We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget the beach- snorkel in a cave!”
Review of Cenotes Dos Ojos

Cenotes Dos Ojos
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Cenote and Tulum Experience from Cancun
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Forget the beach- snorkel in a cave!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Short drive from Akumal, just past Xelha on the inland side, is Dos Ojos cenote. Stop at the entrance to buy tickets... either per person US$10 if you have snorkels, or pay US$40 for entrance, snorkel and guide. We had snorkels already so paid US$20, then drove slowly on the dusty dirt rode for 2 miles. Don't walk it. Finally get to an open dirt parking lot where you enter the grounds. Primitive, no real food, but there are clean bathrooms, changing area, and a couple huts to rent a locker, flashlight, lifevest, fins etc if desired. We had water shoes and snorkels, so just rented a locker. Follow the signs to Ojo1 or 2. Ojo 1 is ok, but Ojo 2 is much bigger, multiple entrances, none of which disappoint. Almost a complete ring of a cave, area to sit, dry out, or for non-water people to watch or wait. Water was warmer than expected in January, maybe 65. Thought we'd only be able to last a few minutes, but did not get cold until after an hour. Stunningly clear water, fascinating experience. A few fish, but the sight of seeing a huge cave underwater beneath your feet is amazing. One of the highlights of the trip. Great to do on the way back from a morning trip to one of the ruins.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,116
    1,049
    229
    48
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden World”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went with a tour group through one of the dive shops. 7 of us in total. Worth the $50 though. A wetsuit and gear is provided (we had a $5 discount cause we had our own gear). A cool and relaxed tour guide brought us around the cenote, through small crevices, into the bat cave (you need a guide for this). An amazing experience with light falling down through the water while you swim and explore.
A very busy spot mind you and a bit crowded at times, but still awesome. I have been to 2 others cenotes and they don't compare to this one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best of all”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We visited three cenotes, and this was by far the best. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that it was late afternoon, and the sun was hitting the water, making an underwater spectacle that had to be seen to be believed. It was simply breathtaking, words can not do it justice. The clarity and the colour of the water is indescribable. Rented our snorkel equipment on site, but if you plan to do a few cenotes, it would be cheaper to bring your own, or try and buy some locally.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank camchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well managed and improved property.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been coming here to go cave diving for almost 10 years and this property just keeps getting better. Better infrastructure, benches to get your gear ready, better access to the water, better roads too. Just two years ago trying to get to the cenote pet cemetery or the Pit (farther back on the same property) would be a 4x4 adventure all on its own. Its nice to see the property owners putting the admission fees back into the place. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonCCRdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Went with Wet Set Diving (Francisco)”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

First cenote diving adventure was here this past week. It was incredible. My GF went snorkeling and thought that it was fantastic as well. There are people here that will take you on the tours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank patelpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cenotes Dos Ojos also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cenotes Dos Ojos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing