We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”
Review of Casa Banana

Casa Banana
Ranked #40 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located across the beach road from Nueva Vida is Casa Banana Steakhouse, a Tulum dining hot spot. Serving up classic Argentinian style cuisine, the food here is simple, fresh and delicious. For breakfast each morning enjoy made to order coffee, homemade banana bread, and pineapple coconut jam. At night the restraurant gets busy and comes alive with it’s outdoor grill, known as “parilla,” and dishes are cooked over the open fire for all to see. The menu favorites include grilled to perfection steak, fresh caught fish, impressive salads, and a thoughtfully selected wine list. Don’t forget to try the handshaken icy margaritas, too.Open daily breakfast, lunch and dinner. We provide beach service for all guests of the hotel.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place has amazing food for dinner and breakfast. The wood burning oven/grill produces fresh breads and amazing meats. It is a bit on the pricey side but worth it. The only negative are the flies at breakfast. No flies around for dinner though...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    485
    186
    80
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, little restaurant”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Beautiful and tasteful restaurant within the zona hotelera of Tulum.
They have traditional food, very fresh and an excellent service!!
We had fresh fish of the day and octopus and we didn't regret to go there! Recommendable!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NinaHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Meat Feast”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

An authentic asado - a huge flame grill cooks a huge selection of fantastic meats. If you want to go slightly off menu , the staff are only too happy to assist. Great service and cocktails, super wine list. Go early or be prepared to wait ( you won't be disappointed) tables turn quite quickly so you won't wait for long. A really good choice in Tulum ( jungle side) - take the mosquito repellant though - not that there are a lot - but one bite can be annoying!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johannacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“They May Have Steak, But The Fish Wins”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Adorable atmosphere and delicious food. We had the calamari and guacamole salad to start. The Argentinian steak was good but not above and beyond what you might get at home. The whole grilled snapper, however, was incredible. And it came with grilled veg, cauliflower and sweet potatoes. A definite winner. Get the dulce de leche crepes for dessert.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception Dinner for 27 - Guess what?”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

IT WAS AWESOME!!! So our friends invited us down to Playa del Carmen for a destination wedding and informed us that there were having their reception dinner at the all inclusive resort which come to find out was going to be more than a private dinner with transportation to Casa Banana. Because we had honeymoon reservations (us being the honeymoon crashers) at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, I asked them if they would consider a "destination reception dinner" so their guest would experience something totally different than a banquet style dinner at the all RIU. THANK GOD We DID!. The entire experience was AMAZING. We had set up reservations with Casa Banana months ahead and sent it our custom order ahead of time so it was prepared minutes after we sat down and we also to make it easier for the staff. The service was amazing. The food was amazing and the atmosphere and ambiance too. Santiago and the ENTIRE staff treated us like royalty and NOT just a number like the bigger resorts. The entire group not only said Casa Banana was the best part of the entire trip but Tulum itself. I had a lot of pressure planning this but after visiting Casa Banana and staying in constant communication with them, I felt very confident and relaxed during the entire process. 27 meals to absolute perfection. The bride and groom (Derek and Traci) were SO impressed with what I had put together for them and have already recommended Tulum and Casa Banana to friends and family back home. Thank you Santiago and the staff at Casa Banana. You not only made the bride and groom's reception top notch, you made me feel like a "rockstar" putting it all together. If you are considering staying at Nueva Vida Ramiro and have questions, contact me on Facebook (Jeremy Gearries) and I would love to help you pick the right room and give you tips. We have stayed in 6 or 7 rooms there and have pictures, videos of the rooms, etc. I'd be more than happy helping you. Jeremy and Sara from Indianapolis Indiana.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djsdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Banana also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing