We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff and quality of the rooms say it all......fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The staff and quality of the rooms say it all......fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

From the second we walked in the the sanctuary of Posada Yum Kin we felt at ease, the manager Lis is helpful and courteous. The whole family loved the breakfast by the pool, and our room #12 offered privacy bar none. We got a chance to meet the friendly and knowledgable owner, Dan, and he gave us great restaurant and outing advice. We will pick this gem again :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceannaalondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hola, O!! Thank you very much for your kind review! It was great to have you and your lovely family staying with us! We are very glad you liked our suggestions and had a beautiful time in Tulum! You were really nice to every one and that is the best quality in our guests. We would love to have you staying with us again! Kind regards from all the team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    127
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
184
269
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We do a lot of work in travel and tourism and so I know there are places like Posada Yum Kin that some folks will just love, and others won't. That's not a judgment of the place as much as a recognition that some people can adapt to things being a little different than home, and others may want something more familiar.
If you can't cope, for instance, with putting used toilet paper in the trash next to the toilet instead of flushing it, then Posada Yum Kin is not for you. I don't know if this is common in Tulum with older buildings, or if they just hired a Greek plumber (this is a common situation in Greece), but if that turns you off, you may want to keep looking for a modern resort (and you will pay).
If you can, however, adapt to this and the electrical limitations brought about by the hotel being on a combination of solar and wind power, and the fact it is located in a neighborhood, not directly downtown or down on the beach, then you may just find that Posada Yum Kin is not just OK, but a real delight.
We stayed recently for four nights for our daughter's wedding. Our daughter stayed in a beachfront hotel that was between two and three times more expensive. Yes, they had a beach, but we had a beautiful boutique hotel that was a superb value, and situated perfectly for us - easy access to the highway through Tulum, beach access, and the highway to Coba, Chichen Itza, Valladolid, and more fun day trip destinations.
Our room (#3) was relaxing, roomy, cool, with everything you'd need (other than groceries) to cook your own meals. It was meticulously cleaned and cared for, though I will note that the complimentary shampoo and conditioner were not impressive (one appeared to be partially used). The complimentary soap was high quality though, plenty of drinking water was available, and the room was tastefully accessorized. A very large covered veranda expanded our living space with chairs and hammock in the shade, and the hotel pool was always clean and inviting.
One thing about Posada Yum Kin is that Liz, the great manager here, has a staff that surpasses expectations. Her staff, even the night front desk clerk who spoke no English, are all professional, and make you feel right at home. They are truly wonderful people. They also are constantly working and cleaning, and as a result, the grounds and hotel feel cared for and are stunningly beautiful.
There were things we did not like, or would have done differently, such as provide curtains for the windows to block out light and provide privacy. We had to hang towels over the windows just to get the room dark enough for us to sleep.
There was some kind of impromptu nightclub or nightly party going on nearby that got fairly noisy on a couple of nights, but if the AC goes on, the noise pretty much goes away. We had some worries originally about leaving the car outside the hotel, but there was never any problem. The real problem for your car can be summed up in two words: speed bumps. Watch out. We bottomed out repeatedly in our rental car on one speed bump on the road to Posada Yum Kin. That's definitely nothing they control, just watch out for the thing!
The breakfast was good, but doesn't change much, day to day. We got a little bored with it (but not with the coffee, which was fantastic), by the end of our stay. It can be difficult to find a table if you come at the wrong time, but sit by the pool and relax if that happens.
Ultimately, when we return to Tulum (and I hope we do), we would love to stay at Posada Yum Kin again. It provides great value for the money, and while it may not be for everyone, if you value comfort, cleanliness, friendly professional staff, a central location, and a tasteful, beautiful and unique place to call home for a little while, look no further. We truly loved staying here and we'd have absolutely no difficulty returning here repeatedly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSunRunnerMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you very, very much for such detailed and nice review. We really appreciate every word of it. Everything you said is a compliment to us, being a senior traveller and rating us as great as you did means a lot to us. We will definitely take into account your advices in order to make the experience even better for our future guests and we would love if you decided to come back! Thank you very much again for your kind words! Sincerely, all the PYK staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our first visit to Tulum and to the Posada Yum Kin but we loved it so much we are in the process of booking for next year. We stayed at PYK for 2 lovely sunny memorable weeks in Suite 5 (Garden room). The room was a great size with 2 Queen size beds, a beautifully decorated bathroom and lovely powerful and warm shower. The main living area has a dining table, chairs and a small cooker, fridge, kitchen equipment was supplied along with our coffee machine which we used every day.

We walked into the Pueblo every evening for dinner (approximately a 15 minute walk) and cycled to the beach every day to lie on the gorgeous white sand. The hotel have a selection of cycles to hire. We were also able to hand in our laundry in the morning and it was returned by evening for a charge.

Liz the Manager deserves a very special mention, she is so friendly, happy and helpful with a wicked sense of humour. The rest of the staff are brilliant always smiling they really do make PYK a very special place to spend your vacation.

Cannot wait to get back, this time we will book a balcony room to watch the sun, moon and stars!!

Thanks to Dan, Liz and all the staff,

Mulzy aka Scottish :0)

Room Tip: Suite 5 is a large room with 2 Queen Beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Mulzy!! I hope your land is treating you well! It was so great meeting you! You are one of the kindest and sweetest couples we have had the honor to host. Thank you for taking the time to post a review on us, it means a lot to to hear your feedback and your experience, thank you!
We are really looking forward to have you visiting us again next year! Tulum, the sun, stars and moon are definitely waiting for you and so are we. Take care and see you soon!! :) Regards from all the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

A delightful place to stay with lovely rooms and outdoor areas. The tropical vegetation is amazing with humming birds in the garden and beautiful butterflies.It was 10-15 minutes to walk into town to the shops and restaurants but we felt quite safe in Tulum. Liz and the rest of the staff were most welcoming and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hola, Jane!! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such lovely lines, we really appreciate it. It is very nice to share beautiful things such as hummingbirds and butterflies while they fly around the property. Thank you very much for being such great guests and enjoying those little amazing details that makes it a home to us. Visit us again soon. Kind regards from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

After doing research last year for a place where we could stay and explore the Tulum area from, we spent 10 days at Posada Yum Kin and were SO glad that we decided to choose this little gem on the edge of town. We found it a perfect place to relax, cook our own meals (we LOVE to cook!), use as a home base while exploring beaches and cenotes, and wandering around Tulum town.

We returned to this lovely hotel this February for another get-a-way ... and are not disappointed in any way! It's a lovely oasis, safe, very quiet, very clean, and provides a space to do yoga, meditate, cook or not cook (includes breakfast), sit in the sun, cool off in the pool, or go to the beach. The beach is about a 70 pesos ride in a taxi, and the grocery stores are easily accessible by walking or taxi. The beds are comfortable, and the pillows too .... the decor is beautifully done, private patios with soft lighting, seating and hammocks. Each room is unique, we booked the best one for cooking :)

The staff at at the Posada Yum Kin is very friendly, helping when ever there are questions asked about the area, assisting with travel plans or day trips, and even facilitated two amazing massages under the stars by Marta! Thank you so much for all your help Liz (the manager).

This hotel is off the beaten path, but the opportunity to experience the local flavor is amazing.
We will be returning next year for another stay ... we ran into many guests who are have returned year after year, and we will too!

Room Tip: Make sure you let the management know if you want a patio to relax on ... there are different sizes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleypage8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear S & T, thank you for writing such a thoughtful review! It was great to have you staying with us for the second time! You are both as amazing as they said you would be. You were such sweet guests and those two weeks seemed like only a couple of days. You are very much missed and we really appreciate every single dish we had the opportunity to try. You are amazing cooks and we are already looking forward for you to come back next year. It was our real pleasure to host you. Sincerely, PYK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our first time staying at Posada Yum Kin. Liz (the manager) could not have been more friendly, welcoming, accommodating, or helpful. We stayed in room #9 with our 13 month old baby. They had a pack and play crib for us ready when we arrived, and the room was cozy, clean, and very cute. We had a private balcony to enjoy cocktails during the baby's nap time and slept well with the breeze blowing through the room with windows open.
The breakfast was fresh, plentiful, tasty and offered many selections each day.
Bikes can be rented for cheap from the hotel (highly recommend as well as their price is better than anywhere around) and Liz can help with any other questions or recommendations you might have about the town.
We walked into town from the hotel every day. Also rented bikes to get to the beach and around the town for two days. The hotel is back in a neighborhood off the beaten path, but still close to the main strip to get to where you want to go. Perfect for us, as we enjoyed being in the heart of a neighborhood and didn't mind the walking/biking each day.
Would stay here again in a heart beat the next time in Tulum. Highly recommend as this hotel is AMAZING VALUE for your money!!!

Room Tip: Of note, our room (#9) was on the street side of the hotel, so we heard the neighborhood sounds quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Emily!
Thank you very much for such a nice review, it was lovely to have you and your little baby staying with us. You were such amazing guests and we are extremely happy to know you had a nice time here in our home. It was great you had the opportunity to walk and bike into town but mostly to discover a side of Tulum most people do not get to see, it has so much to offer! It will be our pleasure and honor to have you staying with us again sometime soon. Our dearest regards for all the family. Sincerely, PYK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Last week we stayed at Posada Yum Kin with a couple of friends. The review is actually quite simple: just perfect. The staff is very helpful and friendly, service is great and the posada is really well decorated. I am definitely going back... hopefully soon

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JorisH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hola, Joris! Thank you very much for your nice comments! It was quite nice to have you all staying with us. It is always nice to offer some tips so you could have even a better trip. You were really nice to everyone and we really appreciate that. Please, whenever you decide to come back to Tulum, let us know, we will be extreme happy to have you as ours guests again. Thank you and best wishes, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Kukulkan Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5usd per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing