We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 104 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We left Tulum today after two nights in the Secret Garden. The staff there provided an excellent personalised service (Mary was consistently lovely and helpful, and we had a great chat with Joshua). The town location is perfect- short walk to the main avenue, including the bus station. Room was great, garden itself a pleasure to relax in. Definitely choose here if you're staying in town!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck0york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a beautiful comment. We hope to see you soon again. Saludos fromTulum.

Best Regards.
Joshua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 697 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Joshua and Staff made our one week stay a pleasure! While not luxurious, Secret Garden was clean, comfortable bed, and a lovely garden to relax with comfy sofas, tables and chairs, and hammocks. Near lots of restaurants and shops, yet quiet in the evenings and mornings. They provided us with a guest pass to a private beach club which was fantastic and not crowded! Purified water was provided, and we even received beach towels for our visits to the beach. Go!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bergenplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for the nice comment and take your time to write it. It fills me with joy that your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Joshua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were directed to the best places to eat and visit in Tulum. The room was clean and spacious and the garden was beautiful and tranquil. I thoroughly recommend buying a couple of beers and making use of the hammocks in the evening (although look out for the mosquitos). We would definitley come back here if visiting Tulum again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snakeyb4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

I am delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable. I want to thank you for taking the time and write your comment. Let us know when you want to return, we would love to see you again.
Best regards.
Joshua and Secret Garden Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at this place for a couple of nights since we couldn't find accommodations in Tulum Beach for all of our days, and what a treat it was. Our cabana was cosy, clean and very spacious, the garden is serene, perfect spot to lay in a hammock and take a siesta. The staff is super friendly and accommodating.
We will recommend it to friends going to Tulum!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebsFickling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you, for writing and telling us that you enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time and we are honored that we were able to help make your trip a memorable one.
We hope to see you again.
Joshua and Secret Garden Tulum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location was very convenient for us coming by bus, at walking distance but far from the main road traffic.
Our room (number five, the cheapest) was decent, large enough to hold a double bed (good sheets), small tables, rack and shelves, sofa, table and chair, speakers, wifi, vent and silent ac, wash basin with mirror and toiletries; shower and wc in a separate cubicle (wrong door opening, though). Cleaning is made every day.Complimentary crockeries and hot drinks are found in the garden. Ah, the garden!, a slice of gentle jungle between the main block and the cabanas, with ample seating, tables, hammocks, and lots of singing birds as soundtrack.
The beach is far from here, as Miami Beach from Miami, or zona hotelera from Cancun: you have to get a taxi (MP100 each way), but the playa is first class. Ask the helpful staff also for visits, cenotes, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The secret garden hotel is set in a lovely garden filled with the call of birds. As well as the funky and peaceful outdoor areas the rooms have everything you need to relax in Tulum.

We loved our cabana - lovely modern set up, spotlessly clean and they really have thought of all the great little details like speakers for your iPod, offers for beach towels when visiting the beach and tea, coffee, water and fruit available day and night.

We were thrilled also that our cabana had a small, well equipped kitchen that meant we could whip up breakfast in our own time.

The wifi here is strong and reliable and the staff are so caring and helpful when it comes to making sure you have what you need and helping you plan your days.

We have stayed in some lovely places but Secret Garden Hotel is one of the best! They have everything you need to feel at home straight away - we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kungfukitty_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

I want to thank you for your beautiful words and taking the time to write your comment in Tripadvisor, fills me with joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoy the beach. Thank you for calling us A very Special Place. It make us have a special smile in our face.
We hope you can come to visit us again some time soon.
Best Regards
Joshua and Secret Garden Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Secret Garden is a gem. Joshua and his staff go above and beyond to ensure that you have a wonderful experience in Tulum. When staying at the Secret Garden you get the best of both worlds...enjoying the town and a beautiful bike ride to the beach. My wife and I are already planning another trip back to Tulum and the Secret Garden. All the other travelers we met were equally as happy and surprised to find such a nice place and people. ENJOY

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miked22065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hello,
I want to thank you for your nice comment you wrote on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that your experience with us was enjoyable, and more because you are considering coming back with us. We look forward to be one more time your hosts for your next vacation.
Best Regards;

Joshua and the Secret Garden Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#24 of 100 in Tulum
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 100 in Tulum
945 reviews
2.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
3.6 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 104 in Tulum
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howlita Hotel Tulum
Howlita Hotel Tulum
#5 of 104 in Tulum
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Address: Calle Sagitario Poniente # 54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing