We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$282
$272
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$283
$215
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$167
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$408
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Azulik(Tulum)
$480
$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$757
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveler rating
864
133
38
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
133
38
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle covebeach houseluxury cabanaevery morninggranolajuan carlosconcierge stafffresh fruitla zebrasound of the wavesyour doorstepsister propertybeach frontour honeymoonincluded breakfastfalling asleepspecial shout
Filter
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

El Pez is one of THE best places to stay in Tulum, and I have checked out nearly all of the hotels down there to some degree or another (the product of thorough wedding location research). The rooms are beautiful, a perfect blend of rustic and chic, with amazing views. The staff is wonderful, the service is fantastic, the location is perfect, and the free breakfast is delicious. We made the mistake of leaving El Pez to go to another hotel (in the days before our wedding)-- bummer! We wished we could go back to El Pez and stay a few weeks! The beach there is beautiful (though a bit rockier than other places along the strip, given that it is a cove). Don't miss the new Sand Bar, a great spot for food and drinks! I highly, highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: To my knowledge, you can't go wrong in any of the rooms!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Given the price of the hotel, we expected so much more of the hotel (until we realized that all of Tulum Playa is expensive and the price positions El Pez in the middle of the peck). The hotel is fine and the rooms are really big and all have an ocean view. However, there is a few improvements needed when it comes to service for El Pez to become truly a 4 or 5-star resort. First, we had a bit of a screwup during the booking: more was charged on our card than authorized; the hotel offered to refund but did so via paypal so we ended up paying the fee (later the hotel reimbursed us for the transaction fee). Also, upon arrival, our bathroom was not cleaned properly and the shower was full of black hair. Then later, we realized there must be something wrong with the washing machine--even thought the sheets were washed, they were not properly bleached so there were uncomfortable stains. The day after, the cleaning lady left some cleaning detergent and unwashed tequilla glasses in the sink. All of this of course is nothing to spoil the charm of staying at such a location as Playa but a bit disappointing when high-level service is promised. On the positive side (in addition to the room and the view), the management team is very friendly and can suggest nice places to go and the restaurant (The Sand Bar) is quite known as well and on Fridays, you get your own local party (the largest on the beach).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerFrequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, General Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is feedback like yours that helps us offer a better experience to future guests. As we are a new hotel, we are constantly striving to improve things. I am glad you enjoyed your time at Sandbar and thank you for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Very romantic place, not Luxurious, but totally reaches the goal for a romantic, quiEt, peaceful gettaway

Room Tip: Beach front
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlishSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We reserved a room at El Pez because of the reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. We were in room #1, on the upper level, and initially I thought it was not even going to have an ocean view. I was wrong. EVERY room has an ocean view! Rooms 1 and 2 are oriented to the north, so they look up the beach and out over the ocean instead of directly East onto the ocean as do the other 8 or 10 rooms. But we had the best of both worlds, because we had a lovely crossways breeze all day and night, plus we were not blinded by the sunrise every morning. Our room had a spacious veranda with two comfy chairs, a small table, and a padded recliner that easily held two. Perfect for lazing and reading in the warmer times of the day.

Starting at 8 each day, guests gathered at the dining tables for a beautiful Mexican breakfast that started with freshly brewed coffee, freshly squeezed juice, and fresh seasonal fruit. For our stay that included papaya, cantaloupe, mango, kiwi, strawberries, and honeydew. A plate of toast with butter and marmalade was served, followed by the main dish which was a variation on eggs every day, mostly in a Mexican style.

We prefer the laid-back style of the beach hotels in Tulum and other small towns, and we were very pleased with our 3 night stay at El Pez. Also, the beach is nice with plenty of recliners and palapas, even if the bay is somewhat rocky with coral. Just south of El Pez the beach smooths out for miles of walking, wading and swimming.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have ocean views, so you really can't go wrong. Room #1, the one we were in, was the only room that also had large windows on the street side. Initially we thought that might be a problem, but then, there really isn't much traffic on the beach road later in the evening so it wasn't an issue at all.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I saw lots of photos and videos of El Pez prior to our arrival in Tulum. I expected a quaint and relaxing trip in a sleepy town, but didn't realize how much more we were getting! Ashley was wonderful and helped us with recommendations every step of the way, and just set a wonderful tone for all of the guests staying at El Pez. Breakfast each morning was supurb (the coffee was even amazing), and it became the most effortless vacation one could hope for. The rooms were comfortable, and the view of the ocean outside your door is unbelievable. We saw baby sea turtles hatching, and enjoyed the food and drink at the Sand Bar next door. Have nothing but wonderful things to say about our trip here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KM_427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews