We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on August the 19th, 2012. We were surprised by a stinking smell but could not make out where it came from. Also, at arrival, we were asked to pay the full amount of our stay (6 nights), which we said we would do the following day. We had already payed for three nights, as a deposit. Well, when we woke up, we found out the smell came from the filthy beach, filled with trash and seaweed spelled by the ocean as a consequence, apparently, of a hurricane occurred 10 days ago. Whereas the rest of the hotels in the area had decided to clean their beaches, el Pez had not. We had to leave inmediately, and they refused to refund our deposit (full 3 nights), even though it was not our fault that they had decided not to clean their wherabouts. We felt badly treated and strongly recomend not to go to this hotel; highly overpriced and unable to understand client service.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria Jesus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, General Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
It is very disappointing that you would use a legitimate forum such as TripAdvisor to write a false review just because we did not comply with your demands.

This review is not about a dirty beach or bad customer service, as our beautiful beach is cleaned twice a day, despite a hurricane or not, and our customer service is unsurpassed as noted in nearly every other previous review. We find it surprising that at no point during the time you were in our hotel, even when asked, ‘how is everything with your stay so far?’ did you mention the topics of your review.

Our policies are made very clear to our guests both in the Reservation and Cancellation section of our web site and in the Reservation Confirmation email guests receive once they have made a reservation with us.

Not only did you refuse to pay the remaining balance of your stay at check in, citing your travel plans had changed, it was only after we explained the following morning, that we would not be giving you a ‘FULL REFUND’ including the night that you had already stayed in our hotel, that you threatened ‘to write as many bad reviews on TripAdvisor as they would allow’. We do not appreciate threats of blackmail.

It is truly a shame that you would discredit all the hard work of our employees, who strive everyday to provide an immaculate and friendly environment with impeccable customer service, just because you did not get the free night stay that you demanded. We are always open to accept constructive criticism from our guests, which helps us to keep improving our hotel, but we refuse to be blackmailed and bullied by someone looking for a free ride.

Michael & Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    115
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
178
479
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I just returned from a 6 night stay at El Pez and I can't stop raving about it! The managers Michael & Julia greeted me with a smile and made me feel at home instantly. The accomodations were impeccable. I stayed in a sea front room with a king size bed, private shower, ceiling fan, not to mention the white sand beach at my doorstep. Every morning I woke up to fresh gourmet coffee awaiting me on my terrace. The food is prepared fresh at your request. I highly recommend the fresh fruit platter with coconut granola & yogurt,also the fish tacos are divine, especially with a Coco-jito.
I have to mention that during my stay Hurricane Ernesto came in to town. The managers and staff took iniative immediately and made the evacuation painless.....and I was able to return to my immaculate room the next afternoon!
Lastly, the convenient location of El Pez made my planned excursions to the Mayan ruins, cenotes, etc, simple. I can't wait to go back to El Pez!!!

Room Tip: I chose the sea front room with "the view", but I would recommend a cabana for families..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hola Lori!
Gracias for the awesome review chica! We had such a great time with you & were so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other travellers. We especially thank you for your recognition of how we handled Hurricane Ernesto. The staff worked very hard those two crazy days, so they are thrilled to see all the hard work was appreciated by the guests. We hope you are able to return to El Pez very soon!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

El Pez is Wonderful! The managers, Michael & Julia were very helpful and made us feel right at home. We had not even planned on staying in Tulum. We had lunch there after visiting the Mayan Ruins. We continued our travels and decided to change our plans and return for 5 days! The oceanfront rooms upstairs feel like you are in a private cabana. The hotel restaurant is fabulous too. If you want to leave the complex, you can walk to many great restaurants and a few cute shops.

Room Tip: We loved the pink upstairs room. Very private and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hi Lisa!
Thank you so much for the review! We were so pleased to have you & John change your plans to stay with us. It was so fun hanging out with you both and we are really looking forward to your return in December for John's birthday! Thank you for the wine too-it was very good!

Take care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just returned from 5 days in Tulum and spent all 4 nights at El Pez...If you hate big wasteful hotels that leave you feeling like you never left home but enjoy some luxuries like a ridiculous view, clean bedding and a private bath...then you will LOVE El Pez. My friend and I had a sea front king room for two nights and a luxury cabana the second two nights due to a full booking schedule. We actually preferred the coziness of the sea front king but the luxury cabana would be the obvious choice for a family. The food was excellent, the entire staff was friendly and professional and the constant sound of the ocean provided ultimate relaxation. I would recommend renting a car. El Pez provided the perfect jumping off point for our own daily adventures including the biosphere reserve, cenotes, snorkeling, trips into town etc. I have traveled quite a bit in the caribbean, indonesia, central america, etc and I would return to Tulum and El Pez without a doubt.

Room Tip: Being absolutely fully in front of the ocean is worth every penny in the warm summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Muchas gracias for the excellent review! :) It is so nice to hear how much you enjoyed the beautiful Sea Front room. It means so much to us to receive such a stellar review from a world traveller like yourself! Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travellers. We understand there are many beautiful places in the world, so it is such a great compliment to hear that you would return to Tulum and El Pez!

Peace,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent a wonderful week at El Pez. If you stay there you will have no TV, no AC, a bad Internet connection and mosquitoes but you will also enjoy slow cooked food, a basket with gourmet coffee on your doorstep daily, privacy, your own beach, a big terrace to sit, lay down, read and talk, the best coconut granola you will ever have, your own hip beach bag ready to go, super clean and charming rooms, friendly staff and high quality customized service. I recommend that you bring repellent, baby powder to get rid of sand and humidity, books (they have a small selection to borrow), your computer in case you want to watch a movie (make sure you download it at home!) and small bills for tips.
El Pez is perfect for couples, celebrities (we actually saw some) and families looking for fun and quality time. The beach has some rocks but it is super exclusive, only 200 meters away you will find nearly 6 kilometers of white sand beach: paradise!
It was truly amazing to be seven days without electronics, make up and even shoes. We will definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for the awesome review! We couldn't have described Pez better ourselves! We really appreciate you letting other travellers know what to expect when staying at our Eco-Resort. We are looking forward to your return next year for another week sans make up, shoes and all the stresses of life! :)

Cheers!

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed two nights at El Pez. For us it was the perfect place to unwind after Cozumel and Cancun. The new managers are great as are all the staff at the hotel. Great food, great drinks, great rooms - it is delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review Vicky! We are glad you found El Pez to be a great place to relax after Cozumel & Cancun. We hope that you are able to visit us again when you need a place to unwind!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay and the great staff at El Pez. The trip was a graduation/birthday present for my daughter and there was a very pretty bouquet of flowers waiting for her when we arrived. Thanks Julia!

The Pez has delicious breakfast and dinners and the most excellent guacamole I ever tasted. Every afternoon after being out and about, we either had drinks brought to our cabana or on the beach.

The hotel arranged for a snorkel trip to Dos Ojos cenote (mexidivers were the best) and bikes for us to rent for two days. They also arranged for a driver for a trip to Coba (the driver was very nice and took us to buy souvenirs afterward - do not buy at the ruins - big ripoff). The beach at El Pez is good for sunbathing but for actual swimming, we preferred any beach south of the Tulum ruins.

Tulum itself was beyond my expectations. At every moment we were happy to be there and not in Cancun. The area is so tranquil and laid back. The restaurants were absolutely fantastic. Our favorites: El Tabano (bring good bug spray) and Mateo's, and although we found the boutiques pricey, we thought the whole place very affordable - all of our food, drink and bike charges after 5 nights were quite reasonable. The mosquitoes ate us alive but we can't wait to get back there. :)

Special thanks to Hope Smith from Born to Travel for arranging everything for us. www.born2travel.net

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi Olivia!
Thank you so much for the review-we really appreciate it! We are glad that we could help make your daughter's birthday/graduation gift so memorable! It was such a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we hope you are able to come back to celebrate many more special occassions in beautiful Tulum!

Take care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#12 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing