We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$256
$231
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$283
$215
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$178
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Azulik(Tulum)
$480
$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$757
$735
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveler rating
864
133
38
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
133
38
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle covebeach houseluxury cabanaevery morninggranolajuan carlosconcierge stafffresh fruitla zebrasound of the wavesyour doorstepsister propertybeach frontour honeymoonincluded breakfastfalling asleepspecial shout
Filter
Updating list...
797 - 802 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 7 nights at El Pez in November, while doing a bit of exploration around the Yucatan peninsula.

El Pez proved to be the perfect place for us to stay. We were seeking some quiet time away from work and the set up & staff expertise at El Pez hit just the right spot. A limited number of well-appointed cabanas and rooms provides a very tranquil place to relax and enjoy the stunning view of the private beach. There was never any difficulty in findng a sunbed for the day and the hotel seems purpose-built for people trying to switch off. Quiet, wonderfully unobtrusive service (the staff always seem to be there just when you need them, and are great at reading when to just leave you be).

The rooms are beautifully well appointed ; beautiful furnishings and Molton Brown toiletries. The whole environment is incredibly calm and peaceful, only the sound of the waves outside.

The little things El Pez gets right also make a huge difference ; a thermos full of coffee on your doorstep each morning, the BEST breakfast which is tailored as you wish, bike hire and even recommendations of other restaurants, though El Pez has a restaurant itself. The staff are a huge belssing ; even before we left the UK, they had practically organised everything for us from hire cars, to trips to Si'an Kaan. They really cannot do enough for you. Wonderful people.

That's how El Pez is different : everything feels set up for YOU. Would strongly recommend this as a hideaway retreat to explore Tulum, which itself is beautiful but busier.

Beyond El Pez, for a massage the Shantala Spa in Tulum centre may not look much but is superb.

Only "drawback" is no gym but it would feel totally out of place both at El Pez and Tulum overall. There were some hardcore runners out running on the sand is 30 degrees celsius, but I'm mystified on why you'd want to when there is such a perfect place to relax! Leave your runnig shoes at home!

Overall, El Pez is a credit to the owners and management, would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefKulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for the awesome review & amazing compliment! To say that everything feels like it is set up for YOU was wonderful to hear, as that is our goal at El Pez! As managers, we were so thrilled that you found the service "unobtrusive (the staff always seem to be there just when you need them, and are great at reading when to just leave you be)." We strive to make your vacation the most relaxing & enjoyable experience possible & we know that our staff is instrumental in achieving that. We hope that you are able to visit us again.

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I spent a total of 7 nights at El Pez over the first couple weeks of November and had the time of our lives. The accommodations were incredibly comfortable, the setting ideal, the food and drinks to die for and the customer service was the best I've ever experienced. Michael and Julia and their staff - Derek, Jaime, Antonio, Wilbur and my main man Ruben! - made us feel at home and a part of their great family. We hope to visit every year.

Our first four nights at El Pez were for our friends wedding. I can't imagine a better setting for an intimate wedding and am still amazed by how well the staff helped plan and execute every facet of the multi-day event. It was truly a story-book destination wedding.

Releasing sea turtles back into the wild?! Yes please, what an amazing experience. The breakfast is no joke. Its like the best Sunday morning brunch of the year served every day. Might be the thing I miss most about our trip.

The long list of reasons to stay at El Pez - natural beauty, exquisite and comfortable accommodations, great food and drinks, friendly, knowledgable and helpful staff, I could go on and on - is not alone enough for me to rate any destination as highly as I'm ranking this gem. Ultimately, what is a vacation destination if doesnt also provide an excellent value? When I'm traveling or eating out I want to feel like I'm getting my moneys worth. If I have an incredible experience AND leave feeling like I've received a great value I'll be a loyal customer life. This is how I feel about El Pez!

Thanks El Pez for making our stay in Tulum the trip of a lifetime! See you next year! We love you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hey Deano!

We can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed having you & Erin stay with us during your time in Tulum! We were so excited you were able to return & stay with us for more time even after the wedding-we had so much fun with you guys! The wedding party was a blast-thank you all for making us feel like part of such a fun & beautiful wedding. It was so incredible to share the turtle releasing with your group-what great timing that was! It made us smile to read that the breakfasts may be what you miss most. :) Derick, Jaime, Wilberth, Antonio & especially Ruben all send their love too! We miss you guys mucho! We can't wait until next time you visit us again!

Much love,

Michael & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a fantastic time here. went into a lot of the other hotel's and found this one. We found the best. Its a light and open property. All rooms have a view of the sea.Rooms are very smart, the loo and shower are not completely enclosed.If you like privacy in your bathroom this might not suit you! Wonderful balcony's that you can relax on and watch the sea.up early to see the sun rise, what a great sight. Sunset can be seen from the beach.Staff are really helpful and friendly.Breakfast very good, not a buffet, but they will serve you any thing you want. They make their own bread it was delicious.Free wi-fi and a drink when you arrive. Lots of free bottle water.
small pool area. lovely beach but for swimming in the sea its better to walk around the corner to a bigger beach area.would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliza1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hola Eliza!

We want to thank you for choosing El Pez for your time in Tulum and also for your review! We really enjoy reading your feedback & were super happy to hear you feel Pez is the best hotel on the beach! We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast so much. We hope that you are able to spend more time with us next time!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

El Pez had a nice blend of a relaxed atmosphere coupled with exceptional and friendly service. We stayed in one of the beach cabanas and woke up every morning to an amazing ocean view.

There are great local restaurants in the area (try Cetli) and lots of activities. It is worth visiting the local Cenotes and, if you like fishing and/or snorkeling – it is worth taking a trip to the Sian-Ka’an biosphere (although I would not suggest taking your own vehicle on the road into the biosphere). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgauchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with fellow travelers. We are honored that you found Pez "a nice blend of a relaxed atmosphere coupled with exceptional and friendly service" That is a tremendous compliment-thank you! We hope that you are able to visit us again soon!

Take care,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at El Pez for two nights in September 2012 to kick-off our week-long honeymoon in Tulum.

First, it must be said that the staff and service at El Pez is truly exceptional. Everyone we met was incredibly friendly and made us feel right at home. Upon arrival, there was a split of champagne waiting for us and complimentary cocktails were delivered to our room shortly after. We had a problem with our safe on the first day and it was fixed by an incredibly friendly staff member in no time. Also, even though it stormed one day, the staff was great about cleaning up the beach and the balconies as soon as the storm let up.

The food was very good, but we ate most of our meals at restaurants we found around town and along the beach. There is an abundance of good food in Tulum and we didn't want to miss out on anything. My husband and I liked what we ate -- and we were very impressed by the hearty complimentary breakfasts -- but nothing on the menu really stood out for us. Oh, but you must try a "coco-jito!" They are the best drinks in town!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the luxury cabanas. I definitely recommend it!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaraBishopBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Kara,

We are so glad you chose to spend part of your honeymoon at El Pez! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were very happy to read that you found the staff exceptional! We all take great pride in making guests' experience a relaxing & memorable one. And we are honored that you voted the coco-jito the best drink in town! :)

Warm Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews