We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked room not available” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Ranked #77 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Booked room not available”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Made a reservation at the hotel when in Tulum for the following night. When we arrived the next day they for check-in they had no room available for us. They told us that they had taken on an internet booking instead as we had not paid a deposit. A deposit they did not inform us about at the time of booking.

They had our phonenumber and emailadress so it would have been easy to contact us to inform us about the reservation/deposit. Would definitely not reccomend this place!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnies80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
8
56
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for four nights in the middle of our backpacking trip through Quintana Roo. I was sick a good bit of the time due to some questionable food from a vendor in town. Thankfully, this hotel was a fantastic place to rest up and recover. We were only supposed to stay for three nights but ended up staying one more because of the sickness. The management was very kind and helpful during the stay.

The rooms are super clean and very cute. Bathroom was standard Mexico (open windows, thin toilet paper), but with a shower with good water pressure and all working parts.

There was no tv in our room - which I think might be standard for this place - but that was actually nice for a change. Another benefit was that the WiFi was great, so we could just lay in bed and look at the internet when we were resting.

The main street is just two blocks down (I am frankly not sure why people find this place difficult to find, it's really accessible). There are tons of restaurants, a bank/atm, access to colectivos/taxis, all within a two minute walk. The beach, however, is further away. Walking is possible, but taxi is probably the way to go. It's roughly 3 km. to the beach. Beautiful beach, worth the effort, but just know that this hotel is not remotely near the beach, per se. The town is not necessarily anything to look at, but it is probably more affordable than places on the beach.

We had a really fun time just tooling around and eating in different places when I was well enough to do so. The pharmacy just down the block from the hotel was very helpful with my ailment (and is open 24 hours) and that was really a comfort. *Hot tip, if you are having Montezuma's Revenge - ask for a medicine called Treda. It's a miracle drug.

We came across this hotel because of a discount that was offered online, but I would definitely stay there again. We felt safe and well taken care of. Every room has a hammock on the porch. Seriously cute.

I probably got the best sleep in this hotel on our whole trip. The beds were pretty comfy (compared) and we were able to score some extra blankets so we could turn the AC on without freezing to death.

Room Tip: I would assume that all the rooms are similar. It's such a cute little place with a central cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We initially booked with this hotel for our stay in Tulum town. They were very responsive to my emails inquiring about reservations. However, when we decided to book somewhere else instead, the tables turned. Somehow the hotel had double booked our reservation through (we were told) a VISA glitch. They refunded the first charge right away on cancellation but despite 14 days of trying to get them to refund the second deposit, we were unsuccessful. We ultimately contacted VISA to challenge the charge.
Beware.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CynthiaShimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

It was hard to find, and it certainly didn't help that we were arriving late. The hotel is smack in the middle of a community of the main road, so it's easy to miss as it looks like just another housing complex. The receptionist was outside as I don't think they have room for indoor check-in. And though it was different from any other check-in experience I've ever had, the guy was nice, so that helps. But I guess that works when you have great weather. When we got in the room the door wouldn't close fully, needless to say that was creepy. And you get a clear view of the outside courtyard, which means those in the courtyard could get a clear view of you. It took me a while to get comfortable cause I really wanted to leave. But after listening to a full blown Skype conversation that our neighbor was having (I mean so clear I could've joined in) I started to relax realizing that there probably wasn't anyone out to kill me and plus I wasn't alone. Probably wouldn't have stayed if I was though. Didn't see breakfast, just tea/coffee and toast I think. Not sure, I left.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I came to this hotel to avoid all inclusive resorts and be in a typical small mexican hotel. I have knowned the Riviera Maya for 23 years and this hotel was by far my worst experience EVER ! The room ( the superior one ) was ok and clean but the AC never worked. Gladly, I did not really need in March.

Besides that, there is ABSOLUTELY no service whatsoever here : no breakfast ( just coffe and bread in plastic bags), the manager Marcos, is never there and always at the hotel at the beach ( because there is a Kin Ha Hotel Playa ), and if you don't speak spanish you better off not coming here as the receptionist is Mayan and speaks spanish exclusively. You cannot wash your clôt he's and they cannot provid you with an iron...they won't even try. One day, I had to go on a tour and instead of taking a big towel, I asked for a small one as the one in my room was dirty. She said that she could not give me one and that it was at the 'lavanderia' ! I could not believe it and when I complain stating that there was no service at the hotel, she raised her voice at me saying that she was not responsible for the rules of the hotel ! Rules ? Well, seems that the rules here are just to make money at any condition !

Also, the hotel promotes tours...but when I had to call the number ( because the receptionist said that it's better if the client calls), the phone of the tour company was disconnected !Finally, the pics that you see are not representative of the reality. The garden is far from being a tropical one and is small and a little dirty.

Besides that, the hotel is well placed : 2 blocks from the main avenue where there is lots of retaurants and a pharmacy on the left corner. To go to the beach, you need a taxi ride which will cost you only 50 pesos (3$) and you can go to Kin Ha Hotel Playa at Posada Margarita Beach which is wonderful and isolated from the crowd. However, the lady in charge at the beach does not welcome you, the hotel looks old and needs painting. Strict minimum : long chairs, no tables, bad food and a pitiful service.

The prices of the hotel in town as well as at the beach are way too high for what you get. Even in Playa del Carmen, where prices are high, I found a little hotel, very charming, la Hacienda Maria Bonita, which cannot compare with this disatrous establishment and was cheaper.

Trust me, I know the Riviera Maya and want to help the travelers in these times of economical crisis : DO NOT COME HERE ! Last, but not least, I am glad that I was alone this time, because if my love would have come with me like last year, no way you can be intimate as the rooms are so close to each other, you even hear your neighbor's alarm clock !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suad F, Gerente at Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Nancy, me presento soy Suad, la nueva administradora por Kin Ha Pueblo. Lo siento mucho que su estancia no fue buena. Ya estoy haciendo varios cambios, encuentran desayuno continental incluido y estoy arreglando una terraza arriba con mas espacio por esto, jardín mas cuidado, detalles varios en los cuartos y en general, tarifas nuevas mas baratas con promos, y estaré yo pendiente mas en el hotel y si hablo Ingles, ojalá un día regresas, gracias Suad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel is good location, close to the high street, bus terminal, and collectivos and taxis very easy to find even at 5am once you are on the high street.
It is rather austere. Reception desk is outdoor, right next to the street.
It's quiet, and have a nice garden.
Breakfast is coffee and toast, so we just go out and find our own.
Staff can not speak English, but very friendly and tried to help (with google translate. Clever!).
All in all, it is acceptable. And a good choice if you want to find one or two nights' stay during Christmas rush.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rileydong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel has nice and clean basic rooms, hot water, a hammock outside the room in a nice little garden which looks like a green oasis on the gray street, and where coffee and pre toasted bread is served as a continental breakfast each morning. It is well located in Tulum town close enough to the main street, although it is a little bit too expensive for the type of hotel and considering that it is not on the beach. There is no tel and no tv and the wi fi connection is unavailable in the rooms although the hotel is very small. As a guest you can go to the KINHA Playa which is located at the beach. But this one is overrated, not very beautiful in style, the beach itself is nice, but the restaurant is too expensive with a very poor variety of dishes to consider eating there every day, so we rather went to eat at other places which were also expensice but nicer. The employees at the KINHA Pueblo are extremely friendly (Rosa), she made us feel like familiy and very welcome, and on the other hand, the people at the KINHA Playa were not very welcoming, and rather unfriendly. We would never stay there. As I said, the KINHA Pueblo is nice and comfortable and a little bit too expensive, but Rosa was so nice and friendly that we really enjoyed our stay there, and we would go back there just for her. I hope the owner will consider this opinion and her true value for his business. Anja and Adrian

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anja3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#75 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#78 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#85 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#74 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uolis Nah
Uolis Nah
#69 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo

Property: Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Address: Calle Orion sur Entre Sol y Venus 316, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Kin-Ha Pueblo”, is located in the Riviera Maya that might be the best destination in the Mexican Caribbean. The Hotel, which in Maya means "Sun and Water" was inaugurated in August 1999. It is in a region where its main features are the archaeological sites, history, and nature conservation still today in this village of the Riviera Maya is preserved language and traditions as important as in the past.About 60 minutes south of Playa del Carmen. Tulum is a ideal for solitude, contemplation and communing with nature, it is close to the archaeological sites of Coba, Muyil and Tulum, this regarded as the only built on the shore of the sea. There are many around cenotes (fresh water wells) where you can do snorkeling or diving cave. "Hotel Kin-Ha Pueblo”, located in the center of the town of Tulum and 2 blocks from Main Street and 4 km from the beach is the best option. Can be found around the Hotel, supermarkets, international & Mexican restaurants, internet point, banks, post office, car rentals, bike rentals, boutiques, jewelry, etc.. The "Hotel Kin-Ha Pueblo” has ten rooms with queen size bed, double or single, private bathroom, fan or air conditioning (no TV), hammock on the terrace overlooking our garden. We have Included services : private security, safe box (ask in the reception) and parking overnight, continental breakfast included, doctor in call,. With charge : Airport transfers,tours, rent bicycles, rent car, dive, yoga, massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing