We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've been in Secret Garden at the beginning of our trip in Mexico and Guatemala in july 2012 and we came back at the end since we really felt at home! The place is amazing, very very clean and the atmosphere is simply perfect! Joshua, Maura and Antonio are wonderful hosts and their attitude to the guests is really special. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VincenzoeValeri... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Propietario at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hola guys,
thanks for spending a little of your time writing a review about us.
We really love welcome our guest and see them relaxed and happy.
You will be always very welcome here,

Joshua, Maura & Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    168
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
43
408
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed 5 beautiful days in Secret Garden, and it was the nicest stay of our trip!
Warm welcome, nice advices to travel out of touristic area (and nice advice for restaurants!).
It is very closed to the center of tulum but in a quiet street.

The room was perfect.

Again, thank you very much to the team, specially to Joshua!

We warmely advice this hotel !
Have a nice trip,
Catherine&Seb

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Propietario at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi Catherine&Seb!
We are so happy to hear from you.
We always try to suggest the best option to see and place to eat, so everyone could appreciate even more this little corner of paradise.
we will be pleased to welcome you again one day!
Best wishes,
Joshua & the Secret Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I really enjoyed my (too short) stay at Secret Garden! The staff is helpfull and friendly. I had 2 different rooms and both where great! this place is near everything you need in town but on a quiet street. It is very clean and it feel safe. I will go back for sure! Thank you Secret Garden Team!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rox G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Gerente at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hola Roxane G!
Thanks a lot for your kind words.
We are happy to hear from you that you feel safe. That's exactly one of the most important goals of the hotel: feel the same safety like home far away from home!
Thank you again, and see you soon!
SECRET GARDEN TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Secret Garden during a week. The cabin and the garden was very cosy. The straff was very nice and helpful. They gave us alot of good tips of restaurangs and places to see. They helped us book a car etc.
It's close on the main street where all the shops and restaurants are. It's cheap to take a taxi down to the beaches.
We would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fridalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Propietario at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Frida,
Thank you for your time and your nice words. We love when our new friends leave the hotel with a big smile, like you did. We hope to see you again soon.
Kindly regards,
Joshua Arpaiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hi there,

My trip to Tulum, staying in the Secret Garden in the Pueblo was awesome.

Tulum is such a wonderful place and its a shame I only had two nights.

The secret garden was a great place to stay - really wonderful, friendly bi-lingual staff who seemed genuinely interested in making sure your trip was great.

A great balance between price and quality - the room itself exceeded my expectations and was great value - would be a good spot for couples. Nice decor and grounds.

Only thing was it was a bit of a bike ride to the beach, but i'm glad I stayed in the Pueblo - cheaper, felt more authentically Mexican and great food.

Can't wait to come back - Tulum was a great experience in a wonderful country.

Viva Mexico!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Propietario at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Sam,
Thank you so much for your nice review. Our job is the best, because we can share and guide our new friends to the best places and spots in town and at the beach, and our favorite part is to see you smiling all the time.
Hope to see you soon, there are a lot of thing to see and eat in this beautiful paradise.
Kindly regards
Joshua Arpaiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

It´s a wonderful garden where you just sit in sofas to relax between trees and singing birds. The rooms around the garden are great - they are really big and comfortable so you feel like home. They have everything you need, we couldn´t think of anything that was missing.
It´s all very clean and quiet and the team is amazing. They help where they can.
The prize for these great rooms is really good.
We enjoyed the stay a lot and when we come back to Tulum we`ll definitely stay at Secret Garden again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Propietario at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for the positive review.
We always try our best to guide our travel mates to great places around, using wisely their budgets.
We really appreciate your feedback, this makes us compromising ourselves to improve every day.
We hope to see you in a short future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The 2 nights there were really nice. The employees are very helpful. They helped us with all are questions and supported us. The rooms were big and clean. The only thing that we found a little bit disturbing was the loud air con in the night. The chilling area(garden) is very nice! A really good acomendation in Tulum!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chynune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments in tripadvisor cordial. We will consider your observation about the air conditioning. Since every detail is important to us, we hope to see you again very soon. We wish you an excellent day.
Best regards.
Joshua & Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#4 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Tulum
Maison Tulum
#10 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Property: Secret Garden Hotel
Address: Calle Sagitario Poniente # 54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing