We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azafran Restaurant

Azafran Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 386 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had the hangover breakfast. Yum. The portions were a bit much for little ol me, but delicious. Loved the decor. Coffee taste great. Didn't have a chance to have a bagel, but I hear they're good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazuyoshi558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    35
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yukon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in a Lovely Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went to Mezzanine. No service period. Left. Came to this little gem. Thank goodness. Immediately served good coffee. The breakfast was a treat! Omelette with Chaya and Gouda, toast which tasted like homemade, mashed potatoes, and a couple excellent sausages. Watermelon juice included. The owner came around twice to say hello and thank us for stopping by. We'll be back. A real treat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iceqween13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was directed to Azafran on a friend's strong recommendation. I was not disappointed. My gf and I went there twice in one week. I had the amazing German breakfast, and she the fripuit creeps. She's been talking about them, ever since. Today, we had some bagels for lunch. The home-brined salmon was light, not fishy and generously topped upon my bagel. The Gouda bagel was also just right. If you would like some light, satisfying European food to give you a break from all the spice and heat, give Azafran a shot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattereaterlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Try the hangover breakfast. Great way to start the day! Nice garden out back and the service is efficient and friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Familyvacationphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Similkameen Valley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 for consistency”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Excellent menu. Pate, bagels, bacon, lox, and much more on offer. Items one misses when traveling in Mexico. Well prepared and very fresh. Perhaps most enjoyable is the great coffee with abundant refills. Meika and her staff do a commendable job. After four visits over six weeks Azafran rates five for consistency alone.

Helpful?
Thank farmersdotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azafran Restaurant also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Azafran Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing