We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Vacation”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at El Pez back in July for 5 days for our honeymoon and it was awesome! We read almost all of the previous reviews before deciding to go here, and we were not disappointed! The staff was more than accommodating and the room was gorgeous. We were in the pink cabana on the end (#12) which had great ocean breezes and ocean views.

The food at El Pez was also AWESOME. We got the "small" ceviche, which was a mounding plate of fresh seafood, avocado, and homemade chips. Soooo good (we're still craving it all the way from Colorado!). The staff also recommending a bunch of delicious restaurants to go to, such as Mateo's (we went there twice for authentic mexican food and awesome drinks), Posada margherita (italian food right on the beach with candle-lighting) and El Mezzannine for some Thai food (up on a cliff overlooking the ocean, and they had live Cuban music while we were there!)

Overall, we are so glad we chose to go here for our honeymoon - it was by far the most relaxing vacation both of us have ever been on! If you're looking for someplace to go that is low key, beautiful, and has awesome food and staff, this is the place to go!! Thanks El Pez for making our honeymoon awesome!

Room Tip: Upper level cabanas get better ocean breezes! =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Hanna and Hayden,

Good to hear from you! We appreciate your kind words about the hotel and we definitely shared them with our staff members.
You are a great couple and we loved seeing you both enjoying the hotel, Tulum and its beautiful surroundings.

We are working very hard on our new food and beverage menu for the opening of the restaurant ´Altamar¨ @ Pez . It makes us extra proud to read that we succeeded your food and beverage needs.

Thank you again for your nice review, and if you ever decide to come visit the beautiful area of Tulum again, you know where to find us and we will be more than happy to accommodate you!

Much Love,

El Pez team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    117
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
183
487
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day vacation with 20 of our friends at the El Pez Beach House and the cabanas next door. We couldn't have had a more perfect stay. The Beach House was beautiful and each bedroom had its own private entrance and bathroom so it felt like everyone had their own hotel room (great for kids). We had several friends stay next door at the cabanas so it was really nice to have the main room of the house as a common meeting place. We dined outside at our private outdoor dining table each night and were treated to the most incredible dinners by private chef Alejandro Guevara (recommended to me by the hotel). Everyone in our group was a foodie and everyone raved about his cuisine. He also made us pitcher after pitcher of the most delicious margaritas. We will use Alejandro every time we come back.

As everyone has previously stated, the service was impeccable.Our only complaint was the rain entered one of the rooms on the second floor of the beach house so hopefully they'll sort out that issue soon. We had six 3 and 5 year olds with us and they swam in the pool every day as well as played in the water right in front of our house. It was an easy trip for them and they had a blast. We even used babysitters one day (Lika and Paula) that the hotel arranged and they were fabulous.

Thank you El Pez for such a perfect vacation. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Jodi,

It was a true pleasure having such a nice and fun group such as yours´. We are very thankful that that you decided to host Stuart´s 50th birthday with us at the Beach House.

We are sad to hear about the rain and we fixed the problem by installing outside curtains for when it rains. These curtains will block the rain and keep the rooms rain-free. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate this a lot because this makes us improve as a hotel.

Your nice comments regarding the service we have shared with our staff, thank you!
Hope to welcome you, your family and friends again at the hotel and our beach house!

Sunny Greetings,


Iris, Andrea & Mateo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

El Pez is a stunning hotel situated directly on the beach in Tulum and offers an alternative to the 'rustique-chic' personalities of other Tulum beach hotels. While remaining completely understated and in true keeping with the low-key and relaxed vibe all along the beach, all the creature comforts are there- a spacious and clean shower area with excellent lighting, slatted windows in perfect spots to let the beach breeze in, the most AMAZING bed in the world (seriously, a contender), fresh linens, coffee waiting for you in the morning, space and light.

The best part about the room is the morning. You can't possibly imagine a more beautiful setting to wake up in - the sunrise is spectacular, and you can walk a few steps out on your patio and see nothing but sun, sea, underlined with a sandy cove, completely tranquil. Other hotels on Tulum Beach (we've stayed at two others) are more congested by jungle or other hotels on either sides, but El Pez stands alone, and you really sense this when you wake up, walk out to view the sea (or stay in bed and admire it from a horizontal position) and need to pinch yourself!

Above and beyond the hotel rooms, however, the service provided is the true star of the show. The entire équipe at El Pez is incredible - Iris and Matteo at reception were so friendly and helpful and take a real interest in your well-being. The restaurant is fantastic, with excellent service and I enthusiastically recommend the beet salad. I understand they are changing the dinner menu in September, so the lucky ones that are heading here soon will be completely spoiled by the chef, Eric.

Tulum beach has a hotel for everyone depending on what level of comfort or service you are after, but I can safely say that El Pez hits the high note in all areas, and I am DEFINITELY going back. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JuliaJaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Julia,

That was a really nice and detailed review about your stay with us, thank you so much!
We loved to read how much you appreciated all the little details that do set Pez apart from other hotels in the area.

We completely agree with you on the stunning sunsets that the hotel offers to our guests. This makes waking up on the beach a unforgettable experience!

You are indeed correct on the opening of our new restaurant: ´Altamar´. The famous Chefs Paul and Eric have put their heads together to create the perfect ´Latin Fushion´ menu that guests are looking for during their beach holiday in Tulum.
We are looking forward for the opening in September. Make sure you come and visit the restaurant the next time when you are in Tulum!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!

Sunny Greetings from Tulum,

Iris, Mateo & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at three different places whilst we were in Tulum and El Pez was by far the most amazing out of all of them. We were lucky enough to stay at the beach house which comes with a shared kitchen and common room. The kitchen is very well wuqipped so you can make your own food if you wish. The room itself was beautiful and well kept and kept impeccably clean every day. It is directly on the beach and had a little turtle nest right by the door step. The staff are what makes this place quite a standout. Matteo, Andrea and Iris took very good care of us, as did all of the restaurant staff. We got stuck there in a 2 day storm that didn't allow us to do anything and the staff attended to us in the beach house and brought us lunch and breakfast. We wanted to head to the Tulum ruins early and Matteo arranged for us to have our breakfast ready and packed in the fridge so we could help ourselves before the staff arrive to serve breakfast. It's little touches like that which makes this place feel like a 5 star experience. They also have bikes that you can use for free. It was truly a fantastic stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Anja,

Thank you so much for the nice and positive comments on our hotel.
We had a good time with you and your friends at our hotel and we appreciate it a lot that you all are took the time and effort to write such a nice review!

We are all really happy to work for such a beautiful company such as Hotel El Pez.
Day-in day-out we are meeting new, special and happy guests such as yourself. This makes working at Hotel El Pez a lot of fun!

Hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Warm Wishes from Tulum,

Iris, Mateo and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tulum is amazing, in general. At El Pez, the beach out the front is not the best, but it's literally a 2 minute walk around to get some amazing water and beaches! What makes El Pez great is that the room's are awesome, the staff were incredible (no jokes - they were so helpful with everything!!) and the restaurant is delicious! And when its turtle season, you might be able to see some baby turtles in the evening if you're lucky!

Room Tip: Try a luxury cabana on the top for a little bit more sea breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_E_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Erin,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your stay with us at El Pez.
We enjoyed having you and your friends with us! The time of year in which you were here is perfect for spotting turltes laying their eggs or hatching from their eggs.
Only a few meters away from the hotel makes the turtle process an unforgettable experience! We are happy to be able to share these special moments with our guests!

Thank you again and hasta pronto!

El pez team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We came to Tulum A few days ago without booking anything and happened to walk in to El Pez. We found Matteo at reception who was incredibly lovely. He showed us the incredible beach house they have as part of the hotel. There are four rooms and the central living area and kitchen are shared. It looks and feels brand new and has a very chic beach house feel. At night you can hear the waves crashing outside your windows as the rooms are on the beach. The place is modern and very chic. The staff are incredibly lovely and especially Matteo bent over backwards for us. We had 2 days of tropical thunderstorms at which point the staff came to our living area and brought us meals even though it was pouring outside. Nothing was ever too much trouble. One thing I will say is if you want to swim lots, you may have to take the free of charge bikes they provide as part of the beach house and ride a little further as its rocky right outside the hotel. On the plus side hundreds of turtles nest at this beach, so if you're a turtle lover, you might get lucky and witness them laying eggs or hatching right outside your door. I absolutely loved our stay here. I had one of the best nights sleep in the super comfortable beds. And the food from e restaurant was really delicious too. A perfect spot for a honeymoon too. I'd come here again without hesitation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Sandy,

Thank you so much for your awesome review on our Beach House!
It makes us happy to read that even tough it was pouring outside you, Anya and Sandra enjoyed your stay with us.

Again yesterday we had a turtle laying her eggs in front of the beach house and only a few meters away small turtles were hatching from their eggs. We are super happy to share these special moments with our guests so close to the hotel.

We definitely hope to welcome you again soon at the hotel or beach house. Enjoy all the adventures during your travels down to South-America.

Sunny Greetings from Pez,

Iris, Mateo & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My son and I stayed at El Pez for 5 nights in mid August, and it was fantastico. Our room was gorgeous and the view spectacular. The beds were blissfully comfortable, and each night we fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves, with the ocean breeze cooling our skin. The next morning we awoke to find coffee and juice outside our door, and we drank it on our porch, watching the pelicans dive for their breakfast.

The staff was incredible--so warm and kind and accommodating. Honestly, if I could afford to do so, I'd just move right in and stay for good. In reality, our stay was a huge splurge for me, but I don't regret a peso spent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharineHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Katharine,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy to read your comment. It was a real pleasure having you and Luca with us here at El Pez.
Waking up so close to the beach of Tulum is a true dream come true and we are happy you share the same opinión with us.

We truly hope to welcome you again in the future at the hotel!

Iris, Mateo and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 95 in Tulum
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing