We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Selva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Selva
Ranked #7 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, ME
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Playa Selva is beautiful, clean and safe. The friendly staff is very helpful and the large communal kitchen is well equipped. There are also nice little touches like lit candles in the evening and a lovely bowl of fruit upon arrival.

Room Tip: They are all perfect, just depends on how much room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorelBrunswick_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The staff is wonderful; Manuela & Mauricio are the perfect hosts. We have been coming back twice a year to Playa Selva for the last 2 years and just love it! Our beachfront bungalow is charming. We have been vacationing in Tulum for the last 6 years and have stayed at many hotels but this by far is the best. Very quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunmartaxco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing!
Total relaxation. Perfect location right on the best part of the beach (the most quiet part) across the street from the best restaurants around. Staff and owner were nice and helpful.
There's a kitchen so you can also eat in if you want, make sure you buy groceries on your way over (you won't feel like going back into town after you arrive).
They arranged a great tour at the biosphere reserve which is near and if you plan a day ahead you can get kitesurfing lessons.
Make sure you bring mosquito repellant and Alo Vera in case you get bitten (this a remark for Tulum, not specifically Playa Selva)

Can't wait to go there again. 3 night weren't enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelAvivDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Playa Selva is amazing. For that matter Tulum and the surrounding area is truly amazing. We stayed in the 2 bed bungalow "Cabana Maya" approximately 30-50 meters from the ocean depending on whether the tide is in or out. I was very excited by the pictures online but was prepared for disappointment upon arrival. Not only were the pictures accurate but in person the place is 1000x better than the photos. The entire staff (Javier, Maria, Joanna, and Poly) are ultra-friendly and helpful, Poly gave us terrific recommendations for excursions. As a result, I urge any visitors to make a trip into the Sian Ka'an Bioreserve which is only about 3 KM from Playa Selva. This is a can't miss and an extreme value even in the high season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russell_glaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I rented a room in a downstairs bungalow for three nights to enjoy a beautiful, relaxing environment near the beach. Where some of this came true, I personally did not find it relaxing at night when I wanted to sleep. Upon arrival we were greeted by Joanne (who was lovely). The staff was also extremely friendly - absolutely no complaints there. The room was beautifully designed and very functional. There were bikes, kayaks and a kitchen, etc. Everything about the property itself is great. Only problem is the noise at night, even if it isn't Playa Selva's fault.

If you aren't sensitive at all to noise at night, this detail may not bother you, but it certainly bothered me. All three nights we booked here I was kept up until late in the night by people at the next door camping facility - playing music on instruments, yelling, laughing, etc. when what I was looking for was a quiet and relaxing stay near the beach. It felt like a late-night restaurant/party was running next door until about 2 or 3 in the morning every night. Because my boyfriend and I decided to spend extra on staying in a lovely place near the beach, it was a lot more disappointing to me personally. Ear plugs were a must and even then it was frustrating at times.

It's also possible that the other bungalows don't pick up this kind of noise (I saw some closer to the beach, where it is not as close to the fence adjacent to the campground (as ours was - we were in the bungalow immediately next to the campgrounds). I hate to complain because the staff was so great (and the property), but it ruined evenings for me and made the end of our vacation a bit of a bummer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatyGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family visited Playa Selva for the 4th time in 3 years over New Years Week.
As always Maria, Javier and Joanna were there to ensure our stay was perfect.
The houses are clean and comfortable. The grounds are impeccable with hammocks, lounge chairs and beach mattresses. The beach (and it does vary considerably) is the best in Tulum.
Two of the buildings have their own kitchen and the other two accommodations share the outdoor kitchen which is well appointed and attractive.
We will be back for our 5th visit soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our family stayed at Playa Selva for our Christmas Holiday this year, but had to cut it short. The beach is beautiful - talcum powder sands and warm blue water. The staff, Javier and Maria, were nice. Joana, the caretaker was friendly, accessible and helpful. Even the house and bungalows are nice and clean.

The big caveat is what is NOT made clear is that the location is NOT what they advertised. We feel they have grossly misrepresented their establishment as "as place to relax, away from the rush and the noise. A place to recharge your energy", considering their knowledge of their on-going problems with Camping Chavez next door for the past two years.

There is a campground next to their bungalows, with as many as 40 tents at a time on the site. Many of the tents encroach onto their property during the night and you have people from the campsite wandering onto their property after dark.

When we were there, sounds of drumming and a saxaphone drowned down the ocean from morning until night. We experienced around the clock drum circles from 7am to 11 pm with maybe a fews days of reprieve. Marajuana smoke was constant and lingered in our bedrooms.

We tried to just go with the flow and make the best of it, but when you are charged as much as $300 to $500 per night while we were for staying there, it is unacceptable. Manuela refused to refund our money. She did offer a day trip to Sian Kaan as a consolation. She did make an attempt at refunding as long as she was able to rent out the rooms.

It's unfortunate and we sympathize with Manuela's grievances with their neighbor, as it is something that they cannot control, but we were sorely disappointed and we felt that Manuela could have handled the situation better for as much as we had shelled out to her.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playaselva, Geschäftsführer at Playa Selva, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
First of all; thank you for your comment and I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us, but we did our very best to accommodate you and are working hard to make sure this never happens again. But the timing of your vacation was very special.
The Christmas season in Tulum is always busy. And this year, 2012 on the 21st of December, was widely publicized that the world would end as the Mayan Calendar ended on that day. A good percentage of those who believed the world would end came to Camping Chavez, next door. As Tulum has become more popular, the camp sites have decreased. But on the 21st December, demand for camping did not.
We reported to the authorities to put some limits to the campsite. The police helped but most of the authorities who could do something on a bigger scale were on vacation. Here in Mexico things like that take some time.
I know I cannot apologize enough but we had very little warning that you were so unhappy since you never complained until the day you wanted to leave.
We were all surprised when you told us on the 6th day of your 14 day stay that you needed to leave the next day. We were totally booked during your visit. The other guests did not complain. Joanne, our manager, had no idea that you were so unhappy even though she saw you daily. After we understood your situation, we tried to find you another place but Tulum was totally booked. Joanne and I spend the better part of a day looking and making calls but there was nothing available except a place in Cancun, but you did not like it. In the meantime I tried to rent out your last week so that I could refund the money. And I successfully did that and could have refunded full amount, you decided to stay, confirming twice with, "yes we will stay so no need to rent the cabana". There was also a couple in la Torre Pajaros that actually wanted to take your time once you left. But you decided to stay.
I don’t think you realize how hard we worked to try to help you have a good vacation, nor should you. But it is not as if we left you to fend for yourself. And when you again changed your mind to leave on the 8th day, we rented 4 of your last 6 days and I refunded that money – completely contrary to our cancellation policy.
No one else said the sound of drums drowned the sound of the sea. Nobody else complained about the camping.
We try our best to get that situation resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#12 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#38 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Selva

Property: Playa Selva
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila km 8.4 | Apartado Postal 131, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Selva is one of the most beautiful beaches in Tulum with agarden composed of large trees, surrounded by practically virgin nature.This place has everything you need for an unforgettable vacation.A place to relax, away from the rush and the noise.A place to recharge your energy; alone, with your partner, with friends or with the entire family.A place to practice different sports and leisure activities.A place to let your soul fly free.Playa Selva is located on the Tulum beach; 8 km from the town, 8 km from the Tulum Mayan ruins and 3 km from the extraordinary Sian Ka'an Biosphere Natural Reserve (UNESCO World Heritage). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Playa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing