We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabañas at great location in Tulum”
Review of Playa Selva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Selva
Ranked #7 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2009

This place had everything that we were looking for. We rented the smallest cabaña for one night (wish we could have stayed longer) and it was perfect for us. The accomodation is simple but charming. Also, Mauricio and Manuela (the owners of the place) were very helpful and sweet. To sum up, it was the highlight of our two week long vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swede013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 187 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2009

I recently told a friend of mine that I only had a week to take for vacation this year and that I wanted to do nothing but sit on a beautiful beach. She said "you want to go to Tulum and you want to stay at Playa Selva". So was so right, our gracious hosts Mauricio and Manuela make everything so easy from lovely quarters to pointing you towards just the right place for a drink or a outdoor excursion. Playa Selva is close to all the sights you want to see, but seems far away and relaxing at the same time. The lovely rustic cabanas showcase the simplistic, yet beautiful detail that goes into the construction of all the regions lovely buildings. Seamless, relaxing, yet interesting vacation. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halobates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

As I walk the gorgeous stretch of Tulum's beaches, spotted with the various cabana establishments, it seems there might be one style to match the person you are. For me, Playa Selva spoke volumes to me. It is straight-forward, humble, and utterly perfect. There is no "schtick" here, just honest aesthetic, grand in its un-pretentiousness. It is slightly tucked back and utterly private. It feels like you have your own private jungle beach. We stayed in both the simple cabana and the 2-story cabana. I loved them both. The simple cabana was all you could need and the price is one of the fairest in all of Tulum. It was cleaned everyday, bath towels and shower towels were provided. Manuela lights luminarias or farolitos every evening and the out door showers and kitchen are perfectly clean and wonderful to use. For me, the whole point of being at the ocean is being outside as much as possible. The 2-room cabana has a perfect upstairs loft. It was like sleeping above the ocean itself, the breezes blowing by the thatched roof. This has hot showers and a really thoughtful, original design.
We ordered breakfast one morning to be had at Playa Selva, it was the best of all of Tulum. A steady flow of coffee (American-style), home-made bread (Manuela has a Swiss-knack), eggs, a meat, cheese, olive, relish plate, fresh-juice, gorgeous fruit plate, beans, quesadillas, on and on. Playa Selva is not big and commercial. Here you are paying for something authentic and original, not the fuss and hype of so many of the other places. Highly Recommended! We will be going back year after year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haleighamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We found this place last minute on the internet and luckily the simple cabana was available. We arrived in the evening with a path of luminarias lighting our way. There are only two cabanas and one house for rent here providing simple, down to earth accomodations. The cabanas are clean and comfortable with a shared outdoor kitchen which is also very clean. The owners are fun and friendly and our stay wouldn't have been the same without them.They took us on a tour of a local cenote and provide many other personal tours of the area. The beach is incredibly gorgeous with personal beach chairs and hammocks all over. We had made arrangements to visit Puerto Morelos after Tulum but when we arrived at the accomodations in Puerto Morelos we were very disappointed that we left Playa Selva. We quickly emailed Manuela to see if we could come back and luckily our cabana was still available. We quickly headed back to Playa Selva via collectivos and were so glad we did. Don't forget to ask for the incredible breakfasts (best in Tulum). Thank you Manuela, Mauricio and Tiago for such a great visit. We will be back again soon!

Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank taosnezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I loved this place. It’s extremely cozy, clean and the owners were wonderful! It was private and personal compared to the other places on the street.. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Tulum. The owners were really helpful with pointing were to go and places to see. Thank you Manuela and Mauricio for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LARCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Milagros V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sepp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
4.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#22 of 98 in Tulum
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#38 of 98 in Tulum
465 reviews
8.7 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Selva

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila km 8.4 | Apartado Postal 131, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $166 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Selva is one of the most beautiful beaches in Tulum with agarden composed of large trees, surrounded by practically virgin nature.This place has everything you need for an unforgettable vacation.A place to relax, away from the rush and the noise.A place to recharge your energy; alone, with your partner, with friends or with the entire family.A place to practice different sports and leisure activities.A place to let your soul fly free.Playa Selva is located on the Tulum beach; 8 km from the town, 8 km from the Tulum Mayan ruins and 3 km from the extraordinary Sian Ka'an Biosphere Natural Reserve (UNESCO World Heritage). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Playa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing