We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beyond expectations and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Beyond expectations and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, simple, and a perfect experience. The luxury cabana is every luxury you need situated in the perfect natural setting. The staff really make it, though. They had great recommendations, were fun to talk to, and came through for everything that I had foolishly forgotten. You can hear the waves all night, have a protected beach cove, and of all the hotels we visited in Tulum we loved this the most. I have never considered a destination wedding...until now.

Room Tip: Luxury Cabana, for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    107
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
164
435
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

El Pez at Turtle Cove was an unbelievable experience. The dining room is open air and from our table we watched the ocean waves crash upon the rocks. The food was excellent and the service absolutely top notch. Our cabana had a king size bed and two twin beds for our boys. The front porch had a queen size lounger upon which you could lay and read and relax just taking in the ocean. Our room was clean and fresh and made up like new every day. We felt very safe. The pool is in a beautiful surrounding with a cute iguana who lives in the rocks nearby. We were there during turtle season and it was truly a life experience. The biologist on site talked us through everything to know about turtles and we saw two mama turtles lay eggs. Tulum has so many things to do that are within easy driving distance of the hotel. El Pez is eco friendly and that is really important to me that they are protecting our earth's resources. We will be going right back for another stay.

Room Tip: There is a wonderful beach house for rent, but the cabana room that we were in was absolutely fantas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriAdams2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 5 nights at El Pez. What a sweet little place and location! After reviewing many of the hotels in Tulum we went with El Pez and we weren't disappointed. They really know how to make you feel comfortable. From the moment you walk in all the way to your final exit you feel at ease. The rooms are very sweet and colorful and also very CLEAN!!! We stayed in an upstairs cabana which I highly recommend. The ocean breeze kept things cool and just being able to hear it was incredible. All the staff is super welcoming and friendly from Iris and Andrea who run the front, to the wonderful restaurant servers and the housekeepers. They'll even run a coffee or tea basket to your doorstep if you are an early riser.
We really couldn't have wanted for anything more while we were at ElPez and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslietsmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Leslie,

Good to hear from you! We enjoyed having you at the hotel during your anniversary! On behalve of our staff we would like to thank you for your review. Satisfying our guests is our main purpose here in the hotel and we are happy to hear that we succeeded.

You are a lovely couple and we are looking forward meeting you soon again at El Pez.

Sunny Wishes from Tulum

Iris & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We originally had reservations for a beach front cabana at La Zebra down the Sian Kaan Road but due to a large wedding party we were asked if we would like to move to El Pez their beautiful sister property further up the Road near Zamas. We gladly accepted since we did not want to be around the wedding group. We still got towels and were allowed use of the beach beds for the day at La Zebra. We love that stretch of beach. We had mojito’s and lunch at La Zebra and checked-in at El Pez later that afternoon. There was a bit of confusion with our changed reservation and the computer was down at the check-in desk but they were kind and sorted things out while we got to enjoy our welcome drink. The Concierge Lady is very sweet and so is everyone else here. Nice waiters etc. Due to the mix up we ended up getting one of their best ocean front suites on the second floor with Palapa Roof and large deck with lounge bed. The view was really nice! Actually all rooms we saw had nice large decks with very nice wooden patio furniture. Downstairs is not very private. We had Suite #12 and loved it. We left our curtains and windows open falling asleep with the stars and the sound of the waves was wonderful. The suite was totally our style. Rustic with colorful Mexican Flair but also modern and felt luxurious. Very, very clean. Nice soft towels and comfortable king bed. There is no power down at this part of Tulum Beach so everything runs on generators. We like this because it adds to the away from it all feel. No TVs, no phones, no humming AC. But enough electrical power from generators for lights and fans (you don’t hear the generator).The bed was surrounded by mosquito netting and we had 2 fans in the suite which kept it very comfortable together with the ocean breezes. We did not get to hot at night. There was a Thunderstorm during the night to add to the romantic ambiance. The bathroom was very nice with large shower, rain showerhead, lots of hot water, good water pressure and very nice bath products (shower lotion, shampoo, and conditioner). Smells nice. The restaurant on the property is beautiful under a large Palapa roof and is specializing in Seafood. We had free continental breakfast included which was very good. In-house roasted Granola, Yogurt, Fruit Plate, fresh juice, coffee, tea and fresh baguette bread with jam and butter. Perfect! The coastline here is very pretty with rock outcroppings etc. Not the best for swimming and the small resort pool is cute but did not look clean and well cared for. It is the part of Tulum beach closest to the road leading towards the Sian Kaan Biosphere and a very public beach area. You can hear traffic and get lights from cars all day and into the evening. At night it was quiet and peaceful. There are many people around fishing and hanging out right in front of the resort until into the evening. Not bad folks and we felt secure since there is a security guard on site and the cabana has good locks and a safe in the suite. But we prefer locations that are a bit more secluded and away from things when we are staying in the Tulum area. We got a very good fall special rate online which I booked about 7 month in advance but they showed us their regular room rates and they are very high $300+ for the suite we had. To high! We loved our stay at El Pez and the Suites are really beautiful and romantic. Overall we did very much enjoy our stay here.

Room Tip: Suite #12 was fantastic with a nice breeze all night and beautiful views. The suites downstairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed 4 nights , end of Aug. , at El Pez in an upstairs cabana...great room, wonderful balcony overlooking Turtle Cove...I would recommend upper floor, as your view of the sunrise is spectacular...and breezy...We slept with the doors open to catch the breeze...very comfortable , even in August. The staff was super , accommodating, knowledgable and very friendly. Speak with them right when you arrive about their suggestions as to what to do, companies that are reputable and especially if you want to explore Sian Kaan at all, which is right next door !! They are full of good ideas and helpful suggestions of the local scene. The food was delicious and prepared well, and couldn't find a nicer view anywhere! The beach was always raked and very clean. They prepared b'fast to go for us on the days that we needed to leave early , which was very much appreciated. It is walking distance to the quiet little strip of other great restaurants , so very well placed, I would stay here again. Thanks for truly living up to the promise!

Room Tip: all the beaches are open to both the guests as well as the local people, which is a wonderful thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griffincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Joseph,

Thank you for your honest review! We are proud to hear that we lived up to our promises which of course is our main focus.
When returning back to this wonderful town Tulum, the doors at El Pez are always open for you.

Much Love

Pez team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our family had a great time staying here in early/mid August. It's hard to imagine how it could have gone better.

The rooms: the four of us stayed in one room that practically sat atop the cove. For a family of inlanders it was a treat to fall asleep to the sounds of the sea and their accompanying breezes that waft in to keep things cool. A comfy king bed made it that much easier to doze off. Waking up to this and the basket of coffee outside our door each morning made the scene perfect.

The location: we chose El Pez specifically for its location. Turtle Cove is a small cove with lots of exploring opportunities: the outcrops serve as natural breakers from the sea and an obvious place to explore tide pools and sea life -- we saw sardines, crabs, eels and barracudas, down below. Pelicans up above and lots of soon-to-hatch turtles down in the sand, apparently. Be aware that this is not the ideal wave-catching swimming beach you might expect in the area, but those beaches are just steps away. We loved having options. Bonus: the swimming pool in back and the occasional appearance of our friend Rico the iguana.

The service: many of these reviews mention the friendliness and attentiveness of Iris, Mateo and Andrea. Yep, these guys get it right. We didn't do a whole lot of itinerary planning because we knew we could count on them anytime to be our friendly fixers -- lining up trips to cenotes or the ruins, tour guides, taxis and great restaurants nearby and in town. Super friendly and very attentive. And the waitstaff deserves a big nod, too.

We had a delightful time and I can't imagine how it could have been better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Noel,

We are very pleased to hear that you, Stacia, Dex & Bibi had a good time with us here at El Pez.
Our rooms are indeed so close to the ocean that falling asleep to the sound of the waves becomes a truly unforgettable experience. For the early birds, we always offer a nice coffee and tea to wake up and watch the beautiful sunset.

Like stated in previous comments, we are very happy to be situated in Turtle cove where every year new turtle lives are born. According to professionals, the turtles that hatch from their eggs and the ones that do survive in the great wild world in the ocean, come back after 15 years to the same beach where they were born to lay their eggs. For all of us this is an amazing unforgettable experience.

Also we would like to thank you for your nice words about our staff. We are working with a great team of employees who come to work every day with a great smile. Thank you.

Tulum and its surroundings offer many beautiful natural spots which we are more than happy to share with our guests!

We all hope to welcome such a great family again at Hotel El Pez.

Iris, Mateo & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at El Pez back in July for 5 days for our honeymoon and it was awesome! We read almost all of the previous reviews before deciding to go here, and we were not disappointed! The staff was more than accommodating and the room was gorgeous. We were in the pink cabana on the end (#12) which had great ocean breezes and ocean views.

The food at El Pez was also AWESOME. We got the "small" ceviche, which was a mounding plate of fresh seafood, avocado, and homemade chips. Soooo good (we're still craving it all the way from Colorado!). The staff also recommending a bunch of delicious restaurants to go to, such as Mateo's (we went there twice for authentic mexican food and awesome drinks), Posada margherita (italian food right on the beach with candle-lighting) and El Mezzannine for some Thai food (up on a cliff overlooking the ocean, and they had live Cuban music while we were there!)

Overall, we are so glad we chose to go here for our honeymoon - it was by far the most relaxing vacation both of us have ever been on! If you're looking for someplace to go that is low key, beautiful, and has awesome food and staff, this is the place to go!! Thanks El Pez for making our honeymoon awesome!

Room Tip: Upper level cabanas get better ocean breezes! =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Hanna and Hayden,

Good to hear from you! We appreciate your kind words about the hotel and we definitely shared them with our staff members.
You are a great couple and we loved seeing you both enjoying the hotel, Tulum and its beautiful surroundings.

We are working very hard on our new food and beverage menu for the opening of the restaurant ´Altamar¨ @ Pez . It makes us extra proud to read that we succeeded your food and beverage needs.

Thank you again for your nice review, and if you ever decide to come visit the beautiful area of Tulum again, you know where to find us and we will be more than happy to accommodate you!

Much Love,

El Pez team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#15 of 87 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing