We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best spot in Tulum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best spot in Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I, my wife and our three children stayed a week at El Pez and we had a fantastic time, we can't recommend it enough. We loved the view of the sea and the rocks, the nice and tidy rooms, the cozy restaurant, the food and the great staff, I could go on and on. We walked extensively along the beach and also tried lunches and dinners at other hotels, but none - in our view - was as good as El Pez. Simply the best place in Tulum. If we ever go to Tulum again, we'll definitely stay at El Pez!!

Room Tip: There is only twelve rooms and all are good I think, we had one of the larger seasida rooms which pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jupida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. To say that we are the best place in Tulum is such a wonderful compliment! You have a beautiful family and it was definitely our pleasure to have you with us! We hope that you are all able to visit us again soon and bring the entire family with you!

Warm Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    107
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
164
436
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for nine days and really enjoyed our stay. Great location - lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance . Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Clean room. Bathroom a little small but we didn't mind. We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kbrestmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers! We were so happy to hear you found our location to be great and convenient. On behalf of the entire staff, we do hope you are able to stay with us again soon!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the second time that we have been to El Pez in Tulum and we have had another wonderful time! Great fun, incredible service and impeccable staff! Michael & Julia are the hostess' with the most! Lauren is a great new addition to the front desk. Wilber makes drinks in the best of the Mayan style! We will return!
Lisa & John

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi John & Lisa!

We had such a great time with you both again-thank you so much for coming back to see us! Thank you also for taking the time to write another review. We love you guys and so does the staff! We all hope you are able to visit us again soon! If not, we may come your way for a visit.

Take care,

Michael & Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was staying at the El Pez for two nights (originally intended to stay there for seven nights). My room was located at the entrance of the building. Whilst the room and view is very nice, the street is right next to the house and all the cars (which are a lot) are running by this and are quite ennoying. Staff and service are very good at the hotel. The negative is really only the location and the immense traffic which affects the quiteness you expect from such a place.

Room Tip: You should definetely try to get a room that is away from the street. Seaview alone does not make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you found the location noisy. It must be noted that you were here in late December, which is the very highest peak season for Tulum, so there is more traffic on the beach road than normal during that time. As you will find in most reviews, guests find our location nothing more than super tranquil and relaxing. We were happy to hear however, that you found our staff and service to be very good! We hope that you are able to return in off season to enjoy the more tranquil side of Tulum!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

tulum has grown up; which is both good and bad. the good, there are nice places to stay and good restaurants; the bad, it is not the pristine, primitive place it used to be. but it is still lovely.

and staying at el pez contributes. lovely people, service and food; ocean views, and nice vibe. the staff were super helpful and nice.

i recomend highly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabenbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is so nice to hear that staying at El Pez contributes to a lovely time in Tulum! We are glad that you found the staff super helpful and experienced the good vibe of Pez. Thank you for recommending us to your fellow travelers!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012 and loved it! A nice small boutique hotel with a muy tranquillo atmosphere and very friendly staff. Our room (seaview) was lovely. Going to sleep by candle light and to the sound of the waves, waking up seeing the sunrise in the sea just from our bed.. We especially loved the 'beach bag' in our room, a bag with two beachtowels, two magazines and two small bottles of water. We both hope to return to El Pez one day..

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sofie,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your SeaView room & found your time here at El Pez relaxing! We also really hope you both are able to return to Pez one day!

Take care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 7 nights at El Pez in November, while doing a bit of exploration around the Yucatan peninsula.

El Pez proved to be the perfect place for us to stay. We were seeking some quiet time away from work and the set up & staff expertise at El Pez hit just the right spot. A limited number of well-appointed cabanas and rooms provides a very tranquil place to relax and enjoy the stunning view of the private beach. There was never any difficulty in findng a sunbed for the day and the hotel seems purpose-built for people trying to switch off. Quiet, wonderfully unobtrusive service (the staff always seem to be there just when you need them, and are great at reading when to just leave you be).

The rooms are beautifully well appointed ; beautiful furnishings and Molton Brown toiletries. The whole environment is incredibly calm and peaceful, only the sound of the waves outside.

The little things El Pez gets right also make a huge difference ; a thermos full of coffee on your doorstep each morning, the BEST breakfast which is tailored as you wish, bike hire and even recommendations of other restaurants, though El Pez has a restaurant itself. The staff are a huge belssing ; even before we left the UK, they had practically organised everything for us from hire cars, to trips to Si'an Kaan. They really cannot do enough for you. Wonderful people.

That's how El Pez is different : everything feels set up for YOU. Would strongly recommend this as a hideaway retreat to explore Tulum, which itself is beautiful but busier.

Beyond El Pez, for a massage the Shantala Spa in Tulum centre may not look much but is superb.

Only "drawback" is no gym but it would feel totally out of place both at El Pez and Tulum overall. There were some hardcore runners out running on the sand is 30 degrees celsius, but I'm mystified on why you'd want to when there is such a perfect place to relax! Leave your runnig shoes at home!

Overall, El Pez is a credit to the owners and management, would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefKulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the awesome review & amazing compliment! To say that everything feels like it is set up for YOU was wonderful to hear, as that is our goal at El Pez! As managers, we were so thrilled that you found the service "unobtrusive (the staff always seem to be there just when you need them, and are great at reading when to just leave you be)." We strive to make your vacation the most relaxing & enjoyable experience possible & we know that our staff is instrumental in achieving that. We hope that you are able to visit us again.

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 87 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#15 of 87 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 87 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing