We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveler rating
878
134
38
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
878
134
38
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle covebeach houseluxury cabanaevery morningjuan carlosgranolaconcierge stafffresh fruitla zebrasister propertysound of the wavesyour doorstepour honeymoonbeach frontincluded breakfastspecial shoutfalling asleep
Filter
Updating list...
835 - 840 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed two nights at El Pez. For us it was the perfect place to unwind after Cozumel and Cancun. The new managers are great as are all the staff at the hotel. Great food, great drinks, great rooms - it is delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for your review Vicky! We are glad you found El Pez to be a great place to relax after Cozumel & Cancun. We hope that you are able to visit us again when you need a place to unwind!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay and the great staff at El Pez. The trip was a graduation/birthday present for my daughter and there was a very pretty bouquet of flowers waiting for her when we arrived. Thanks Julia!

The Pez has delicious breakfast and dinners and the most excellent guacamole I ever tasted. Every afternoon after being out and about, we either had drinks brought to our cabana or on the beach.

The hotel arranged for a snorkel trip to Dos Ojos cenote (mexidivers were the best) and bikes for us to rent for two days. They also arranged for a driver for a trip to Coba (the driver was very nice and took us to buy souvenirs afterward - do not buy at the ruins - big ripoff). The beach at El Pez is good for sunbathing but for actual swimming, we preferred any beach south of the Tulum ruins.

Tulum itself was beyond my expectations. At every moment we were happy to be there and not in Cancun. The area is so tranquil and laid back. The restaurants were absolutely fantastic. Our favorites: El Tabano (bring good bug spray) and Mateo's, and although we found the boutiques pricey, we thought the whole place very affordable - all of our food, drink and bike charges after 5 nights were quite reasonable. The mosquitoes ate us alive but we can't wait to get back there. :)

Special thanks to Hope Smith from Born to Travel for arranging everything for us. www.born2travel.net

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hi Olivia!
Thank you so much for the review-we really appreciate it! We are glad that we could help make your daughter's birthday/graduation gift so memorable! It was such a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we hope you are able to come back to celebrate many more special occassions in beautiful Tulum!

Take care,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Simple and lovely boutique hotel with friendly staff. I still dream of the wonderful breakfasts. Beach is rocky but gorgeous and sandy beaches are an easy walk away. Hotel is private, much moreso than the other beach hotels in Tulum, and an easy walk to El Tabano and Mateo's our favorite spots!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sing D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you had such a great time while staying at El Pez! The breakfasts are waiting for you...we hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I got married at El Pez on May 27th. I regret that it has taken me so long to write this review. I do not regret having my wedding at El Pez or booking the property for four days of festivities with my friends and family. The El Pez staff exceeded out expectations at every party and with every aspect of our stay. They were responsive to needs and requests. They were accommodating and helpful. They were calm and friendly. The food, cocktails, and party planning were exceptional. We hosted 3 nights of activities at El Pez and each night was perfect! The location and rooms are beautiful and a good value. Our wedding ceremony and reception were flawless. All of out guests left extremely happy and my husband and I feel we could not have picked a better venue. Kudos to the Wedding Planner, Party Planner, Management, and Staff for your great taste, attention to detail, kindness, and care! We will be back and we will whole heartedly recommend you to friends! -Allison Yarne & Will Bossen

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Allison & Will,
Your wedding was the first wedding for us as Managers at El Pez and we wanted you both to know how much we enjoyed it & having you all here! You and your friends and family were so much fun and you guys definitely know how to tear up the dance floor! :) We will never forget the exciting thunderstorm during the rehearsal dinner and the amazing fire show in the lobby! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed all three nights of activities and really appreciate you sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor! Thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you both again to celebrate many anniversaries to come!

Best Regards,
Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

What an amazing place! We thoroughly enjoyed our entire experience at the El Pez! From the time we entered the hotel until we left to go home everything was perfect! The rooms overlooked the beach with a beautiful view. We saw tortoises come up on the beach to lay their eggs during the full moon. We were able go snorkeling, swim at the cenotes and lagoons, go kayaking, sightseeing at the Mayan Ruins, and just enjoy the relaxed atmosphere.
The staff at the El Pez and the service and food were exceptional! Michael and Julia made this one of the most special vacations we have ever taken.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Bob & Astrid,
Thank you for the sweet review! We are so happy to hear we were able to make it such a special vacation for you & a happy early birthday for Bob! We had a great time with you all too! The turtles laying their eggs was truly an amazing experience & it was so nice to share it with you. Our staff really enjoyed having you as guests as well & were very happy to hear you enjoyed the service & food. We hope you are able to return to Tulum & stay with us again soon!

Take care,
Michael & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews