We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff were amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Staff were amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tulum is amazing, in general. At El Pez, the beach out the front is not the best, but it's literally a 2 minute walk around to get some amazing water and beaches! What makes El Pez great is that the room's are awesome, the staff were incredible (no jokes - they were so helpful with everything!!) and the restaurant is delicious! And when its turtle season, you might be able to see some baby turtles in the evening if you're lucky!

Room Tip: Try a luxury cabana on the top for a little bit more sea breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_E_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Erin,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your stay with us at El Pez.
We enjoyed having you and your friends with us! The time of year in which you were here is perfect for spotting turltes laying their eggs or hatching from their eggs.
Only a few meters away from the hotel makes the turtle process an unforgettable experience! We are happy to be able to share these special moments with our guests!

Thank you again and hasta pronto!

El pez team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    115
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
182
483
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We came to Tulum A few days ago without booking anything and happened to walk in to El Pez. We found Matteo at reception who was incredibly lovely. He showed us the incredible beach house they have as part of the hotel. There are four rooms and the central living area and kitchen are shared. It looks and feels brand new and has a very chic beach house feel. At night you can hear the waves crashing outside your windows as the rooms are on the beach. The place is modern and very chic. The staff are incredibly lovely and especially Matteo bent over backwards for us. We had 2 days of tropical thunderstorms at which point the staff came to our living area and brought us meals even though it was pouring outside. Nothing was ever too much trouble. One thing I will say is if you want to swim lots, you may have to take the free of charge bikes they provide as part of the beach house and ride a little further as its rocky right outside the hotel. On the plus side hundreds of turtles nest at this beach, so if you're a turtle lover, you might get lucky and witness them laying eggs or hatching right outside your door. I absolutely loved our stay here. I had one of the best nights sleep in the super comfortable beds. And the food from e restaurant was really delicious too. A perfect spot for a honeymoon too. I'd come here again without hesitation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hi Sandy,

Thank you so much for your awesome review on our Beach House!
It makes us happy to read that even tough it was pouring outside you, Anya and Sandra enjoyed your stay with us.

Again yesterday we had a turtle laying her eggs in front of the beach house and only a few meters away small turtles were hatching from their eggs. We are super happy to share these special moments with our guests so close to the hotel.

We definitely hope to welcome you again soon at the hotel or beach house. Enjoy all the adventures during your travels down to South-America.

Sunny Greetings from Pez,

Iris, Mateo & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My son and I stayed at El Pez for 5 nights in mid August, and it was fantastico. Our room was gorgeous and the view spectacular. The beds were blissfully comfortable, and each night we fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves, with the ocean breeze cooling our skin. The next morning we awoke to find coffee and juice outside our door, and we drank it on our porch, watching the pelicans dive for their breakfast.

The staff was incredible--so warm and kind and accommodating. Honestly, if I could afford to do so, I'd just move right in and stay for good. In reality, our stay was a huge splurge for me, but I don't regret a peso spent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharineHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hi Katharine,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very happy to read your comment. It was a real pleasure having you and Luca with us here at El Pez.
Waking up so close to the beach of Tulum is a true dream come true and we are happy you share the same opinión with us.

We truly hope to welcome you again in the future at the hotel!

Iris, Mateo and Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a really laid back, barefoot kind of hotel. Very relaxed and shabby chic vibe including a nice restaurant and bar. Full of really welcoming staff who make sure your stay is great and everything is taken care of. Beach isn't a picture postcard as others in the area, but was lovely and quiet, had rocks for exploring and if you time your trip well, lots of turtles. It's not a cheap place to stay, but going to sleep with the sea waves outside and waking up to an amazing view made it all worthwhile. Also really liked the pool when we got fed up of the beach - was deep enough for jumping and pottering about at the end of the day. Only downside and it is pretty minor (!) would be the shower head. This was basically a tap. Perfect for couples and families who want a quiet couple of days relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Lewis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear E.Lewis,

Thank you for taking your team to write a review on our hotel.
We have taken your comment regarding the shower head very serious. This week we are changing all of them for new and better ones. Thank you for helping us improve!

We loved having you at the hotel and we hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Much Love,

Team El Pez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our party of 8 stayed at the beach house, it was great! Nice comfortable house, nice quiet beach, the ocean front the hotel/house it's not the best to swim due to rocks , but you can do a 4 minute walk to a near place where you can swim.
The house it's a great option if you like to cook, or just hang out in a more private area.
Overall a very pleasant experience, great food and the best Staff: Mateo, Iris, and Andrea, went out of their way to aid us in everything we needed, good job!

Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Mauricio,

Great to read your comments on our beach house! Thank you so much, we will definitely share your opinión with our staff! We recently opened the doors of the Beach House and up until now all our guests are really enthusiastic. Every feedback on the beach house is more than welcome and it makes us happy to read that you enjoyed the Beach House.

Located literally 15 meters away from the ocean, the morning and evenings give you beautiful sunrise/sunset day in day out!

Once again we enjoyed having your group of friends with us, and thank you for the great barracuda, we enjoyed it;)

Warm Wishes,

Iris and the pez team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spend 3 days at El Pez, definitely not time enough to enjoy this place. Everything was beautiful and relaxing: rooms, lobby, beach. The beach in front of the hotel is not the best in the area to swim, but you can see turtles and lots of pelicans, also you just need to walk 5 minutes to other beach.
All the hotel staff were really nice and helpful. Do not hesitate in asking them for advice (about the best cenotes in the area, restaurants, bike renting and other activities).
The room was so clean and we always had a few complimentary bottles of water. We took a Sea Front King room and were really happy with it's size and specially with the terrace. I was just as it looked on the pics. Also, it was quiet and safe since there is a security stop just in front of the hotel.
The food was delicious, don't miss the fish tacos!.The breakfast was included and it was also really good, with fresh fruit, juices, etc.

Room Tip: Sea front king room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Elisa,

Thank you for you great review on your stay with us at El Pez.
Every day all our employees come to work with a great smile attending our guests with lots of joy and excitement. We are happy that you share this opinión with us!

We are very proud to have such a beautiful private spot in the middle of Turtle Cove. Away from the other hotels all our guests have the change to relax and be home away from home.

Also your comments regarding the activities to do here in the area are completely true. Tulum has a great amount of activities to offer varying from; snorkeling, diving, kayaking, kite-surfing, shopping, sun tanning, yoga etc, etc.
We would like to thank you again for your stay with us, and your great comments on our hotel and restaurant.

Hope to welcome you again soon at El Pez.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family spent a week at El Pez and we can't recommend it highly enough. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with warmth and amazing hospitality. Entering the lobby (the grand palapa), felt like stepping into another world. There is a casual elegance to the place. The staff were without exception polite and helpful; the rooms clean and tasteful, the location great (it is not on the swim beach, but the view of the rock formations from your room is an amazing way to wake up). As others have mentioned, Mateo and Andrea are simply the best. And while our kids (ages 9 & 11) were the only children at the hotel, they absolutely loved it, too; the staff was so kind to them throughout our stay. So much better than any big resort for our family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Lynn, Doug, Luke and Graham,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
It was really nice having a great family with us at Hotel Pez. We enjoyed your energetic vibe, doing natural activites such as: visiting the beautiful cenotes that the Tulum área offers, taking tours to the jungle and much more.

We all hope to welcome you again soon!
Say hi to the entire family,

Much Love,

El Pez team (Mateo and Andrea)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 93 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#12 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing