We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a great place to stay in the town of Tulum--quiet,close to resturants,shops and bus station!Liz,the manager,made me feel comfortable and right at home!The staff are lovely.They serve good coffee and breakfast in the a.m.
It is far enough from town for peace and quiet but close enough for an enjoyable little bike ride to some good fun with the locals.The hotel zone is about 3 miles away,which was perfect for me.I wanted to feel like I was in Mexico and not in just a tourists' enclave.
I love PYK! The rooms are clean and well cared for.The beds are comfortable with good clean sheets.It was a wonderful lodging experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Anna.!! Thank you very much for your kind review, but most of all, thank you for letting us having you as our guest. It was a great surprise! We really appreciate you changing scenary with such great disposition. It was great having you around with such amazing vibe! We are really looking forward to your next visit, it will be great to see you again!! Lots of warm regards and thanks from the whole team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Posada Yum Kin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 606 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The units and patios were quite charming but a bit basic. The gardens were nice but if you are smoker, don't stay here as you are unable to smoke outside on your patio - you have to go out into car park. We arrived on a Sunday night and no one could speak any English so it was very difficult to ask any questions. It was not in a very nice part of Tulum and we would much rather have stayed at one of the beach hotels and spent a few hours in the town. It was not really walking distance to the town and the town was a typical Mexican town and not much there. The manager was very nice but on our second night she was not there when we returned at 5.00 and again no one could speak any English so we went back to our resort in the evening instead of staying 2 nights. The beaches are lovely.

Room Tip: It was quite noisy
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear sir/madam:
We are sorry you think Tulum is an ordinary mexican town, we, on the contrary, love its culture and the sense of mexican real life.
We're sorry you were dissappointed with your stay as well. As you mention, we do not allow smoking in the hotel or hotel grounds. We find that for as many guests that are disappointed with this decision, we have more that are happy that we chose this healthy option. Our hotel's mission supports the environment and health for our bodies. The beautiful gardens, our sustainability, massage/yoga practices and healthy breakfasts all display our dedication to health and cherishing the earth. Smoking just isn't a good fit for our hotel and its guests.

Posada Yum Kin is staffed with tri-lingual staff for much of the day. Our general manager's office hours are 8am to 4:30pm, but she is often available casually off and on throughout the evenings as well. She is out for brief periods of time for running hotel errands and an occasional dinner out. Our hotel is small and we do not have the abillity to have management staff on duty 24/7 and with only 12 suites there really hasn't been that need.

We do suggest guests have a car while staying at Posada Yum Kin, though many guests will use our bikes to get around and some enjoy the walk through the residential area of Tulum. It allows one to see and experience how people live in different lands.

We definitely agree with you! The beaches are lovely and we are happy that you found a place to spend your holidays.

Kind regards,
PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We would not hesitate to recommend Posada Yum Kin as a romantic jungle getaway in Tulum. It is on the outskirts of town, but my wife and I liked walking through the quiet streets and using the available rental bikes ($5/day -- please make sure to reserve ahead of time with manager Liz!). Biking to the Tulum ruins / beach area only took about 20min.

The outdoor 'lobby' resembles more of a tiny village, complete with ground floor suites with front porches, wooden benches, and a unique staircase that leads up to suites with balcony views (and a treehouse feel), a sundeck lounge area ideal for socializing, steps leading down to the pool and an accompanying breakfast cafe. There's even a rooftop deck area for private events, massages or yoga.

Our Kukulkan jungleside view suite definitely had an organic, eco-feel, with furniture made from laquered, preserved tree trunks and branches. Each feature felt custom made for the space. Windows faced both the jungle (front of building) or the courtyard bridge walkway. A/C did not work at first but was fixed by the time we came back from dinner. An overhead ceiling fan was very decorative and functional. Included: a large jug of fresh water/ dispenser, a kitchen sink & drying rack, coffee maker, blender, countertop gas stove, and a mini fridge that came with 2 bottles of water. We soon filled up the fridge with grocery items for the beach and various leftovers.

The included breakfast was simple but tasty -- scrambled eggs, bread & jam, pancakes, yogurt, fruits, cereal, juices, tea and coffee. Dinner was available, but only by special request earlier in the day.

Transportation is relatively easy -- a shuttle ride away (1.5hrs by Yellow Transfer) from Cancun Airport for about $40 one-way, or if the ADO bus schedule works for you (much cheaper option), the station is about a 10-15 min. walk down a dusty road to the pueblo center.

Management is very friendly and accommodating. Liz was very open and honest about recommendations for things to do and went the extra mile for us. We booked our room with a 'special occasion package,' so it was a nice surprise to return from dinner to find flower petals leading up to our bed, strewn in heart shaped patterns on the floor and even around our bathroom sink! There was a bottle of very decent Chilean reserve red wine and candles on our table, too.

Room Tip: We loved our upstairs room with a balcony (Kukulcan #9).
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlyB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear C & D:
This is a very lovely and amazing review. Thank you!!!! It is a pleasure to host couples like you! You were friendly beyond words to the whole staff and we really appeciate that! Thank you very much for enjoying Kukulkan and making it your home for a couple of days. Please, keep us in mind when you celebrate your anniversary, we would love to have you staying with us again.
Our best regards, always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have been to Tulum several times. This is the first time I decided to stay in the town and not on the beach. Posada offers a very nice and affordable alternative to the more expensive properties on the beach. The rooms are very clean, the staff was available to assist and very friendly and supportive. The location is best if your traveling with a car, but it is easy to get around, and taxi's are quite plentiful.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite diverse but the pictures on the site help select rooms best suited to your needs...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lousagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Lou: It was quite a pleasure to have you here as our guest with your good energy! It is great you have decided give town a chance and we are very happy you did not get disapointed at all. We really appreciate your thoughful words and if you decide to revisit us, we will make sure you have an even better experience as our friend next time. Thank you very much and we hope the north is treating you well.
Kind regards, the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

great place. the rooms were very nice, clean, and functional with the local touch. the owner dan and all staff we're super friendly and willing to assist with anything. PYK met and exceeded our expectations, although I would recommend a couple of newer bikes for the fleet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us, Jason! We are so happy to hear you had a nice time and we were actually helpful to make your trip better! We are working in new bikes so next time you come we will have more to choose from! Thank you again for your kind words. Best wishes from the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My goal was to spend three weeks of quiet and peaceful healing time in Mexico. The staff at the hotel are amazing, and the owner was so friendly and willing to share his experiences here in Tulum. I want to personally thank Liz for all of her help and great energy! I highly recommend hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathanrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear J! Thank you very much for posting a review on us! It was a nice surprise to meet someone as dedicated and nice as you are. We definitely had a great time sharing our house with you for three weeks. We can not wait to have you as our guest again next year!
Lots of possitive energy wherever you are and again, thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

From the second we walked in the the sanctuary of Posada Yum Kin we felt at ease, the manager Lis is helpful and courteous. The whole family loved the breakfast by the pool, and our room #12 offered privacy bar none. We got a chance to meet the friendly and knowledgable owner, Dan, and he gave us great restaurant and outing advice. We will pick this gem again :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceannaalondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hola, O!! Thank you very much for your kind review! It was great to have you and your lovely family staying with us! We are very glad you liked our suggestions and had a beautiful time in Tulum! You were really nice to every one and that is the best quality in our guests. We would love to have you staying with us again! Kind regards from all the team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 98 in Tulum
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 98 in Tulum
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 98 in Tulum
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $61 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing