We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart and peaceful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The good:
* Stylish rooms with lovely big beds.
* Stylish hotel
* Very good food in the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent, especially the pancakes.
* Peaceful hotel on the beach. It's relaxing to fall asleep to crashing waves.
* Very friendly (cute) and helpful staff
* Lots of free water in rooms, and cute beach kit provided each day.

The bad:
* Strange open plan bathroom not separated very well from bedroom. I like my toilet to close off from where I sleep.
* No television. This is a design decision to focus the guests' attention on relaxing and their surrounds. Having said that, it's the guests' choice what they want to do in their free time. We had some wet days where some television might have passed the time.
* Wifi was sometimes unreliable, in particular when it was raining. I assume they use satellite internet.
* The adjacent beach is not perfect. It's better to drive further north to some of the beautiful beaches.
* We were interrupted by the cleaner on several days. I hate this. I wish they had "do not disturb" signs for the doors. Then again I suppose they only have the cleaner around for a few hours a day.

Conclusion:
In spite of all the 5 star reviews I'm afraid I don't think this is a 5 star hotel. Having said that, I think 4 stars is very good, and this is a very good hotel. The staff are really very helpful. The location is amazing, right on the beach. I love hearing the crashing waves. I think it is a bit expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 924 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in the King Room in the Beach House and it was just perfect. Everything that all the other reviews have said. This is a perfect location for those who want tranquillity and privacy as the Cove itself makes it feel like you own intimate stretch of beach. (not great for swimming as very rocky). Great Cerviche and Guacamole served with a smile on the beach. No air conditioning other than leaving the doors and windows open and listening to the sound of the waves, which I loved. And not a lot of wardrobe space so I was living out of my suitcase but that did not spoil my pleasure.
I would not call this place a "hotel" in the traditional use of that word. It is more like a large guest house and that makes it special. If anyone wanted to have the perfect private wedding you could rent out the entire facility (if you could afford it) and have a truly great time with all your guests. I can find no real negatives with the hotel or with Tulum and would highly recommend El Pez to couples especially.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on the ground floor (rather than 1st floor) as they lead straight onto the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhan999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Siobhan,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We were happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying at the Beach House-it really is a special addition to the Pez property! We hope you are able to return & enjoy our delicious ceviche & guacamole again soon!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We shared the Beach House with other unknown guests and it exceeded my expectations. The bedroom was spacious, very clean and bright, and it was wonderful to have our own private patio area and large lounge chair. The hotel is right on the beach. There are palm trees on the beach and a selection of hammocks there as well. It is idyllic. Pelicans fishing is a joy to watch. Julia and Matteo greeted us warmly and gave us great service, and Raoul was always at hand with a smile and ready to help. If you seriously want to get away from it all, relax, enjoy the sun or the shade, eat fabulous food - I loved the guacamole especially, but all of the food was delicious and you want peace and quiet, this is the place. The price included breakfast, and the breakfasts were delicious. It is a few miles outside Tulum, and Tulum is a lovely town to visit. Nice restaurants there too. I would like to stay in El Pez again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi Margaret!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We were so happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying at the new El Pez Beach House! We all really appreciate your recognition of the staff. We hope you are able to return and stay with us again soon!

All our best,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've been to a few islands in the carribbean and none of them compared to my trip in Tulum. I went with my mother (it was a birthday gift from her) and we had an absolute blast. El Pez was absolutely beautiful! The staff ALWAYS went the extra mile to make sure you were satisfied. Especially Mateo and Julia. They both were so friendly and helpful, always giving us advice on activities to do, the right restaurants to go to, etc etc. The food was great, I know a lot of times you have to worry about getting sick in a foreign country, but that was no problem with El Pez. The room itself was fantastic, we stayed in a cabana. The maids were quick and very thorough. I even ended up sleeping on the large lounge chair on the patio one night (wearing misquito spray of course). The beach was safe, I was able to walk on the beach at night with a flashlight Julia provided me and had no problem. There was a good police presence in the area as well. If you want to go somewhere you can REALLY relax and "get away" then Tulum is your destination and i highly recommend staying at El Pez. I cannot express enough how great the service was and how beautiful my whole experience there was. It was a trip I will never forget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkthreEVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Eva!

Mateo & I were so excited to read your review! Thank you so much girl for the awesome shout out! You & your mom were so sweet. It was definitely our pleasure to chat with you both & give advice on all Tulum has to offer! We really hope to see you both again soon!

Much love,

Julia

P.S. Michael is sorry he didn't meet you & sends his regards from Nicaragua! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We chose El Pez for the last few nights of our month long honeymoon, whilst we stayed in Tulum for a few days, and what a brilliant choice it turned out to be- the highlight of our honeymoon. Great breakfast, great views, attentive staff- particularly Mateo and Raoul. Brilliant cocktails (particularly the cocojitos), and nothing is ever too much trouble. Also walking distance to good restaurants and other bars. Staff are incredibly helpful and Chilled bottle of moet awaits honeymooners. I would highly recommend El Pez and would choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oznina_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing El Pez as the finale to your honeymoon! We always enjoy being able to share special milestones like that with our guests. Mateo & Raul want to thank you for your special mention of them & their exceptional service! It is our pleasure to assist our guests in making memories of a lifetime. We hope you are able to come back & celebrate many anniversaries to come!

Warm Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from another perfect stay at El Pez...our third in a row. We stayed there two years ago during our wedding week, with our entire wedding party and honeymoon and then again last year for our 1 year anniversary. This second year anniversary trip was just as wonderful as both previous trips...if not better!

The rooms continue to be spotless and well appointed. We love that each room has a wonderfully relaxing sunbed on the deck for those hours during the day where it's too hot to be in the strong Mexico sun. The food and drinks are wonderful. We particularly loved their guacamole and pina coladas. And their breaksfasts (included in the price of the room) are unmatched....seriously the best we've ever had on vacation. There is a variety of choices everyday, ranging from pancakes, to french toast to eggs any style (huevos rancheros was our favorite) and they go out of their way to make sure you're happy with whatever you choose.

We ended up staying an extra night (it's just too hard to leave) and were moved over to their new beach house - El Pez Beach House - right next to the main Pez. I didn't think it could get any better, but wow, they did an amazing job with this place. There is a great common space for people to gather, eat, drink and generally hang out. And the rooms are incredible...really big, really nicely decorated and super comfortable...not to mention right on the beach. It doesn't get any better. The beach house would be the PERFECT spot to get a group of friends together, rent out the whole place, and enjoy wonderful Tulum for a fun vacation.

A special mention of Pez managers Michael and Julia. They make this place what it is. They are friendly, welcoming, conscientious of the environment and resource issues in Tulum and make El Pez feel like a warm and welcoming Bed and Breakfast, not a hotel. It's that personal care to details and guests that make this place truly unique.

We can't wait to go back next year (or maybe sooner!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tay0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Hi Taylor!

We were so thrilled to have you & Norm stay with us again! It's always been such a pleasure to have you stay with us & it's wonderful to be a part of your anniversary tradition! It was perfect that you got to stay in the Beach House this time too, so next time you can get your friends/families together to come down and join you (we hope)! Our entire staff has really enjoyed getting to know you both & we are really looking forward to your next visit! :)

Much love,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ended up at El Pez by accident, having asked to be moved from The Mezzanine and we were immediately delighted and sure we had come home. We were in the beach house and it was great.

Things you might love:
Right on the beach
Pelicans on a large rock just 100 feet away
Great breakfast
Great staff
Great room

Things you might love (although we were fine)
You cannot swim in this beach - rocky
You can hear traffic noise - next to a speed bump so you can hear large engines setting off

But all in all it was great and we're going back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, General Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

We were happy to be able to have you stay with us. Thank you for your succint review! We are sure your fellow travelers will appreciate the pros and cons broken down and to the point. We were happy to see that you enjoyed your room in our new Beach House. We hope you are able to return to Tulum and see us again sometime!

Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
297 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#13 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $300 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing