We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Simple and lovely boutique hotel with friendly staff. I still dream of the wonderful breakfasts. Beach is rocky but gorgeous and sandy beaches are an easy walk away. Hotel is private, much moreso than the other beach hotels in Tulum, and an easy walk to El Tabano and Mateo's our favorite spots!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SingDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you had such a great time while staying at El Pez! The breakfasts are waiting for you...we hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 957 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

I got married at El Pez on May 27th. I regret that it has taken me so long to write this review. I do not regret having my wedding at El Pez or booking the property for four days of festivities with my friends and family. The El Pez staff exceeded out expectations at every party and with every aspect of our stay. They were responsive to needs and requests. They were accommodating and helpful. They were calm and friendly. The food, cocktails, and party planning were exceptional. We hosted 3 nights of activities at El Pez and each night was perfect! The location and rooms are beautiful and a good value. Our wedding ceremony and reception were flawless. All of out guests left extremely happy and my husband and I feel we could not have picked a better venue. Kudos to the Wedding Planner, Party Planner, Management, and Staff for your great taste, attention to detail, kindness, and care! We will be back and we will whole heartedly recommend you to friends! -Allison Yarne & Will Bossen

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Allison & Will,
Your wedding was the first wedding for us as Managers at El Pez and we wanted you both to know how much we enjoyed it & having you all here! You and your friends and family were so much fun and you guys definitely know how to tear up the dance floor! :) We will never forget the exciting thunderstorm during the rehearsal dinner and the amazing fire show in the lobby! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed all three nights of activities and really appreciate you sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor! Thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you both again to celebrate many anniversaries to come!

Best Regards,
Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

What an amazing place! We thoroughly enjoyed our entire experience at the El Pez! From the time we entered the hotel until we left to go home everything was perfect! The rooms overlooked the beach with a beautiful view. We saw tortoises come up on the beach to lay their eggs during the full moon. We were able go snorkeling, swim at the cenotes and lagoons, go kayaking, sightseeing at the Mayan Ruins, and just enjoy the relaxed atmosphere.
The staff at the El Pez and the service and food were exceptional! Michael and Julia made this one of the most special vacations we have ever taken.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Bob & Astrid,
Thank you for the sweet review! We are so happy to hear we were able to make it such a special vacation for you & a happy early birthday for Bob! We had a great time with you all too! The turtles laying their eggs was truly an amazing experience & it was so nice to share it with you. Our staff really enjoyed having you as guests as well & were very happy to hear you enjoyed the service & food. We hope you are able to return to Tulum & stay with us again soon!

Take care,
Michael & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our stay at El Pez was amazing! My wife and I loved our room and the spacious outside deck overlooking the waves. There is an onsite restaurant that serves great food and great drinks with great service- (the gold margaritas are a must have) and it includes a large lounge area and plenty of outside-deck seating with tables to enjoy the tranquil beach (day and night). All of the property, including the pool and the beach in front, are very well maintained by the El Pez staff.

We were able to witness a huge turtle (3 or 4 foot diameter) come onto the sand on the property edge during a full moon at midnight to lay its eggs. Close by El Pez are various sights to see, shopping, and restaurants. We were only able to stay five days, but we were able to see a couple of cenotes and lagoons, a salsa bar with great music (we liked the dance stage so much that we want to build one like it on a smaller scale in our backyard), the Tulum Mayan Ruins (only 10 minutes north), see the clearest water ever, and do some shopping in town.

El Pez, Michael and Juila- the managers, and all of the El PEZ staff, the food, the sound of the waves, the breeze, - were all truly amazing! I would highly recommend EL PEZ to anyone wanting to have great service at a great place in a great location-you won't be dissappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Hi Ron!
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are so happy to hear you & Lisa had such a great time & enjoyed your room! Wilberth was also really happy to hear how much you liked his golden margaritas! :) We were thrilled to get to witness the beautiful turtle laying it's eggs with you all-what an amazing experience! That was definitely worth staying up late for. We really hope you can come back to Tulum soon & enjoy more of the Riviera Maya. It was very fun having you here!

Michael & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is the perfect getaway, if that's what you want. If you want to be super active, you can also achieve that goal. El Pez's location is far enough away that if you don't want to go outside of their resort area, you will have everything you want/need at your fingertips. If you want more activities, it's close enough that you don't spend all your time traveling to the other areas. The information booklet in the room was very helpful with it's listing of things to do in the area. But you can't beat the food or the staff at El Pez!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Hi Brenda!
Thank you for sharing your experience! It was fun to reminisce about Oklahoma with you & your hubby! We were so happy to hear you enjoyed the food & the staff so much. We had such a good time with you all too. It was nice to be part of such a special event in your friend's life! Hope to see you again soon!

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Everything was perfect, location, room and service.
We can't wait to be back !!!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank norafr95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for the super review! :) We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us! Can't wait to have you back!

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

we stayed at the Pez over easter and had a magic time
Friendly, professional and happy staff (made a great impact on our trip)
Great location and food
Room standard very good
can strongly recommend this hotel to everyone

We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasMolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you so much for the review Thomas! We had such a blast w/ your Swedish Crew-eating delicious lobster & dancing the night away! You Swedes sure know how to have a good time! We hope you all make it back to Tulum soon & be sure to bring your dancing shoes! :)

Take care,
Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 100 in Tulum
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#22 of 100 in Tulum
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
913 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 100 in Tulum
639 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 100 in Tulum
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $353 - $685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing