We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
37
10
7
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
10
7
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor great beach beach bar air con mini bar perfect stay hotel guests fish tacos guacamole hot water tulum beach julia angel bungalow loungers tv beds
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 60 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2018

The location is great, right on the beach. The staff made my stay special. They had great attitudes, knowledge, and worked hard to make this hotel one of the best. This area is different, not your urban downtown setting with carpeted rooms. That may be what draws so many people. Very nice co-located restaurant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, General Manager at Hotelito Azul, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Dear Kelvin,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community! It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us at Hotelito Azul! The staff all enjoyed getting to know you and loved your laid back attitude. We hope you are able to return again soon!

Warm Regards,

Julia and the Hotelito Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

Walking into paradise is one thing, but being welcomed like family is another. Angel greeted us upon arrival, stored our luggage until our room was ready, and offered us complimentary refreshments to enjoy on the beach. The mango smoothies, signature cocktails, and beer were all presented with care and attention to detail. The rooms are decorated with a rustic, boho-chic, ocean vibe. The beds were so comfortable and inviting. Everything was so clean and well-maintained (which takes a lot of manpower and dedicated staff) The hammocks everywhere invite you to relax and listen to the waves. The shower is AMAZING! The heat and pressure were a nice surprise. This hotel is family friendly, unlike a lot of hotels in Tulum. Our daughter felt so welcomed, especially when there was an extra bed waiting for her in our room. There were 3 towels and every little detail was thought of. The beach vibe was on point with chill ambient music, food and beverage available and hand delivered to you, as well as an array of seating options, like beds, hammocks, poufs, etc. There were bikes to rent which is highly recommended to use if getting to the restaurants and other areas in Tulum. It's a perfect location and close to everything. The restaurant onsite is well appointed and the food was good. It was mostly sandwiches however. The wing chair is a great place to take pictures! The little store/restaurant Ojo de Agua is such a well curated place, offering delicious breakfast, coffee, fresh juices, and a little store selling wine and produce. I had asked Angel where would be a good place to get a Cold Brew/Ice Coffee and he said "I can get that for you!" Drop the mike! That was it for me. The staff here aim to please and will do what they can to make your time there memorable and magical. Julia and Yessica were also very accommodating and kind. We highly recommend Hotelito Azul if you plan on staying in Tulum!

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank Bailevida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, General Manager at Hotelito Azul, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

We cannot tell you enough how much we appreciate your review! We strive to make every guest feel like family, so we were thrilled to read that's exactly how you felt! :D Reading all of the details you enjoyed about your experience at Hotelito Azul really put a smile on our faces. Guests like you make it easy to love what we do and we really appreciate the great energy you brought! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and recommending us to your fellow travelers! We hope to see you again, very soon!

Warmest Regards,

Julia and the Hotelito Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in hotelito azul for 5 nights. Two nights in a room 12 and 3 nights in a ‘sandy room’ on a ground floor right at the front of the sea.
Complimentary cocktails were a nice welcoming touch.
Views were stunning! Not many hotels have rooms that close to the sea.
Both rooms were great though the one at the front had much bigger bed and very comfy mattress.
Showers were always hot with a good water pressure (unlike many other places in Mexico).
Toiletries provided were absolutely amazing! Organic, locally made, smelled fantastic and really good quality. We had to get a full size shampoo and conditioner in downtown before we left, that’s how much in love I was!
All rooms provided with a bucket of water ona doorstep to wash your feet from sand, though it don’t really help and sand ends up in the room, and eventually in bed even if you shake it all off before getting in.
Breakfast was really tasty, though quite small. Choice of tea/coffee/juice, egg omelette or scrambled, a couple of tiny crispy breads with some sort of patee and sliced avocado. The rest is extra. Acai bowl is really tasty, cost about 130pesos for a small one. Croissants are 20 or 40 pesos and always fresh.
The only thing is that the staff at the restraint can hardly speak any English so it was quite hard to order at first.
Also we had a few cold nights in December and were really cold at night as there was only one thing throw provided as a cover. I think thin summer duvet should be provided anyway even if it’s hot most of the time.

But all in all the hotel is great, stuff is great and very helping and i would stay there again without any doubt.
Many thanks ❤️

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ксения Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, General Manager at Hotelito Azul, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Ксения Д,

Many thanks for your lovely review! It really put a smile on our face to read about all the special details that you enjoyed about your stay! The organic toiletries really smell amazing and it's so great you were able to take some home with you! We are happy to report that since your review we have already implemented more options at breakfast, as well as duvets for those cooler nights. The staff were very happy that you found them great and very helpful! We will welcome you back anytime!

Big Hugs,

Julia and the Hotelito Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights and we really enjoyed it - a great place to land in Tulum. The good: beautiful location, clean beach with enough beds for the guests, clean room with an incredibly comfy bed and a hammock on the terrace. We also liked the in-house menu. We stayed on the top floor of a bungalow which I would recommend as it gives a bit more privacy than the ground floor rooms where people pass by.

Heads up: rooms have no TV, radio or speakers, no mini bar but we actually liked it this way but might be something others miss. Service was friendly but not the fastest but I guess that’s the Tulum vibe and wasn’t really an issue for us either. You can sense that it’s a fairly newly opened hotel but it does indeed have a lot of potential! Would come again!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Erica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, General Manager at Hotelito Azul, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Erica,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor! It's great to know you enjoyed our beautiful location, clean beach and beach beds and the incredibly comfy bed! Thank you also for warning future guests of no tv, radio or mini bar. We strive to maintain what makes Tulum special, which is the no-fuss, relaxing vibe and a place to disconnect from the normal world. Sometimes it's just great to listen to the waves and watch the stars. :) We want the guests who come to be looking for the right experience, so thanks again for sharing that point! We are happy you liked that aspect of your experience as well! You are correct that we just opened last year, so there are a few details to dial in, but we are working diligently on those and feel we are so close! We hope you can come again and see all the improvements soon!

Warm Regards,

Julia and the Hotelito Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018

We booked a beachfront „triple“ suggesting it sleeps three. Well, we did not want to have three people in our room, but a to sell a queen bed as suitable for three people suggests too much closeness for my taste. The room was small and I seriosly doubt the advertised space of 30 square meters. The room was also very basic though the price we payed was that of a five star luxury accomodation. Internet is free but very slow.
The setting at the beach is terrific. For the price, the rest leaves much to be desired.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jochen-v-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, General Manager at Hotelito Azul, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Dear Jochen-v-S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We were sorry that the name of the room was perhaps misleading, we have since changed that across all channels. Every room has a king bed, but we always have the option of adding an individual bed. We are also happy to report we have added some new details to the boutique rooms to improve the experience and the internet speed is much better! We feel that we have worked to improve the value of our guest experience and we hope you can return soon to see for yourself!

All our best,

Julia and the Hotelito Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews