We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveler rating
496
145
27
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
496
145
27
6
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 675 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2017

We are so happy we bypassed the all inclusive style hotels of Cancun in favor of
Posada Yum KIn in Tulum.  Our recent six day stay was so delightful it was really hard to leave.
The staff was welcoming and attentive. The natural ambiance of the indoor courtyard with abundant tropical trees and birds felt like a vacation paradise. Our room was meticulously clean, with fresh flowers and European bedding, cooking and dining area and our own private outdoor patio.
The place has an air of serenity, as most guests are taking advantage of the many nearby tourist attractions; we often had the pool to ourselves.  We loved the complimentary breakfast so much we were disappointed to miss out the days we left bright and early for Chichen Itza and Coba. The hotel is on the edge of town; most guests would probably want to have a car to stay here, but I am hard pressed to offer any other concerns about Posada Yum Kin. Treat yourselves and make a reservation to stay here. You won't regret it.

Room tip: Second floor rooms have small balconies. Neighborhood is generally very quiet; rooms facing the courtyard are probably a bit quieter.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan - Balvina B, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Thank you for your visit it was an honor to attend to you and to be part of your vacation, it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services. We hope that on your next vacation you have the opportunity to visit Tulum and PYK of course, we will be waiting with open arms.

Best PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Our family of 4 with two young boys just spent a full week at PYK and really enjoyed our stay. The posada has character and the variety of room types can meet most any need. The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated and have important amenities such as wi-fi, AC and kitchenettes. The entire staff are incredibly kind, helpful and available. The location is a few blocks off the main strip through centro Tulum which makes is convenient for shopping and a short 10 min drive to the beaches. For value alone in the Tulum area I'm confident it's hard to find a better accommodation than PYK but if I could suggest anything it would be more day to day variety in the breakfast foods, softer pillows and a more substantial top blanket.

Room tip: each room is unique but the largest suites are clearly better for families
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnzajac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan - Balvina B, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Many thanks for your good comments and for your visit, it is very gratifying to know that you had a pleasant stay and that PYK was welcoming for you, thanks for your suggestions we will take them into consider, when you decide to visit Tulum again do not forget that at PYK we are waiting with the open doors.

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

I would definitely recommend POSADA YUM KIN , staying beach front is more costly and ties you down to one spot in a way , from here during our 5 day stay we visited several different beach areas and I think we had a an opportunity to be more flexible in that way , the room was well laid out and we could have cooked If we had wanted to , the breakfast is tasty and plentiful , i didn't like the coffee though .. they make it with cinnamon added in the pot and I don't like flavored coffee .. call me old fashioned ! It's recommendable to have a hire car but not essential .. taxis are easy to find or the hotel will call one for you , I would definitely stay there again ... great cost - value - benefit .

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JohnM138
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan - Balvina B, Gerente at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Many thanks for your visit John, it is nice to know that you enjoy your stay with us, we hope you will return soon, the PYK doors are open for you anytime you wish to return to Tulum.

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

First off, not on the beach, but because of that, very affordable. Beach is a 10 minute drive. Property is clean, quiet, with a beautiful pool and many sitting areas. We only stayed 3 nights this trip, but would return and stay at this property for a week. There were cooking facilities in the two rooms we stayed in. In fact, I'd consider talking my extended family of adults and children into staying here (in several rooms of course.) Morning breakfasts were included and were delicious - fresh fruit, Mexican style eggs, pancakes/toast, juice, coffee. Very secure and safe. Parking available.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan - Balvina B, Gerente at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Thanks you so much for your good comments, for us is a pleasure know that you enjoyed your stay at PYK, our mission is to make our guests feel at home, the PYK doors are open for you in your next visit to Tulum.

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017

The hotel itself is beautiful. The pool is fantastic, the staff was friendly, breakfast was delicious and filling, the room was super comfortable (we stayed in room 8), and the price could not be beat as far as Tulum hotels are concerned.

The only thing that was off was the location. Some people have mentioned the location woes already, but to be clear, we never once felt unsafe. We've been traveling for a long time, mostly in Latin America, and so to see poverty stricken neighborhoods is nothing new. Our issue was that we felt invasive. The hotel is far from the main parts of town (walking in Tulum is labor intensive if you're not used to the heat) so we opted to rent a car. This perpetuated that feeling because here are a couple of gringos, rolling up in a nice car, going to their nice hotel, and meanwhile we are driving past some really poor families. We took it as a wake up call for our own privilege. It would be nice to know if the hotel is doing anything to help the people in the surrounding neighborhoods.

Room tip: Room 8 was perfect for a couple!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan - Balvina B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2017

Hello Jeremy

It was a pleasure to attend you and an honor that you have chosen to spend your holidays, I hope they have been unforgettable, in PYK we work every day to make pleasant the stay of our guests. The situation they actually observed is not what it looks like, since people are not really poor as such, they are occupying the land that is not their property, that is why the kind of life they have, they live to themselves because they are occupying State property and at any time they can be evicted, that is why they do not have big and beautiful houses, for the risk to be evicted, they are people of a really average standard of living, however they are there with the aim of staying with the land they occupy and the hotel can not do anything about it, that situation is between the people and the government. But thanks for asking and caring about others.

See you soon
PYK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews