We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I hated to leave!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I hated to leave!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed three nights and I couldn't have been treated any better. Their staff, Derek, Antonio, Wilbert and Rubin are the best. They made our stay very special. The room #3 had a great view and wonderful ocean breeze. Not to mention clean and spacious. Breakfast which is included was outstanding. Dinner was so good we ate there all three nights. As the title of this review stated we hated to leave but we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chashamilton0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Chas,
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review! Derick, Antonio, Wilbert & Ruben were so excited to hear you mentioned them specifically-what a great compliment! We want you to know that we truly appreciate guests like you & enjoy reading your feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor. We hated for you to leave too, but hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    115
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
178
479
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

10 reasons I love El Pez. 1. The staff (sweetest ever). 2. The coffee basket at your door every morning. 3. The location (a short walk to awesome restaurants). 4. The rooms (clean, bright and breezy). 5. The beach bag of towels in your room (and unlimited fresh waters). 6. The beach (just a two minute walk). 7. Board games in the lobby 8. Bikes! 9. Fresh juices. 10. Most quiet and peaceful place I have ever stayed. Will be coming back here every year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi Alice!
Thank you so much for sharing all the reasons you love El Pez! Reviews like yours are why we enjoy what we do so much! It was such a pleasure to have you & your hubby stay with us & we are already looking forward to your return-hope it is soon!

Take care,
Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent 4 nights here recently on the second leg of our honeymoon trip and absolutely fell in love from the start. Michael and Julia are terrific! My wife broke her toe while there and they ran to their home to get her some ibuprofen and were constantly checking to see if she needed anything. The staff there is top notch too. Great food and great drinks. We cannot wait to go back. I can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Opt for the cabanas if you can afford it. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hi Corey!
We can't tell you enough how much we appreciate your sweet review! You & Rori were such a delight to have stay with us! We were so glad to see that despite breaking her toe, you guys had a great time and maintained such a positive attitude. We can't wait until you are able to come visit us and beautiful Tulum again! Keep in touch!

Warmest Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on August the 19th, 2012. We were surprised by a stinking smell but could not make out where it came from. Also, at arrival, we were asked to pay the full amount of our stay (6 nights), which we said we would do the following day. We had already payed for three nights, as a deposit. Well, when we woke up, we found out the smell came from the filthy beach, filled with trash and seaweed spelled by the ocean as a consequence, apparently, of a hurricane occurred 10 days ago. Whereas the rest of the hotels in the area had decided to clean their beaches, el Pez had not. We had to leave inmediately, and they refused to refund our deposit (full 3 nights), even though it was not our fault that they had decided not to clean their wherabouts. We felt badly treated and strongly recomend not to go to this hotel; highly overpriced and unable to understand client service.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria Jesus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, General Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
It is very disappointing that you would use a legitimate forum such as TripAdvisor to write a false review just because we did not comply with your demands.

This review is not about a dirty beach or bad customer service, as our beautiful beach is cleaned twice a day, despite a hurricane or not, and our customer service is unsurpassed as noted in nearly every other previous review. We find it surprising that at no point during the time you were in our hotel, even when asked, ‘how is everything with your stay so far?’ did you mention the topics of your review.

Our policies are made very clear to our guests both in the Reservation and Cancellation section of our web site and in the Reservation Confirmation email guests receive once they have made a reservation with us.

Not only did you refuse to pay the remaining balance of your stay at check in, citing your travel plans had changed, it was only after we explained the following morning, that we would not be giving you a ‘FULL REFUND’ including the night that you had already stayed in our hotel, that you threatened ‘to write as many bad reviews on TripAdvisor as they would allow’. We do not appreciate threats of blackmail.

It is truly a shame that you would discredit all the hard work of our employees, who strive everyday to provide an immaculate and friendly environment with impeccable customer service, just because you did not get the free night stay that you demanded. We are always open to accept constructive criticism from our guests, which helps us to keep improving our hotel, but we refuse to be blackmailed and bullied by someone looking for a free ride.

Michael & Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I just returned from a 6 night stay at El Pez and I can't stop raving about it! The managers Michael & Julia greeted me with a smile and made me feel at home instantly. The accomodations were impeccable. I stayed in a sea front room with a king size bed, private shower, ceiling fan, not to mention the white sand beach at my doorstep. Every morning I woke up to fresh gourmet coffee awaiting me on my terrace. The food is prepared fresh at your request. I highly recommend the fresh fruit platter with coconut granola & yogurt,also the fish tacos are divine, especially with a Coco-jito.
I have to mention that during my stay Hurricane Ernesto came in to town. The managers and staff took iniative immediately and made the evacuation painless.....and I was able to return to my immaculate room the next afternoon!
Lastly, the convenient location of El Pez made my planned excursions to the Mayan ruins, cenotes, etc, simple. I can't wait to go back to El Pez!!!

Room Tip: I chose the sea front room with "the view", but I would recommend a cabana for families..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hola Lori!
Gracias for the awesome review chica! We had such a great time with you & were so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other travellers. We especially thank you for your recognition of how we handled Hurricane Ernesto. The staff worked very hard those two crazy days, so they are thrilled to see all the hard work was appreciated by the guests. We hope you are able to return to El Pez very soon!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

El Pez is Wonderful! The managers, Michael & Julia were very helpful and made us feel right at home. We had not even planned on staying in Tulum. We had lunch there after visiting the Mayan Ruins. We continued our travels and decided to change our plans and return for 5 days! The oceanfront rooms upstairs feel like you are in a private cabana. The hotel restaurant is fabulous too. If you want to leave the complex, you can walk to many great restaurants and a few cute shops.

Room Tip: We loved the pink upstairs room. Very private and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hi Lisa!
Thank you so much for the review! We were so pleased to have you & John change your plans to stay with us. It was so fun hanging out with you both and we are really looking forward to your return in December for John's birthday! Thank you for the wine too-it was very good!

Take care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from 5 days in Tulum and spent all 4 nights at El Pez...If you hate big wasteful hotels that leave you feeling like you never left home but enjoy some luxuries like a ridiculous view, clean bedding and a private bath...then you will LOVE El Pez. My friend and I had a sea front king room for two nights and a luxury cabana the second two nights due to a full booking schedule. We actually preferred the coziness of the sea front king but the luxury cabana would be the obvious choice for a family. The food was excellent, the entire staff was friendly and professional and the constant sound of the ocean provided ultimate relaxation. I would recommend renting a car. El Pez provided the perfect jumping off point for our own daily adventures including the biosphere reserve, cenotes, snorkeling, trips into town etc. I have traveled quite a bit in the caribbean, indonesia, central america, etc and I would return to Tulum and El Pez without a doubt.

Room Tip: Being absolutely fully in front of the ocean is worth every penny in the warm summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Muchas gracias for the excellent review! :) It is so nice to hear how much you enjoyed the beautiful Sea Front room. It means so much to us to receive such a stellar review from a world traveller like yourself! Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travellers. We understand there are many beautiful places in the world, so it is such a great compliment to hear that you would return to Tulum and El Pez!

Peace,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#12 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing