We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$359
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
$561
$510
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$343
$259
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$264
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
$531
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$327
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$641
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zamas(Tulum)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveler rating
839
129
36
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
129
36
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle covebeach houseluxury cabanaevery morningjuan carlosgranolacabana roomconcierge staffwatching the sunrisefresh fruitla zebraour honeymoonsister propertyyour doorstepincluded breakfastsound of the wavesbeach front
Filter
Updating list...
746 - 751 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

El Pez is a totally charming small hotel made extra special by the people who run it and work there. Our ocean front room was attractive and clean, with ample space to be outside on our balcony. Thoughtful details like the delivery of coffee and tea ( and in my case the special request of a diet coke!) really communicated the interest the staff has in making their guests feel comfortable.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful, but Bruno in the dining room, Wilberth at the bar, and Derek at the concierge desk made special efforts on our behalf. Our stay was cut short by one day due to a missed flight, Derek helped us plan a fabulous and full day, arranging our rental car, recommending a great lunch spot, and sending us off to two ruins, a lovely Mexican town, and two terrific cenotes.

The food is more than fine, and it is clear the management hopes to continue to improve their restaurant experience. We went to other restaurants, and none had the beautful setting that El Pez does. One night they had a very talented singer singing in their dining room.

It is somewhat dissapointing to have to walk a bit to swim in the beautiful Tulum water, but avid swimmers will not find the 5 minute walk too much, and many will be happy to lounge on the beach and watch the birds soar and glide over this pretty piece of water.

We recommend El Pez highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Sandra,

Thank you for your recommendation of Pez! You are correct that the people on our team are what really make it a special place. Bruno, Wilberth & Derick especially appreciate your recognition of them! We hope that you are able to return to Tulum & visit us again one day.

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked two nights at El Pez because their sister hotel La Zebra was not available the first two nights of our stay and we were wanting the sandy beach. Immediately on driving up to El Pez and receiving a warm greeting from Julia & Michael and the fabulous staff, not to mention the complimentary cocktail we knew we had found paradise! Our top floor ocean-front room was worth the higher price. Where else can you be on the beach with the ocean so close , leave your doors to the porch open to hear the ocean breeze and even stay in bed to watch the sunrise. Coffee or tea was placed outside our room at 6:30, and the delicious breakfast was at 8. We loved the ceviche and never got bored with the menu. We went to La Zebra which is located in an area where the beach is sandy and certain nights have "more action". While it has its own charm, we were not as thrilled with the room near the street that was supposed to have a beach view and were able to get the last remaining room at El Pez beach house for all but the last night. Michael and Dez were able to arrange tours to the biosphere and snorkeling that fit our special requests and give recommendations for restaurants- be sure to eat at their sister hotel the Mezzanine. We loved El Pez so much we will be back this fall. We found we liked the location, climbing on the rocks, watching the bird life, it's only a short walk to the sandy beach ,even the small area where there is seaweed is a haven to sandpipers! My overall advise is if your goal is to get somewhat off the grid, unplug from technology, experience another culture, and relax, then ignore any minor inconveniences and you will truly be in paradise.

Room Tip: The ocean front cabanas whether top or bottom are the best. The beach house has extra amenities. The less expensive rooms are in the main building. Remember there is a definite difference between ocean view versus ocean front and I think one room in the main building is closer to the street.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusangVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Hi Susan!

We were so thrilled you & Brooke were able to extend your stay with us! I think you summed up the special beauty of El Pez perfectly when you said, "Where else can you be on the beach with the ocean so close , leave your doors to the porch open to hear the ocean breeze and even stay in bed to watch the sunrise." Thank you so much for appreciating everything that makes Pez special. There are many beautiful beaches and interesting places to stay in Tulum, so I hope your comments help steer the right people our way, who will also appreciate all we have to offer. We are all looking forward to your return in the fall! Until then, take care!

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at El Pez was more than we would would have ever hoped for. We have travelled throughout Mexico and the Caribbean but was so surprised by the charm of Tulum. We immediately felt welcomed by all of the staff. The room and view was beautiful. The accommodations ( towels, bottled water, housekeeping) were great. The drinks and all of the meals were outstanding and like other reviews the food at El Pez was better than many places in Tulum. The managers and front desk staff were always available for questions and were helpful and informative. They booked private trips for us and gave great recommendations. We loved that El Pez was smaller than the other sister hotels. We actually changed our stay and returned to El Pez when we were supposed to stay at another hotel. We would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Tulum. We just booked our second trip last night and can't wait!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookeVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Hi Brooke!

Thank you so much for your review! We were so glad you were able to return and stay with us longer. It was such a pleasure to have you with us. It was nice to hear that you found our food to be better than many places in Tulum-there is a lot of great competition here in that department! :) We are so happy you already booked your second trip too! Can't wait to see you again!

Take care,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights at El Pez. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were very clean and the location was perfect. We booked a superior room with ocean view and it was beautiful. The sound of the ocean and wind was overwhelming to start with but we finally got used to it. Now if you want privacy in the bathroom, do not go there as everything is opened plan with just a small wall to hide you from the bed.
Our room (number 3) was located right of the bar/restaurant so it was pretty noisy at themes. However we were consequently privileged Anouilh to be able to access wifi from our room, which I do not think the other guests could do.
I terms of food: breakfast is included and very good, fresh juices, fruits, cooked or continental to choose from. However the lunch Ian's diner menu is disappointing. It is very limited and the quality not great. The only ing we enjoyed from it was the salads.

All in all a very good experience but I am not sure I would come back as I like my privacy and good local food!

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Temperlilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for five days in March with my wife. Spent some time researching hotels on the beach and wasn't sure whether El Pez would justify the relatively high cost compared to some other options. Mostly it did.

It is in a beautiful spot with glorious views. The bar/restaurant area is very welcoming and the terrace overlooking pelicans and frigatebirds diving for fish is stunning. Room was well appointed, very comfortable bed, glorious views and a lovely balcony.

Food here is very good - the shrimp ceviche was outstanding, chicken mole excellent, very good fish tacos and lovely drinks too. Breakfast was good - especially the fruit, yoghurt and granola plate.

Front desk staff are excellent - keen to know how things are going, give recommendations and make sure you are looked after.

The reasons for not giving 5 stars are an accumulation of small points - room cleaning was cursory (coffee spill not cleaned up was a clue, sheets not changed in 4 nights though it says that sheets will be changed after 3 nights), wind whistled very loudly through the doors and windows as they don't close fully, had to push some staff to do things not always with success (e.g. ordered early breakfast due to trip pick up at 8.15 and was initially told that breakfast not available until 8am, cleared it with front desk the night before then on the day, cooked breakfast arrived at 8.10am, which doesn't help you relax. Also ordered Happy Hour cocktails but was charged full price as I paid after 6pm! They did reverse this when I pushed back. Cooked breakfast options were ok but well below the standard of all the other food we had here.

This could be an absolute gem and I am sure some people got great service and the 5 star reviews attest to this. In my case there were a few little issues, which could be ironed out with a little more attention to detail by all staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devizes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

We really appreciate you taking time to write a review. We were sorry to hear of some of the small issues you mentioned that impacted your stay. Yours is the first comment we've heard in over a year managing the hotel that the cleaning was anything but meticulous. We have reviewed your comments with our staff to ensure those details are not overlooked in the future. It was nice to hear how much you enjoyed our location and food and that our concierge were very attentive. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you are able to return to Tulum and visit us again.

Take care,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews