We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azafran Restaurant

Azafran Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 382 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Food is terrific and the family that runs it is extremely nice. This place is one of the best options for breakfast in town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laclasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    35
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice in the pueblo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stopped in for breakfast one morning due to a bacon craving. The Hangover Breakfast is highly recommended! The owner, Renae, (our hotel manager shared her name when we raved about her!) introduced our son to the large iguana that hangs around the courtyard, and gave him hibiscus flowers to hand feed the iguana!
Renae told us that Sunday evenings they have a "cerveza party" with grilled dinners cooked in the courtyard and live music. Unfortunately, we forgot she mentioned the grilled meats and wished we had eaten dinner here on Sunday. We did, however, stop by for after dinner drinks and were able to enjoy an AMAZING ska style band. This was truly the best band we have ever enjoyed in a local venue, and we come from a town replete with a variety of live entertainment on any given night.
The band announced that we were the only folks in the courtyard that they did not know, so it felt pretty neat to be enjoying what was clearly a friends and family oriented local event.
Renae also found us that night and returned a bracelet my son had dropped when we were there for breakfast earlier in the week. Azafran was a highlight of our trip, and conveniently located a few doors down from our other favorite, El Assedero. ( I believe the street is Satelite.) All I can say is GO THERE! We really loved this place. If you love live music, go on Sunday. FYI, alcohol is not available in grocery or convenience stores after 2PM on Sunday, all the more reason to head to Azafran!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“go check it out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great little restaurant in a garden, Sunday grill fest, mixed grill is huge and super fresh cooked right in front of you, on sunday night you also get to listen to Ukumali playing live , a band not to be missed. had a really great time here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dany480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA usa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Do not miss azafran!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Beautiful garden area, delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner with something for everyone. They do a Sunday Grill fest. The coffee is great, the agua fresca delicious and the hangover cure breakfast has a following because it is SO GOOD!
Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimerscreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roby Mill
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfast with a lovely happy vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Breakfast was brilliant here with fresh juice and lovely coffee topped up frequently. The garden is a great space with a lovely tree and a fantastic chilled out, happy atmosphere. The fruit filled pancake, pablo's omlette and the hangover breakfast were all really good - I tried them all because it was the best place in Tulum for breakfast!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azafran Restaurant also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Azafran Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing