We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss this place...”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I came here by coincidence with my girlfriend. From the moment we step in we had a delightfull experience. A lovely room near the peacefull swimming pool. We had a looooot of fun with Liz (the incognito hotelmanager)! We left after 2 nights and came back at the end of our 3 week stay before going to Isla Mujeres. We had a little too much fun this time. With a serious hangover we hit the road. I love this place and this girl. For us it was our best stay in Mexico.

Gregory

Room Tip: The one just above the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taxicaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Gregory! Thank you for a very nice review! We really, really appreciate your words and we are glad you got to know Liz (the incognito manager as you said) who is always up to have a few laughs with guests as funny as you and A.C. We hope that you decide to come back to Tulum and stay with us. Please, do not forget that is is your home from now on! Kind regards, the PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Posada Yum Kin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 607 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

The drive up was a bit daunting...small, local, gravel road that seemed to end imminently, but if you keep going just a bit further, you find posada yum kin, an absolute treasure of a hotel. It's the small touches that make it really special. The cold pool, the great fresh breakfasts, the plants growing out of old boots, the old photos in the rooms. We had a car, so it didn't seem so far from stuff, but may be a bit remote if no car. They have 4 bikes, but it was hit or miss whether these were available or used by others. In any case, easy to rent bikes from town. Liz was very helpful as well. She lives in the hotel itself so she's pretty much available all the time.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hola, Lily! It seems it was yesterday when you and your family visited us! We are happy you enjoyed breakfast with us and our swimming pool! We will definitely be here for you anytime when you decide to visit again. Please, send our regards to the H family from all of our staff! Best regards and peace!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights during this our first visit to Tulum. It is a beautiful retreat away from town and the beach, so it has a much more private, unique feel--certainly a better choice than standard box hotels on the beach. The breakfasts and dinner were delicious and well-prepared. If you want to go to the beach or surrounding area, you do need a car to get there. The retreat is closely situated right in the middle of a small residential neighborhood. This gives a local feel, but the downside is noise from the surrounding houses. We wanted to enjoy the open-air windows to enjoy the cooler, fresh air at night, but the two nights we stayed, there was an unattended neighbor's dog that barked ALL night and kept us from sleeping well. Liz said that it was a problem that she was aware of, but the irresponsible dog owner had been unresponsive to requests to attend to the dog, put it inside, etc. Just be aware that the location of the retreat makes it subject to residential noise that they have no control over. If you like open windows, take your earplugs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hola, Mrs. R! Thank you very much for your kind words and to help us clarify the noise situation. Lately, it has gotten better, and hopefully we will not experience the same problem again. We are very happy that despite it all, you have had a nice time staying at our home, here in Tulum. Please, if you decide to visit again, we will be very glad yo host you and your family again. Sincerely, the PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had a truly relaxing week in Tulum hanging out at the beach, exploring the village, visiting Maya ruins, and scuba diving in cenotes. The hotel is a 10-15 minutes walk from the village, and a 30 minutes bike ride from the beach. The room was clean and practical including a water fountain. Breakfast was a treat every morning I was looking for: great choices of food next to the pool and beautiful plants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The wireless worked well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hola, Mike! It has been a while since you stayed with us but we just wanted to let you know we do really appreciate your comments and how valuable is to us that you decided to share your experience. We do remember you and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again if you decide to revisit Tulum. It will be our pleasure to host you again!
Our best wishes and appreciation from Mayan lands!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at this property for four nights and found it to be amazing. The rooms are very well maintained and have an antique feel and decor to them. If you are looking for a serene place to stay and are not super picky about luxury amenities, this would be the place for you. The rooms do not have a television or phone and we liked it this way since we could do a lot of reading ( they are wi-fi equipped however). The lights in the hotel were solar powered and this added to the charm of the place.The breakfast area is beside the pool with a lot of trees around.

Liz was particularly helpful in assisting us about everything we wanted to do at Tulum. Almost all restaurtants in the town are located on the main road which is a short taxi ride from the hotel. You can also walk it or bike it, so it wasnt a problem for us. If you are looking for serene place that is not right on the beach and has everything you need, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AmbikaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Happy New Year, Mr. & Mrs. T!!
It was such a pleasure to host you, you were a really sweet couple. We appreciate every single one of your kind words, it means a lot to us you had taken your time to review us. We really hope you can make it again maybe this year? :) We always love when our guest feel at home and you will always be part of our family. Our best wishes for this new year and always. Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 9 days in December and absolutely loved this place! It is close enough to town to walk or bike. The room was great,large with a kitchen and patio overlooking the court yard
It was extremely clean and the staff were the best. We loved breakfast by the pool and the private sun deck . Liz the manager was outstanding, she helped us plan our day trips and recommended several restaurants the we thoroughly enjoyed . She was always happy to answer all our questions. We are definitely going back in the spring.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear B & D,
Thank you for choosing PYK as the place to stay on your holidays. We are very happy and flattered everytime our guests say so many beautiful things about our house and our family. Our guests are the ones that make us offer the best we have to make them feel at home so, THANK YOU!!!. And do not worry, Liz is always willing to answer any question you might have! We are already looking forward to see you again in spring time as part of our extended family! Best wishes from Mexico, PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Thank you liz and the staff for a wonderfull stay. Great place, wonderfull hospitality.Best value for money. Stayed for two nights. Wish we could stay longer. Hope to come back. Beautyfull rooms, great surroundings. The short distance from the center keeps things quiet. Amir and Halit (Israel)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hola, Amir & Halit!
It was great having you with us even if it was only for two days. Posada is very lucky to always attract people with such great energy and peace that it is an honour to share our house with guests like you! We hope that if you ever decide to visit Tulum again, you know that you will always be welcome here in your mexican home. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone! Best regards and safe travels, always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#43 of 98 in Tulum
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#16 of 98 in Tulum
558 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#12 of 98 in Tulum
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $61 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing