We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word - gross!”

Restaurant Don Cafeto
Ranked #37 of 407 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Warrenton, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One word - gross!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Me and my travel companions are totally perplexed by the high ratings of this restaurant. It was that bad! It's not at all authentic so if you think so, you have eaten mostlyTaco Bell and Chi Chi's I'm guessing.

Considering it's all tourists, the waiter didn't notify us the salsa was so spicey it was unedible even for my father in law who loves spice.

Nothing was at all tasty. Two of us had chicken dishes and two had taco dishes. The chicken was bland, unseasoned, and came with cold, unflavored rice. The two taco dishes were so fatty it was nearly unedible.

They do have a sign that says they only cook with olive oil. How insane is that? Olive oil should not be used for cooking at high temperatures so that should have been our first sign.

If I could have ranked them a 0, I would have. The only good thing that I had was a frozen lemonade drink that hit the spot. So I guess that earned them a 1.

There are so many wonderful restaurants in Tulum. Please try other restaurants before coming here! Seriously, we loved every meal we had in the full week we were in Tulum except for this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZekeZoeLua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    189
    54
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Reasonable, authentic Mexican”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very popular amongst tourists and locals in the centre of Tulum. Had lunch there and it was a mixed bag. The appetisers are different - picked vegetables with tortilla chips rather than the ubiquitous guacamole were great including some nice hot chillies. Ordered chiles rellenos which was fine but not exciting and tacos with arrachera (skirt steak). The meat was tender and full of flavour but the tacos needed something other than just meat in them to provide balance and texture. Went on a Sunday and there was live music and lots of families.

Overall - you shouldn't get a bad meal here at all but we found better places in Tulum to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank devizes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional and lively”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Traditional mexician restaurant on the main road in Tulum town. Great value and something on the menu for everyone. Atmosphere was lively due to a live band playing whilst we ate dinner. Very busy with local families and tourists.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seagull11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The green juice took it over the top.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

One more day left on our week in Tulum and we decided to try another eatery: Don Cafeto's. The sign on the front of the grill kitchen area said: "We only use Olive Oil" made us park and check out the menu. The three of us always order something different and share, so we decided to give it a try when we saw a patron sipping on a tall glass of bright green juice. "What is he drinking?" The patron said "Just try it. You will be blown away!"
As soon as we gave the waiter our order, another waiter brought the big bowl of chips, delicately oven baked with a light touch of oil, a bowl of fresh 'Pico de gallo' salsa, a bowl of 'escabeche' (pickled jalapenos, oinions, carrots, potatoes) and our green juice. This juice really was the cherry on the sundae. A combination of juiced cucumber, pineapple, cilantro and 'chaya', it cooled our tongues from the spicy appetizer and brightened our mood instantly. Having indulged in many a "green juice" with wheat grass, I was expecting something on the bitter side and so was most pleasantly surprised with the deliciously sweet flavor.
I always try to taste local foods while we travel, and 'chaya' was on my punch list for this trip but so far I had not found it on any menu. Chaya is used by the locals both as an herb and as a green leaf food. It's properties are impressive: from anti-oxidant to immune system booster and everything in between.
When we returned to our B & B (Tankah Inn), I told the cook about my encounter with chaya and asked him how is it used as a food item. He said it's almost like our 'kale', 'spinach', or 'collard greens.' And is frequently cooked into scrambled eggs. He said the growing season for chaya is a bit later in the spring, but he had some growing in the garden and would serve it for me in the morning. So that explained why the fruit stand did not have any, but the vendors that sell the juice have their own garden and will trim the younger plants for the juice. It made me think of one of my favorite salad greens, arugula. A very important footnote was added: if you are going to cook the whole leaves into a recipe, you must first boil them to tender to expel the toxic part of the herb. When it is juiced, fewer, tender leaves are used and the fiber is removed, so no problem.
The basic menu at Don Cafeto's was also excellent. We had the Sopa Azteca (chicken broth with red chille spice, fresh onions, avocado, cilantro and melted cheese); the fish fillet (lightly breaded and pan fried with garlic and olive oil); and an order of Mole Enchiladas stuffed with white Queso Fresco. The 2 entrees came with plenty of fresh corn tortillas, black beans and rice. And since this was going to be "lupper" (lunch+supper) we also ordered the guacamole and a cold beer. Total bill: $354.00 pesos @ $12.50 exchange = $28 for 3 very full and happy campers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandBeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wondeful Appetizers at Don Cafeto”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed eating here while on a recent holiday to Tulum area. Appetizers, especially the pickled garlic, peppers etc were to die for! Great food and wonderful services!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Don Cafeto also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurant Don Cafeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing