We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the Cenotes on our own” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cenotes Dos Ojos

Cenotes Dos Ojos
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Cenote and Tulum Experience from Cancun
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Did the Cenotes on our own”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stopped at Dos Ohos on our return trip from Chetumal back to Cancun. We opted to do the "two eyes" on our own. The water was cold, so be prepared. It was interesting, but after reading the reviews here, I wish we had opted for a tour. We did not see the bat caves. We did snorkel and there was a ton a people both snorkeling and diving (but not too crowded), and we were there on Good Friday (vacation week).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GottagetoutofWisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,977
    1,007
    218
    46
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Highly recommended. It has some other cenotes you can explore in the dark with lamps too. Ask for Mr. Lucio. Good guide and great tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LyzAtrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island time
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“two words: bat cave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

we showed up at dos ojos thinking we would DIY the tour, but am really glad we got a tour guide. Without a guide, you can't go into the tunnels and bat cave, which was SUPER cool.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynmama_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort mcmurray
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Diving at Dos Ojos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was a really great excursion. I loved the dive into the Cenote. I saw some amazing stalactites and cool bat caves. This is NOT a beginner dive, so if you have only dived a few times use common sense. (almost any dive shop with take you there for a price, but you have be the voice of reason)

-FrostyCanuck

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunsetsSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We snorkeled in the cenotes in March and had a great time. It costs $14 to enter or you can chose to take the tour that gives you snorkel rental, transport from the highway to the cenote (1.5 km), entrance to a bat cave and a guide. It's up to you if you would like to do this and we did not find the agents pushy in trying to convince you to take this option. It costs about $40.

I would recommend bringing your own snorkel gear and taking a taxi to the cenotes as it will bring you right to the site. We took the collectivo and walked the 1.5 km but you can also take a little motorcycle cab for $5 from the highway to the cenote.

There are showers and washrooms, as well as some hammocks to relax between your snorkeling.

I would recommend it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelleratoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenotes Dos Ojos also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenotes Dos Ojos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing