We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I could not have been happier with our stay in Tulum. When we first arrived at Posada Yum Kin we were warmly greeted by Liz. She showed us to our room and then gave us a nice tour of the building. Our room was very clean and the perfect size. We had our own balcony and we also had access to other community areas throughout the hotel.
Each morning we awoke to breakfast down by the pool. Every morning there was bread, pancakes, some variety of eggs, granola, fruit and more. We were able to relax by the pool while finishing up our coffee.
The staff was extremely warm and friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. One day we had booked tickets to xplor and had not realized that we needed to bring the exact credit card with us that we used online, luckily Jill was more than willing to help us out and with just a short wait we were able to enter with no problem.
We were very pleased with our stay and plan to return to Posada Yum Kin as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Each room has its own unique qualities, read about them online to find the one that best suits your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you, Tam! Of course you need to come back, there are still many more things to do around here and again, we will do everything we can to make you enjoy your holidays. It was very nice to have you around and you are more than welcome to visit us anytime you want! Nuestra casa es su casa! Greetings from Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 624 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our first time staying at Yum Kin and I have nothing but good things to say. Unique and peaceful are two words that come to mind. Right away we were greeted by Liz(Evening Manager) and she showed us around the property and to our room. This property is wonderful! It is a tropical oasis in the middle of Tulum. Our room was spacious and clean, with a balcony that overlooked the center of the main walkway.

Every morning we had a hot breakfast prepared by Manuel that was delicious. Great breakfast area that is right next to the pool for a relaxing start to the day. Mirsa our house keeper did a great job with the room. Every time we had our room cleaned she made animals out of our towels for a unique experience.

All of the staff were very friendly and knew our names by the end of the trip. Jill(Day Manager) and Liz were extremely accommodating. They had great recommendations for restaurants and activities. All together just great hosts!

We plan on coming back to Tulum and Yum Kin in the future. Every aspect of our stay was great at this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hola, Jacobo! Thank you for a very nice and personal review! It was very sweet of you to learn the names of the whole staff by heart! We are very lucky to have guests such as you, guys. We tried to make your experience unique and entertaining so we are also glad to hear you had a nice time in our home! We definitely look forward to your next visit! Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel rooms are charming, austere, clean, and comfortable and the staff is excellent. As we hopped around the Yucatan during our stay, I was most looking forward to staying at Posada Yum Kim and I was not disappointed. Due to the intense rain, the manager upgraded up to a nicer room at no charge. The hotel is off the beaten path in Tulum which is good for the rates and definitely gives a sense of serenity while in the hotel. The walk to town is only about 5 minutes or so and they also have bikes for rent.

The included breakfast was wonderful, tasty, and filling. The pool was lovely and clean. I even decided to have a massage by their massage therapist and it was the BEST massage I've ever gotten.

I can't say anything bad about Posada Yum Kim! The rain in Tulum is another story...but I couldn't think of a more beautiful place to escape from the rain.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper level with a beautiful balcony. However, the stairs are a little windy to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinydinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hola, A.B.!!! Yes, we do remember you!! We are so happy you got to enjoy Tulum despite the weather. Your comment is very flattering, thank you! Also, you were such nice guests that we really look forward to see you, girls, again soon! This will always be your house! Best regards, J.D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Would highly recommend this charming spot on the edge of Tulum town. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle to sleep well at night. Rooms are charming and full of character. Beds are comfortable. Especially liked the pool area--I'm stealing the design when I build my dream house--just big enough to do a decent lap without looking like the pool at the YMCA. Nice landscape and cute breakfast area. Manageress is a sweetheart--she'll take care of you if you have any problems. Not on the beach but lots of cheap cabs and bike rentals around. Tulum makes you choose--if you're on the beach you have to schlep to the town, or vice versa. For my money I like being in town to wander around bars and restaurants at night. As I mentioned, this is not on the main drag so you will get a good night's sleep...

Seamus & John

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MexicoShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you very, very much for your kind words! It makes us feel we are doing things right and made you feel happy! We would love to have you again as our guests, anytime! Thank you again and best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A beautiful hotel run by a charming young woman. The room was very pleasant. The place is very quiet and clean. There is a lot of good taste in the decoration of the interiors and the patios. The only problem: awful rain!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adalberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Ciao, Signore Merighi! Grazie mille per le vostre critiche!!
It was very nice from you to review us here, it is an honor to read that you like the place we have put our hearts on. We tried our best to make you feel at home and it was very sad that you did not get to experience the sun we love so much but we wish that someday you will come back and stay with us again to create an even better memory from us. Our best regards to you en la bella Italia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Posada Yum Kin was great. Comfortable large rooms with full kitchen, friendly and knowledgeable staff, quiet location, lovely decor and design. And it was nice to have the pool, for those times when the group was back at the hotel but I wanted to be in the sun for a bit longer.

The only caveat I'd add is that the location isn't right on the main strip in town, so you should think through transportation. I actually thought this was a positive (the strip is convenient for bars and restaurants but the hotels all looked a bit bleak). We had a car, PYK rents bicycles, I guess taxes and rental mopeds are an option too ... if you're on foot, expect a 10-15 walk to get into town. Walking to the beach would probably not be worth the trouble.

So keep that in mind, but other than that, I had a great time here and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hola, Francis!
We are really glad to hear from you! We appreciate your perspective in our hotel and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your staying with us. It is very nice of you to describe us a cozy because that is what we aim for, to make you feel at home. We would really like to have you as our guest again and make your experience even better next time. Regards from Tulum to NY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Every time I go to Posada Yum Kin I am so impressed with the beauty, detail, and friendliness of the staff. Each room has lovely Mexican art, tiles and fine carpentry work. It gets better every year. They always add something wonderful.

Their attention to detail, excellent taste, and eye for quality is apparent in every corner and vista.
The tropical jungle garden weaves tastefully throughout the whole place -abundant with colorful flowers, plants and vines.

I love the upstairs. So much light and view of the surrounding jungle. My room had a wonderful large arched window looking out at the Tulum sky and tree tops.

The edge of the upstairs tiled deck with beach chairs is adorned in plants with large smiling yellow flowers as if they are saying "buenos dias!" to you all day long. The pool is stunning and clean, and the breakfast buffet is yummy- fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, pancakes, and eggs. I love how you put cinnamon in the coffee.

Everyone was super friendly, accommodating, and the atmosphere was so comfortable. The manager Jill is not only intelligent and a great conversationalist, but friendly, organized, conscientious, attentive, and professional.

In town you get a feel for real life in Tulum. It is an easy walk or bike ride to stores and restaurants, and the beaches are a close 5 minute drive.

I have traveled all around the world and this is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed.
Thank you for creating it!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, and the upstairs rooms have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StefYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you very, very much, Stef, for such a beautiful review. We are glad to have you as our guest every single time! This place is your house and we are honored you come back everytime with such beautiful energy. We can not wait to have you here again! Best wishes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.3 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 101 in Tulum
953 reviews
5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
472 reviews
4.5 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
5.2 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 | Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $69 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $10 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing