We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great rooms incredible charm and owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 83 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location great rooms incredible charm and owner”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the secret garden hotel when in Mexico for some much needed RnR last year. The rooms were nicely furnished but basic (all you need) and very clean.

The cabana style rooms were all connected by a lovely central garden which had chairs sofas and hammocks and were a lovely way to relax after a hard day at the beach!

Josh the owner was incredibly helpful and knowledgable about everything I was looking to do with lots of off the beaten track tips. I can't recommend this hotel enough based on him!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    172
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
46
428
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olsztyn, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Little hotel with nice rooms and bungalows. The garden is beautiful, There are some nice couches in the garden where you can relax after all day on the beach. Tea, coffee, water, fruits and snacks are for free. Our bungalow had a fridge and kitchenette. It's close to the main street and motorbike rental. It was so nice in here we didn't want to leave. And Cory..thank You for the great trip to Coba :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolinaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Perfect little hotel set back from the main st (one block) made up of 8 bungalow rooms in a little garden oasis. Room was perfectly clean, little kitchenette was useful for keeping drinks cold and heating food. Tea coffee and drinking water are provided free of charge as well as snacks. Staff were excellent, helpful and friendly and the wifi connection (free) was the fastest and most constant we found in a month in Mexico. Hot water was constant and the bathroom spotless with the nice addition of mini toiletries which is a nice touch. If you like small, friendly, personal hotels without compromising on cleanliness, convenience and value for money this is the one for you! Thanks secret garden, delighted we found you :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuevosDivorciados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Secret garden was just a wonderful hotel. Colorful clean rooms, beautiful garden and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. It was such a pleasure to spend the morning in the garden, listening to the birds with morning coffee. A real gem. Can"t wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tttmartin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment and I know that you had a nice stay with us. We hope you to see very soon.
Best regards.
Joshua & Secret Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Secret Garden is just one of the best places to stay in Tulum! The staff are super-cool and helpful. The room is so cozy and cute. I was so surprised that they provided us with nice shampoos and soaps (it’s like spa!)! The location is good, which is a little off the main street. The setting is so beautiful and peaceful. You would like to stay in the courtyard all night if there were no mosquitos! ;)

Early February 2013, we tried to make a reservation in last minute, and we didn’t know that this place is so popular. They have a room available only for one night during our stay in Tulum.

The staff, especially Maura, were just super-cool! Maura helped us with our reservation so quickly and smoothly. I was so impressed and can’t be more thankful to her. She gave us information around the area and suggestions where to visit. Everybody working there has such a positive energy and is so hospitable.

The room we stayed has a fridge and a small stove. We did not cook there, but we were glad that we could enjoy cold beers straight out from the fridge. The room itself is just gorgeous as well as charming! I liked the spacious bungalow with a loft.

They also have bananas, tea, and coffee.

One thing, though, which bothered us was the music from some bar. We stayed there on Thursday night. It is very common that they have loud music all over the town almost every night. However, it was a little too loud for us and it lasted pretty long.
Except that music, our stay was just perfect.

It’s too bad that we were able to stay there only one night. Secret Garden is no doubt one of the best reasonable and coolest places in Tulum!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_G_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello, I am pleased to know that your unique night with us has been pleasant, and for taking the time to write and share the experience. We hope to see you soon again and to be your hosts for more days. thank you for your beautiful words. :)
Best regards

Joshua & Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I've now stayed at the Secret Garden Hotel in Tulum twice -- once in 2010, and the other time in 2012 -- and it's been great both times. Joshua and his staff are friendly and accommodating, and they offered my husband and me lots of helpful recommendations about where to eat and the best beaches to visit. The rooms, both times, were spotless -- much nicer than the typical no-frills hotels you see in Mexico at a similar price point. The hot water worked fine, and so did the air conditioning. Another reviewer mentioned the reading lamps, which I also thought was a nice touch. We chose the room with the kitchenette, so we were able to make a simple breakfast and dinner a few nights, which I also really enjoyed. And we loved sitting in the courtyard in the early morning or at dusk (as long as I was slathered in bug spray -- the mosquitoes love me in Tulum). The only downside to our recent stay was *extremely* loud early-morning construction next door. I knew Joshua couldn't do much about it, as this is Mexico and folks tend to do whatever they want. But it wasn't exactly a peaceful way to walk up those few mornings. Overall, I'd stay here a third time in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I'm happy to know that bouth of your experiences with us have been pleasant. At the same time thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on tripadvisor. To book your next visit contact us to our direct number 521-9841578001, we would like to see you again.
Best regards.
Joshua and Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A great place to stay, close to all the things to see and explore from sea to ruins to biosphere( a must to see).
All the services are within walking distance, We rented bicycles, took the bus, and a tour. And it all was at an affordable cost.
Bugs were no problem at this time of year, but that also meant there were few flowers to enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your coment on tripadvisor. We hope to see you again any time soon.
Best regards.
Joshua and Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 96 in Tulum
921 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#20 of 96 in Tulum
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#40 of 96 in Tulum
311 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Property: Secret Garden Hotel
Address: Calle Sagitario Poniente # 54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing