We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the Tropics!”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in the Tropics!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We highly recommend this Hotel, which permeates cultural & Eco tranquility and beauty. Making us feel at home was their delightful manager Liz. This truly is a place to chill, unwind, and depart totally rejuvenated! We enjoyed the breakfast and evening dips in the pool. Our suite-casita had all the beauty of what we imagined a hotel in a tropical setting would be. We also recommend calling Irving for personal Taxi service and/or using the Colectivos to get around. Lastly, pack light!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texmex39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hola, A!!! Thank you for your kind and lovely review, we appreciate it dearly and we are glad you felt like home with us. You were such a beautiful and happy couple that making you feel comfortable was more of a prize instead of a job for us. Please, give our kindest regards to E and you know you will always be welcome to visit us anytime again. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    130
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
187
272
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

When my Husband and I chose our hotel we wanted to experience the real Mexico and not a clinical resort like Cancun, Posada Yum Kim is a beautiful personal and tranquil hotel with only 12 rooms set in an area of Tulum just off of the main avenue were real locals live, eat and shop amongst the jungle trees you will be woken early by the birds, crickets and frogs and if it rains the drops plopping between the palm leaves which we found delightful an dreamlike. Liz the manager went out of her way to ensure our stay was comfortable helped us get use to local customs, told us the best places at both end of our budget to eat(one day we ate for $69 pesos for the 2 of us and it was delicious!) and ensured we were not ripped of by taxi drivers. We booked all of our tours before we arrived but in hindsite wish we had let Liz handle this for us too as think we would have go a better service. We had a kitchenette in our room including blender for margaritas, solstice rustic wood chairs and table, 2 double beds, fans and AC and a beautiful bathroom and our own private terrace with a hammock candles and comfy rustic wooden furniture. It was like being transported to another world and so peaceful. The pool was lovely and included breakfast yummy and good variety, I am gluten free and was able to eat there every morning. I we ever return to Mexico I will definitely stay here again. In the interest of balance for those who have left negative comments (and there aren't a lot) as humidity was high the room felt damp some of the time however this is no complaint against hotel you are in the jungle what do you expect!! And It goes away once the AC has been run a few times. And those crazy people who complained about noise from dogs or birds the only noises we heard were the sound of the jungle animals birds, crickets etc and it was heavenly, much better than the sounds of the motorway in the UK! It is a beautiful and comfortable place with friendly helpful staff do not hesitate to book here you will not regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjalwaysdreamingUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear C.H.!
Reviews like yours make us feel as proud and honoured as we could ever be. We will always try to make you feel part of our family, as an old friend that comes back to visit and we get the feeling you felt that way too. You and your husband are a delight and we are so extremely happy you are back sound and safe in the UK. If you ever decide to visit Tulum again, we will be honoured to have you both as our friends in our home. Our deepest thank you and sincere appreciation. Regards, L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the last stop of our honeymoon. Having been to Isla Holbox, Villadolid and Merida before coming here to Tulum. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. We loved the rooms and the whole grounds. Very we'll kept. The staff was awesome and very helpful. Breakfast every morning was great! If you go we recommend renting the bikes and riding around the town. We took the bikes all the way to the ruins and along the path to Xcaret. Stopping at a local restaurant on the beach for some cervezas. There's a small eating "puesto" on the way to town across the street from the cerveceria the owner is from Veracruz and there food was great. Tulum was a small town with a lot of character. Great alternative to the busier towns along the Cancun highway.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frijolera71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hello, Laura.!!
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy you had a nice time here with us. We are honoured you decided to stay part of your honeymoon with us. It is nice to know you enjoyed biking as much as we do and that you find the perks of getting to know real Tulum. Anytime you decide to visit, please, let us know, we will be more than glad to receive you in our home again. We hope your marriage is full of love and embrace! Sincerely, the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Our whole stay was an unique experience and highly recommend PKY. We were 3 friends traveling to Tulum who stayed in November 2013. The attention to detail in the hotel was amazing. Our room was beautifully decorated - mosaic sink, hammock on the porch, and rustic wooden furniture were just some of the little touches that made the hotel more like a home straight out of the pages of a home design magazine. The staff were wonderful - Liz the manager is such an asset to the hotel and was so warm, cheeky and accommodating. Breakfast was a pleasure and delicious. This place is the perfect place to relax and soothe the soul.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjenmoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hola, Jen!!
Thank you very, very much for your review! You were such great and nice guests! And of course, we are very happy that you liked staying with us! We hope the three of you made it back safe and sound in Australia and hopefully we will see you back again next year!! Kind regards and appreciation! Sincerely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xalapa, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were looking for a romantic getaway on the Mayan Riviera, culturally distant from the resort cities of Cancun and Playa del Carmen. Last year we had passed through Tulum, and were intrigued that the area seemed to be relatively under-developed. Before returning this year we searched the listings of hotels and decided on Yum Kin. It was exactly what we were hoping it would be. Comfortable bed, clean room, excellent breakfast buffet, friendly staff, strong wifi signal, and a laid back atmosphere on the edge of a tropical paradise. We rented their bikes for two days, taking leisurely rides to the beach. Almost never do we stay at the same hotel more than once, but no doubt this one would be an exception to our rule!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hello, Seinko!
Thank you very much for your thoughtful comments! It is always very nice to hear our guests enjoy this place as much as we do! Please, next time you visit Tulum, it would be very nice if you let us know so we can offer you another unique experience.
Thank you very much again for the review!
Kind regards, The PYK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I could not have been happier with our stay in Tulum. When we first arrived at Posada Yum Kin we were warmly greeted by Liz. She showed us to our room and then gave us a nice tour of the building. Our room was very clean and the perfect size. We had our own balcony and we also had access to other community areas throughout the hotel.
Each morning we awoke to breakfast down by the pool. Every morning there was bread, pancakes, some variety of eggs, granola, fruit and more. We were able to relax by the pool while finishing up our coffee.
The staff was extremely warm and friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. One day we had booked tickets to xplor and had not realized that we needed to bring the exact credit card with us that we used online, luckily Jill was more than willing to help us out and with just a short wait we were able to enter with no problem.
We were very pleased with our stay and plan to return to Posada Yum Kin as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Each room has its own unique qualities, read about them online to find the one that best suits your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you, Tam! Of course you need to come back, there are still many more things to do around here and again, we will do everything we can to make you enjoy your holidays. It was very nice to have you around and you are more than welcome to visit us anytime you want! Nuestra casa es su casa! Greetings from Tulum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our first time staying at Yum Kin and I have nothing but good things to say. Unique and peaceful are two words that come to mind. Right away we were greeted by Liz(Evening Manager) and she showed us around the property and to our room. This property is wonderful! It is a tropical oasis in the middle of Tulum. Our room was spacious and clean, with a balcony that overlooked the center of the main walkway.

Every morning we had a hot breakfast prepared by Manuel that was delicious. Great breakfast area that is right next to the pool for a relaxing start to the day. Mirsa our house keeper did a great job with the room. Every time we had our room cleaned she made animals out of our towels for a unique experience.

All of the staff were very friendly and knew our names by the end of the trip. Jill(Day Manager) and Liz were extremely accommodating. They had great recommendations for restaurants and activities. All together just great hosts!

We plan on coming back to Tulum and Yum Kin in the future. Every aspect of our stay was great at this beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hola, Jacobo! Thank you for a very nice and personal review! It was very sweet of you to learn the names of the whole staff by heart! We are very lucky to have guests such as you, guys. We tried to make your experience unique and entertaining so we are also glad to hear you had a nice time in our home! We definitely look forward to your next visit! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
918 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#16 of 95 in Tulum
548 reviews
3.0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 95 in Tulum
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 95 in Tulum
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Kukulkan Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5usd per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing