We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a dive or snorkel”
Review of Cenotes Dos Ojos

Cenotes Dos Ojos
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Cenote and Tulum Experience from Cancun
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic for a dive or snorkel”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I had imagined that all Centoe's were round, open air natural pools. Dos ojos is more of a cave/cavern and so the dive is not for the claustrophobic, especially when you switch off your torch.... That said it was my favourite dive of the 6 I did in Mexico (the rest were reef dives). Get there early before the crowds and you can have the dive to yourselves. You wont see a variety of fish but the silence and the formations are beautiful. Assuming you are not a certified cave diver you will be following a line through the system and back again with a guide and whoever else signed up with you. My partner snorkelled and loved it too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DerryNike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,159
    1,061
    232
    49
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very beautiful but use caution”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We really enjoyed Dos Ojos, but it was a bit of an adventure for us. It is out in the middle of nowhere and felt a bit scary for me and my sister who were traveling alone. Fortunately our cab driver was awesome and offered to wait for us. He waited about 2 hours! Don't come to this place without a cab driver. It is about a two mile walk from the main road on a dirt path in the jungle. The bat cave was super cool. Very different experience from the touristy XPlor.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tour and wonderful guide”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The cenote at Dos Ojos exceeded our expectations. We had been sold a "package" on the beach at Akumal and we took the collective down to Dos Ojos. When we arrived there was some discussion about the price we paid (we were told at the beach that our 6 year old would be free but when we arrived at the site, we were told we had to pay for him). It wasn't a deal breaker so we went ahead. They gave us Rocky as our guide. He was amazing. He took us all in his truck down the road to the cenote. He has a private palapa that he uses and we got changed there and stored our belongings. The first cenote is a warm up -- cool but not amazing. However, look at the divers who go from there into the places inaccessible by snorkelers. It is amazing. Then he took us to the second cenote. That one was really cool, especially the bat cave. Rocky was AMAZING with our kids. Our 12 year old was a bit nervous but Rocky was reassuring to him and helped him even in the bat cave which we had refused to enter. This was one of the highlights of our trip to the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank berkeleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Diving Wonder”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is one of the best two tank dives that you can make. The two lines like at about 35-40 minutes (going slow) allow you to take a break and share stories about the sights with your group. Unless a cave diver go with a group as there are some tips and tricks you don't want to miss-like having good bouyancy :)

Didn't do it but I heard that the snorkeling for the non divers is a great option.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our first experience at Cenote, and it was amazing! The water was pleasant, not super crowded and so clear. We snorkeled but I wish we had scuba dived as you can see more with the scuba diving!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenotes Dos Ojos also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenotes Dos Ojos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing