We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$272
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$215
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$178
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$408
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of $392/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$757
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azulik(Tulum)
$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveler rating
864
133
38
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
133
38
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle covebeach houseluxury cabanaevery morninggranolajuan carlosconcierge stafffresh fruitla zebrasound of the wavesyour doorstepsister propertybeach frontour honeymoonincluded breakfastfalling asleepspecial shout
Filter
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was the smallest room of our trip. We got a family room - the last one on the property on the ground floor. The beds were guide comfy. We had a king bed and then there was a day bed with a trundle below it. When we pulled out the trundle there wasn't much room to walk by. There was a small refrigerator which was a pleasant surprise. Despite the small size of the room there was plenty of places to stash our clothes. The bathroom was nicely laid out.

My 12 yr old was not happy with the tap water. The hotel provides plenty of bottled drinking water but the tap water is very salty. Apparently it comes from the local ground water - which is salty. He also rated the pool as poor but I liked it. The pool is small and is located behind the property so you are looking at the back of the colorful hotel rooms and only a bit of beach off to the side. I liked it. It is also filled with rather salty water. Same kid also thought the sound of the ocean was a bit loud and wanted us to close the windows. Crazy kid! I was with him on the salt water - sometimes it is just nice to get really clean.

We all very much enjoyed the "Sandbar" - the little bar/restaurant off to the side. So much so in fact that we ate and drank there all 3 nights of our stay. I was hoping to check out one of the restaurants recommended in the little booklet the hotel had put together that was in our room but was over ruled. My hubbie and I enjoyed the 2 for 1 happy hour drinks - there were always 3 kinds on offer and they changed each evening. The happy hour food was very tasty too - some of the best chips and dip of our trip. The view is excellent - diving pelicans, locals tossing out fishing nets. The beach itself is mostly scenic and not so great for water play. The beach also had a ton of seaweed and trash on it during out visit. The adjacent beaches were being cleaned by hand (lots of men with rakes and wheel barrows!) or machine - but not our little cove. It was quite windy.

We were there in February and the weather was warm - in the 80s - but nice. There is no AC but the fans worked well. It was windier than apparently typical. I don't know if there was no breeze and it was hotter in the summer if it would have been uncomfortable sleeping weather - I suspect so but could be wrong.

I highly recommend visiting Tulum ruins at 8 a.m. - they were delightfully deserted but by 10:30 they were getting packed. The lady at the hotel recommended an early start. Unfortunately this put us a bit at odds with breakfast hour although they did end up serving us after we returned although it was officially after hours. The hours posted in the room weren't the same as the ones the Sandbar said they were. Breakfasts were quite good. There was always some fresh squeezed juice - watermelon or papaya when we visited - and granola and yogurt and fresh fruit to start. This was followed by some egg dish - a croissant sandwich or huevos rancheros. Very good all round with attentive service.

The lady at the front desk was not particularly knowledgeable although very nice. We visited Coba ruins which i recommend - although i would also recommend visiting at very start of the day or after 2. We went mid-day and hit all the crowds but it was really thinning out by 2 when we left. We also didn't experience any bugs and enjoyed the bikes. We did get the names of 2 cenotes from her which we quite enjoyed. Grand Cenote - on the way to road to Coba - and Dos Ojas on the way back to Cancun. We recommend both highly.

The beach just beyond the cove was sandy and nice for beach play. Our hotel definitely looked as nice as anything we saw walking along the beach - and the drink prices were definitely better.

All around we had a very good stay here. The room amenities were nice but it is definitely a bit rustic - as you might expect for beach front. It felt a bit pricey especially since the room seemed on the smaller side but I think it might be very in line with this part of Mexico. I would look at other properties when returning but could also see deciding to return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: we definitely heard the upstairs neighbors walking around on the wood floors - but it was also nice to be on the ground floor and able to walk right outside - so a toss up for us there
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bktw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a nice time, and the view from our hotel was gorgeous. The staff was great, but we didn't sleep well.

PROS:
*The place is very attractive, clean, well landscaped, and the view from our room overlooking the ocean was just beautiful.

*Vanessa at the front desk was super helpful and knew so much about local tours, restaurants, etc -- she spent a lot of time telling us where the best taco stands were, which tour guides to request, how much to pay for goods, etc.

NEUTRAL:
*You can't walk outside your room to the beach -- you have to walk 2/3 minutes to get there -- but we really didn't mind at all.

*Water gurgled in the drain of our sink all night until I looked under the sink and saw the drain pipe was an adjustable hard plastic tube; I moved it a little and the gurgling stopped. Thank god -- the noise was driving us crazy.

CONS:
* We didn't sleep well at night, and I am generally a good sleeper. I think it was a combination of being too hot (even with the open doors & fans) and light coming into our room early (6:30/6:45AM); also, we didn't love the pillows. We requested extra sheets to use as blankets instead of the thick comforter on the bed, and the maids were very accommodating.

*The price. I can't compare the price of the room to other places in Tulum, as this is the only place I've stayed in Tulum, but $240/night is very high. Breakfast is not included ($10-$12 for a mediocre breakfast delivered from the Sandbar next door), and as our room did not have a refrigerator, we couldn't buy breakfast ahead of time form the local supermarket. In fact, I was shocked by prices all over Tulum for restaurants, shops, etc...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I just spent an amazing eight days in room 6 at El Pez. There's nothing like a cool breeze and crashing waves at your doorstep to make you enjoy a vacation in the sun. We can't find enough wonderful things to say about El Pez and the staff--Vanessa, Violeta and Raul. Not only did they go above and beyond to help us in any way possible, doing extensive research to help find an affordable, non-touristy true sailing experience on a catamaran but they were great to talk with, as well. Our room was immaculate and comfortable with an unbeatable view, and the breakfasts were great, with fresh juices, yogurt and granola (and good coffee), and eggs any way you like them. We also had some great lunches and dinners at the Sandbar restaurant--fabulous ribs, fish tacos and a little lesson on good tequila from our waiter, Rafael. Some others on this site have talked about the Sandbar being loud on Friday nights, when they have their beach party, but we didn't find that to be the case at all--we were as close as possible to the restaurant and didn't hear anything. The location is very quiet and about a five minute walk from the long, flat, sandy stretch of beach and rows of hotels that go on for miles. It's nice because it's a bit secluded and quiet, but is not directly on the main sandy beach--it's more of a cove, very picturesque, but not the best for swimming. We loved it though and had a super comfortable, very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our stay at El Pez was for 9 nights. We echo all the superlative comments from previous reviews (they are fully justified).

Tulum and it's beach areas is very 'laid back' and and after only a few days we were really 'chilled out' with our stress levels down to zero. El Pez is in a beautiful location and the rooms are very clean. However, the great thing about this place is not it's natural beauty but the wonderful staff that work there. From the room maid to the bar/restaurant staff there is a genuine desire to please and be friendly. It was clear to us that this great team spirit is mainly due to the management style of Roy and Ashley. If ever a business needs to look at ways of better motivating it's staff then here is a shining example of how it should be done.

A special thanks to Violetta and Raul for looking after our requests.

On our last night we were entertained by Roy (a Jazz pianist of top quality) who guest appeared for a Band at a nearby restaurant. What a treat!

We miss El Pez - the diving Pelicans, the sound of the waves ensuring a good night's sleep, the 'Happy Hour' 2 for 1 cocktails and the delicious healthy breakfasts.

Good luck to you, Roy and Ashley, in your next challenge in Nicaragua.

Kevin and Chris

Room Tip: We had Room 5 and were please as we preferred the ground floor option
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

After reading some of the recent reviews, I couldn't help but shake my head. I'm not sure what these guests are expecting or accustomed to from travels to other hotels and resorts, but this place was absolutely extraordinary.

Ashley and Roy were so friendly and made us feel safe and secure on our stay. This resort is truly special. The location is right near a police check point (literally right out front) so we felt very safe, as we don't travel internationally often. There are safes in the room...an added touch...and the staff was very accomodating about any needs we had.

The rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily...and the negative reviews based on the bathroom are quite silly. If you are traveling to paradise, I think a small detail like not having a door on the bathroom can be overlooked. (But PS, there IS a door separating the two rooms so I'm confused about those comments) Tell your significant (or insignificant) other to sit on the AMAZING balcony and take in the ocean view while you do your thing, if you're that modest.

Now, more highlights: Bottles of water were provided each day and offered whenever necessary in the lobby FREE of charge (a bonus when heading to the beach and needing water to take along). Sunscreen and bug spray were only an arm's length away, thanks to the courteous staff. Ashley confirmed and scheduled our transport to and from the airport (just a 1.5 hour trip each way) which made our travel less stressful. The food at Sandbar, the neighbor bar/grill) is perfect and there is a nice variety from burgers and pork to vegetarian options. The beach is very clean and there are plenty of great rooms - but I suggest room 10 with amazing balcony views and a gorgeous pool just a couple feet away...

Trust El Pez and their wonderful staff with your stay and you WON'T be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level are the best views and most private!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews