We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect, safe, lovely”
Review of Playa Selva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Selva
Ranked #7 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great, quiet spot for a relaxing getaway. From walking up and down the beach looking at other places to stay, I think I picked the best one!

The property feels very private, and the whole place is incredibly lovely. Ocean views, lovely ocean breeze, everything you could need.

I spent my whole vacation on the property and within walking distance up and down the beach. I feel completely refreshed after the trip!

The staff was great, always available, but never bothersome. Able to help book anything you need while there to make your trip comfortable. Kept the place incredibly clean, which is quite a task with all that sand!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 192 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked this place for 8 nights in July 2013 and it was a gem find. It's a place we hope to return to very often.
The onsite staff made it so comfortable for us. And the fact that there was a communal kitchen where we could cook and store our food (they offer a large ice chest + block of ice) made it a perfect fit for our needs. Total money saver.
But more than anything, the beach was incredible. It felt private in a way since there were only a few people there with us.
Highly recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family and I just came back from staying at Playa Selva in Sept. I loved everything about this place. It is clean and there is always someone there to help you out. We stayed at cabaña La Palma and La Duna and shared the communal kitchen which was great because we made breakfast there every morning (my mom is an excellent cook). La Palma has a great balcony and wonderful views, my favorite thing about the room is that you can take a shower and still have a view of the ocean while you are taking a shower! My parents stayed below us at La Duna and they really enjoyed it too. Playa Selva has an AWESOME beach front, we walked up and down the beach and we had one of the best spots available.

About the comments of the neighbors next door, we really didn't have any issues and didn't bother us. Maybe it was the time of the year that there were not many campers, but I do agree it is quite entertaining more that an nuisance.

It is hurricane season in Sept in so I was expecting some rain, that is why we wanted a balcony in our room so we can chill at nights (normally rain comes in at night) and enjoy watching the rain and drinking some tequila :)

I strongly recommend this place for everyone, we didn't need air AC or TV we just enjoyed each others company and visited some sites around Tulum. There is a safe in the room (which can bring you a little peace of mind).

Bring mosquito repellent and flashlights. Do consider that showers have salty water, you get used to it.

It was easy to do reservations with Manuela, she answered all my questions. Thanks to the playa selva team that made my quick vacation trip so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Duna and Palma are great for couples. There are other cabañas that have a kitchen included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZetaMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Playa Selva is a picture perfect place: white sandy beaches, emerald green ocean, well-kept premises, and clean Bungalows. We stayed at the Cabana Maya bungalow, which is historically the first of the many bungalows on site. The second story has an amazing view of the ocean, and the constant ocean breeze makes it a truly memorable spot in the cabana. The location of Playa Sleva is also idyllic; as the name indicates, the area resembles a beach jungle (albeit a very clean one). But just a few meters to either side of the main gate one finds a convenience store and numerous restaurants - all within walking distance. We found that strategic placement very convenient. We had heard some concerns over mosquitos; but the bed nets and a bit of spray took care of that completely. The staff members (Joanna, Susanna, Javier, Nelly, ...) are all friendly and helpful. They work very hard to assure that all the guests are comfortable. Altogether our experience was very pleasant; the only unhappy time was the departure time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second stay at Playa Selva, and we love it! Susanna, Javier, Mari, and the other staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and grounds are beautifully kept, and the beach is marvelous. Javier told us all about the sea turtles, and then we were lucky to get to see one that came ashore to lay eggs when we were walking along the beach one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at playa selva for 3 weeks and its a great place to relax and chill out. We had the cabana playa and it had everything we needed to cook for us and our 1-year old baby (not just dishes, but also coffee, water, oil,.... Provided) the garden is lovely and well mantained. The staff is very helpful and made our stay special! Bike rental is included- we loved that and its on the nicest stretch of beach! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The thatched palapa looked extremely romantic, would recommend it for couples! Cabana playa perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Remarkable place, fantastic beach. Very friendly personnel always ready to help. The kitchen is very convenient for a breakfast. The room is big and clean (we had on the second floor overlooking the sea). Absence of restaurant doesn't disturb. Joanna gave us recommendations about local restaurants and helped to organize interesting trips by a taxi. Feeling that you are visiting good friends . Thanks.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank SergeyKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
914 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 100 in Tulum
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 100 in Tulum
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Selva

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila km 8.4 | Apartado Postal 131, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: $167 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Selva is one of the most beautiful beaches in Tulum with agarden composed of large trees, surrounded by practically virgin nature.This place has everything you need for an unforgettable vacation.A place to relax, away from the rush and the noise.A place to recharge your energy; alone, with your partner, with friends or with the entire family.A place to practice different sports and leisure activities.A place to let your soul fly free.Playa Selva is located on the Tulum beach; 8 km from the town, 8 km from the Tulum Mayan ruins and 3 km from the extraordinary Sian Ka'an Biosphere Natural Reserve (UNESCO World Heritage). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing