We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most consistent restaurant in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azafran Restaurant

Azafran Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 386 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tuskegee, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most consistent restaurant in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

In a way it's hard to compare Azafran to most of the other places in Tulum, but the one thing to be said is it is the most consistent place in the entire town. Nothing but the very best ingredients, and the care and focus used in delivering their food is clear. Milli and Rene are genuinely GOOD PEOPLE....
The breakfast options are hard to choose from. but My favorite is the "Deli". Roast beef, Spanish ham,house cured salmon, pate, brie, olives and butter with German rye made in house. I can't think of a better way to start the day, unless you have the "Texan", Homemade bagel with eggs, roast beef, bacon. Like I saids it's hard to choose.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willifred2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    35
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great home breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Literally felt like I was at a friends house who makes me delicious breakfast. Amazing friendly service, yum coffee and a great filling big breakfast for really good value. Only wish that we went there again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelseyisabel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dormingo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This summer we were in Tulum again and as usual we went to Azafran for our breakfest. The food was as good as I remembered, my favourite breakfast is now the Deli special.
The garden is a excellent place to chill.
The service is excellent and Mika, the owner, always make you feel at home and welcome.
So definitely the best spot in town, not just for breakfest but also for lunch, just try the goulash, bratwurst and the sauerkraut

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tjibbe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places to eat in Tulum, although I think I just ordered the wrong thing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I heard of this place through my renting-landlord here.
We went for breakfast, and I asked the table across what they recommended and they said the Deli Breakfast which has pates, cheeses, salami and bread, which sounded exciting.
I have to admit, I was surprised and a bit disappointed, but I wholeheartedly believe that I just got unlucky because in addition to the praise I heard about Azafran, and the reviews that I read previously, both of my siblings who were with me got really amazing dishes-- the fruit filled crepe and the Hangover breakfast.

Everything I saw of theirs seemed to be prepared perfectly and from what I tasted it was awesome. I really want to go back and try the gulash or salmon.
If you have not gone in here, go! Its in the top 97% of restaurants in Tulum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OffTheWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mmmmm :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a great spot for breakfast, brunch or lunch. The bagels are baked fresh, with so much variety, and hubby really loved the hangover breakfast and fresh oj! Set in a beautiful tropical garden - excellent :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azafran Restaurant also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Azafran Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing