with bathroom, shower and toilet.
The room has been cleaned every day so it was always super tidy.
especially we were touched by the lovely bed decorations they made for us.

The garden is a wonderful cozy place to chill out and enjoying life.

The hotel itself is located at a place out of the tourism area but that doesn't matter at all just rent a bike and in 1/2 h you'll have a great time at the beautiful beach of tulum.

So enjoy your stay at secret garden you definitely won't regret it

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bubuontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    164
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
43
389
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The common area was really nice and the room spacious and useful to have a kitchenette. Well located for the bus station in town and very friendly and helpful staff. Also useful to be able to rent bikes straight from the hostel.

The bed was not very comfortable and the water pressure was a bit rubbish but generally a really nice hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcresswell100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at The Secret Garden: from the initial clear and helpful communications to the moment we checked out, we felt welcomed and comfortable. The rooms are spacious; the garden is beautiful and little touches like tea, coffee and snacks being available are also really thoughtful and help make a great stay. Despite being only a couple of minutes walk from the main street, the hotel is still peaceful and a great place to relax. However, the best thing about our stay was the kindness of Joshua and his staff when my partner became very unwell- they really looked after us both and, despite a difficult couple of days of illness, we look back very fondly to our stay with them. Many thanks for everything!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for one night in October and found a wonderful little hideaway. Not on the busy street, and so beautiful with the garden courtyard. Our rooms were great. I slept in the loft and I worried I would be too hot but there was a fan and I slept like a baby. Would definitely recommend secret garden to my friends, only suggestion would be to google a map to bring with you - several of the locals we asked didn't know where it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The Secret Garden was recommended to us by friends, and we were not disappointed! It is a lovely place; green,peaceful, and with nice, clean rooms with ac & fan. There were a few downsides which keep me from giving it the maximum score; the bed are a little small (if you are almost 2 m tall like me), the shower head should really be replaced by one that doesn't try to blast the water through your skull, and when sitting in the (otherwise very quiet) garden, continually a high-pitched sound can be heard, probably from a water pump. But overall highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oratonastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had such a rough transfer into Mexico from Belize (bad luck) and all I really wanted was a simple, nice place to stay to enjoy Tulum. I searched TripAdvisor and found the Secret Garden. I left with a home I hope to visit again and again.

Maura and Joshua are the kindest people I have met in my many travels and I felt at home as soon as the gate opened. My room was adorable, and comfortable, and created with a traveler in mind. A traveler who fell in love and stayed an extra night ;)

I rented a bike they had on premise and enjoyed Tulum knowing I had a wonderful home base to come back to anytime. I read by bedside lamp before bed, I had the freedom to come and go as I pleased, other guests enjoyed napping and relaxing in the outdoor courtyard and it was always lovely to pass Joshua or Maura's smiling faces. I cannot recommend Secret Garden more!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. We were in one of the bungalows, it was quiet, homey, clean and comfortable. Our room did not have AC but this was not an issue as there were plenty of fans that made the room more than comfortable. The staff was friendly and very, very helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of many many great and affordable places to eat, shop and just walk. Its a short drive to the beach (we rented a car) and you can rent bikes for really cheap. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with AC if you are sensitive to humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macdizzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#15 of 87 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#14 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa
Papaya Playa
#38 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#3 of 74 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Property: Secret Garden Hotel
Address: Calle Sagitario Poniente # 54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing