We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Yummy and entertainment too!”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Ranked #119 of 400 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Ginger is now a hotel and the restaurant has reopened, serving breakfast and lunch to hotel guests and to the public. The menu is new and features delicious recipes by Javier.
Gilbert, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Yummy and entertainment too!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Our friend saw a review for this restaurant and we decided to try . First it was hard to find, we ended up asking some cabbies on the main drag and they pointed us in the right direction. When we arrived we were the only ones there. This had us a bit concerned... We were waited on by a very nice young man and we asked him some questions and he steered our choices in the right directioN. I had my mama's salsa steak ( I think that is what they called it). I was not disappointed! By the time our order came the place was packed.
We were also entertained by the chef's wife and a guitarist with American cover songs. It was a really nice night and I was so glad we decided to try this out of the way family owned restaurant !

Helpful?
Thank roses8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    46
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The decor is modern and a bit stark, but go for the food, which is delicious. I especially recommend the spinach salad, but everything we had was good. The basic ingredients are traditional, but the preparation is not. The chef is creative and all the staff friendly. I am recommending this place to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect :)”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We found this restaurant while wondering the side streets of downtown Tulum. The Staff was very friendly, the decor charming and the food was delicious. The service from the waiter and the Chef was amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice spot in Tulum for a relaxing meal.”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nice, friendly staff at this small, out of the way restaurant in town. We had a little trouble finding it, but we were glad we did. They have a small menu, but the food was very good and the drinks were too. They have some out of the ordinary options and they were tasty with healthy options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuchaCaperucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulumista, Owner at Ginger, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi, thanks for your review! We're glad you had a good experience and that you enjoyed the food, cocktails, and the service. We want everyone to have a 5 star experience here - please let us know how we can improve. Thanks, Javier and Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool little place with great food”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is not on the main drag (although it's only one block behind) and seems to be open only in the evenings. It's a contemporary bar/restaurant well worth seeking out. Great service and great food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank have_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing