We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous independent hotel for families, in a very special part of the world.”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Liz and her team made this a fabulous vacation for an extended family of 12—including six kids ranging in age from 2-12—which is not an easy feat. Posada Yum Kin is an EXTREMELY nice property (better than many of the beach hotels), run by great people (we even met the owners while we were there). Every room is different, and some are quite large. The pool is perfect for kids and adults alike. The breakfasts are outstanding, and the chef and staff will cook other meals for you if you order in advance (it's worth doing because the food is excellent). If Posada Yum Kin were located on the beach, it would be three times the price! Thanks again, Liz.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McIComms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hola, MC'Is!!!!!! It was such a great and fun time hosting you!!! You were incredibly smart and nice, every one of you!! I had a great time having you here, hosting you was a lot of fun. The time passed by very fast and next time, you will get those mango drinks as promised! We hope you decide to come back next year!! Please, say hi to the rest of the family and do not forget this is your home now! Thanks for all the thoughful comments in such a lovely review! It is highly appreciated and also quite nurturing for us! Sincerely, everyone in PYK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Posada Yum Kin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 607 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

In a destination where many travellers are looking for luxurious all-inclusive beach resorts, Posada Yum Kin is a rare gem, off the beaten path. Located on the outskirts of a downtown neighbourhood, this peaceful, comfortable, charming inn was the perfect setting for a glimpse into the local community of this growing town. There is a great selection of restaurants and shops in walking distance from the hotel - passing through the town where people were going to work and school, going about their daily lives. It felt like a more authentic experience in Tulum, and we felt like we were adding to the local economy, as opposed to exploiting it.

The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and delightful, as were the other guests. The breakfast was excellent, more varied than we expected (with fruit, yogurt, granola, pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs and delicious coffee), and it was a great opportunity to connect with the other guests, share experiences and get local travel advice.

One small comment, the hotel was a little hard to find at first. The directions on the website could benefit from a more detailed map, with multiple routes (the road leading to the hotel was under construction the week we were there, and not all the roads in town were well marked). Once we found it the first time, it was easy to navigate the residential neighbourhood.

From the moment we walked through the front door, we felt like we were in a unique, special place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you very much, Will & Amy! It was great to have you and your family accross the hall, you were great neighbors to the office! You were really kind guests and every morning you smiled at the whole staff. We really love hosting people with such a nice and sweet attitude! We are happy you have found our home to be special, thanks! Please, come back soon and visit us as friends! Thank you very much for your kind comments again! Warm regards from Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I felt like I knew what to expect before I even arrived. It was just like all the reviews, the good (personable service from Liz and her team, great breakfast, good wifi) the bad (dogs barking - grab some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper). Gotta love Tripadvisor. We really wanted something different and it delivered ( no TV or no your just a number type of service). A good hotel in a residential area.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel and away from the street
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BG_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, it is always nice to hear feedback of our guests. We really appreciate it! It was great having you stay with us and the good news is that the dog problem is finally fixed! (They moved!) Hopefully next time you will have an even greater experience with us!! Again, thank you very much for sharing our home with us, it was a pleasure to host you! Come back soon!! Regards from all the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

stayed here recommended by our diving instructor carlos from mdxi divers . As we arrived out the front this place was covered in beautiful fauna and jungle trees . soon as the hotel staff oped the door to the oasis it was amazing . it had this sense of real nice relaxation and the staff just smiled every word you said to them . breakfast is very good with a selection off scrambled eggs fresh fruit . toast . pancakes , The layout of the building is very easily accessible to the pool and all the rooms .

the rooms are made each day and i couldn't fault anything in our room .


Liz Jemeninez was such a pleasure to deal with and she helped us with some of the best food recommendations .


Liz if you read this i will be deffinetly seeing you in the future with my wife and kids :)

much love from the land down below AUZZIE BOIIS

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear, Sizzle! Thank you very much for your kind review but mostly, thanks for such a great time! You and A were really nice to everyone, always with such a big smile upon your face that it was quite fun and nice to have you staying with us! We would do it anytime again! Hope we get to host you next time you come diving to Tulum, we had a blast, too! Kind regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a great time at Posada Yum Kin. It is really tucked away in Tulum, but we found it. The roads aren't marked well, so take your map! The room was fantastic, with a nice kitchen and great patio with hammock. The interior of the hotel is a courtyard filled with lush plants and even a large cage of parakeets. If you take the wooden spiral staircase up, it allows you cross over to some of the rooms to the breakfast and pool area. We thought the breakfast was great, with a mix of fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, warm foods such as pancakes, eggs, etc. Coffee was even quite good!

We would go back to PYK with no questions the next time we're in Tulum.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Hola!!!! Thank you very, very much for your review!!! It was great to have you staying in PYK. We are happy to know you made this your special home during your time in Tulum. As usual, we are very lucky to have guests like you sharing our special place with us. We are excited to know you enjoyed breakfast every morning across the bridge, to be honest, it was an honour to host you! We are already looking forward to your next visit! Best regards from the whole team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a great place to stay in the town of Tulum--quiet,close to resturants,shops and bus station!Liz,the manager,made me feel comfortable and right at home!The staff are lovely.They serve good coffee and breakfast in the a.m.
It is far enough from town for peace and quiet but close enough for an enjoyable little bike ride to some good fun with the locals.The hotel zone is about 3 miles away,which was perfect for me.I wanted to feel like I was in Mexico and not in just a tourists' enclave.
I love PYK! The rooms are clean and well cared for.The beds are comfortable with good clean sheets.It was a wonderful lodging experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Anna.!! Thank you very much for your kind review, but most of all, thank you for letting us having you as our guest. It was a great surprise! We really appreciate you changing scenary with such great disposition. It was great having you around with such amazing vibe! We are really looking forward to your next visit, it will be great to see you again!! Lots of warm regards and thanks from the whole team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The units and patios were quite charming but a bit basic. The gardens were nice but if you are smoker, don't stay here as you are unable to smoke outside on your patio - you have to go out into car park. We arrived on a Sunday night and no one could speak any English so it was very difficult to ask any questions. It was not in a very nice part of Tulum and we would much rather have stayed at one of the beach hotels and spent a few hours in the town. It was not really walking distance to the town and the town was a typical Mexican town and not much there. The manager was very nice but on our second night she was not there when we returned at 5.00 and again no one could speak any English so we went back to our resort in the evening instead of staying 2 nights. The beaches are lovely.

Room Tip: It was quite noisy
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear sir/madam:
We are sorry you think Tulum is an ordinary mexican town, we, on the contrary, love its culture and the sense of mexican real life.
We're sorry you were dissappointed with your stay as well. As you mention, we do not allow smoking in the hotel or hotel grounds. We find that for as many guests that are disappointed with this decision, we have more that are happy that we chose this healthy option. Our hotel's mission supports the environment and health for our bodies. The beautiful gardens, our sustainability, massage/yoga practices and healthy breakfasts all display our dedication to health and cherishing the earth. Smoking just isn't a good fit for our hotel and its guests.

Posada Yum Kin is staffed with tri-lingual staff for much of the day. Our general manager's office hours are 8am to 4:30pm, but she is often available casually off and on throughout the evenings as well. She is out for brief periods of time for running hotel errands and an occasional dinner out. Our hotel is small and we do not have the abillity to have management staff on duty 24/7 and with only 12 suites there really hasn't been that need.

We do suggest guests have a car while staying at Posada Yum Kin, though many guests will use our bikes to get around and some enjoy the walk through the residential area of Tulum. It allows one to see and experience how people live in different lands.

We definitely agree with you! The beaches are lovely and we are happy that you found a place to spend your holidays.

Kind regards,
PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#43 of 98 in Tulum
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#16 of 98 in Tulum
558 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 98 in Tulum
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $61 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing