We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like our own private paradise”
Review of Azucar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azucar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Felt like our own private paradise”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Azucar. The hotel was small, and felt extremely private. The rooms were well kept, and cleaned every morning for a fresh start to the day. The staff were friendly, and helpful. There were no hesitations from them to grab us an additional towel or pillow. The views can't be beat, and the beach was beautiful. Even with all the surrounding hotels, it still felt private. The grounds were beautiful as well with the landscaping done well.

We stayed in the Lunamielera cabana and loved it. There was amazing views, with windows surrounding the front for a full ocean view. You could hear the waves crashing all night, and the breeze coming through the room made the experience even better. There was a refrigerator, sink, and some basic kitchen utensils in the room which was helpful during our stay. We would definitely recommend Azucar to those headed to Tulum.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelready7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    37
    15
    7
    15
See reviews for
26
80
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was our second time staying at Azucar Hotel. Our family of 5 totally enjoy staying at the Cabana Delux/Familiar. It is a true family experience. Nice kitchen space with all that is necessary to create and serve delicious meals. Service is absolutely FANTASTIC... always there to assist you...House keeping EXCEPTIONAL...Privacy TOTALLY RESPECTED. We are looking forward to going again. Meditation before Sun Rise absolutely Quiet and SPECTACULAR. No need for an alarm to wake up. Dancing under the Full Moon, Fantastic! Experiencing a Thunderstorm from the Ocean..AWESOME.
We feel at home at Azucar..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

An amazing place for lovers. Step out the cabin to be on this pure white sand right before the amazing Caribbean sea. It feels like being on a private island. Wi-Fi works seamlessly. Too bad there is no breakfast. The cabin was really cozy and romantic, smart decorated.

Room Tip: Rooms and cabins depend on availability, no way to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had arrived late and unplanned on the Tulum Riviera coast to find not a lot on offer under $250 dollars a night. In desperation we took a pretty poor room (their last )at Beach Club Om, with no view and small double bed for the outrageous price, demanded in advance, of $150 for the night. In the not unattractive Restaurant on the beach, we hit the web to find a Cabana at Hotel Azucar free for the following night, not half a mile away up the beach. Did we hit lucky. For exactly the same price we paid at Hotel Om we got the real deal, A wonderful Cabana on stilts with stairs down to the glorious beach, a terrace with hammock and chairs, big fridge and wonderful accommodating staff (we got in early and staid for our full 24 hours). We didn't leave; eating , drinking, swimming and sleeping in our heaven sent paradise. Book early, we were lucky and enjoy every second!
Chris and Gill

Room Tip: Buy food and drink in Tulum, not a lot on offer in near by shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in lunamielera caban for last 3 days of our holiday in mexico, nothing could be more perfect. the ocean view as you woke up, with sunrise in front of you, the sound of waves the hammock on the deck...
the few people there was quiet and privacy was excellent...i would come back tomorrow.
only thing you must rent a car to reach the centre, hotel is quite isolated from tulum centre, but if you look for relax and privacy and a dream cabana 10 meters from the sea that's everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValeSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a week - this was such a wonderful spot! It's in a great part of the beach (nice and quiet) and we awoke to magical sunrises over the ocean each morning. The accommodation is clean and there's a good sized fridge in the room. Wifi worked well.

I loved the hammocks on the deck - get some lovely breezes!
There's enough of a kitchen that you could have cereal or yogurt in the mornings if you're up before restaurants open (we were). The staff were really lovely, I'd recommend this place to any couple looking for a romantic getaway :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ju-nipped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked the Azucar because it looked so cute and had great reviews and we were not disappointed! The cabañas have everything you need, even the small ones have a little fridge to keep your Coronas cold. Ok, water pressure is a bit of a problem if you have long curly hair, but since it's only about 23 steps into the ocean and the outside showers (cold water) have great pressure it was never a problem. We were wakened in the morning by the sunrise which was breathtaking everytime and made us run out to take pictures even on the last day. The staff was superfriendly (to all people who complain about the staff not speaking English: the country there is called 'Mexico' and the official language spoken is spanish...) they made a big effort for every inquiry we had, helped us to get on a tour very short term, fixed our safe in the cabaña in no time and when our toilet was plugged up, I told Mario and whithin 5 minutes it was already taken care of. Other than that, you're basically left alone, another thing we really enjoyed. Even though the cabaña was very simple (stayed in 'Corales'), it was clean and roach-free. WiFi works most of the time and if it doesn't, you can always talk to eachother. We really enjoyed our holiday in the Azucar and would or rather will definitely book it again.

Room Tip: If you like it a bit spacy, take the honeymoon or family cabaña
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ser A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#62 of 95 in Tulum
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amoreira
Hotel Amoreira
#14 of 116 in Tulum
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
0.2 mi away
Playa Selva
Playa Selva
#7 of 116 in Tulum
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azucar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azucar Hotel

Property: Azucar Hotel
Address: Tulum Hotel Zone Km. 7.5, Carr. a Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azucar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing