We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet oasis, really felt at home”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Bronxville,NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet oasis, really felt at home”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Would highly recommend this charming spot on the edge of Tulum town. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle to sleep well at night. Rooms are charming and full of character. Beds are comfortable. Especially liked the pool area--I'm stealing the design when I build my dream house--just big enough to do a decent lap without looking like the pool at the YMCA. Nice landscape and cute breakfast area. Manageress is a sweetheart--she'll take care of you if you have any problems. Not on the beach but lots of cheap cabs and bike rentals around. Tulum makes you choose--if you're on the beach you have to schlep to the town, or vice versa. For my money I like being in town to wander around bars and restaurants at night. As I mentioned, this is not on the main drag so you will get a good night's sleep...

Seamus & John

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexicoShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very, very much for your kind words! It makes us feel we are doing things right and made you feel happy! We would love to have you again as our guests, anytime! Thank you again and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    132
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
193
276
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torino, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A beautiful hotel run by a charming young woman. The room was very pleasant. The place is very quiet and clean. There is a lot of good taste in the decoration of the interiors and the patios. The only problem: awful rain!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adalberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Ciao, Signore Merighi! Grazie mille per le vostre critiche!!
It was very nice from you to review us here, it is an honor to read that you like the place we have put our hearts on. We tried our best to make you feel at home and it was very sad that you did not get to experience the sun we love so much but we wish that someday you will come back and stay with us again to create an even better memory from us. Our best regards to you en la bella Italia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Posada Yum Kin was great. Comfortable large rooms with full kitchen, friendly and knowledgeable staff, quiet location, lovely decor and design. And it was nice to have the pool, for those times when the group was back at the hotel but I wanted to be in the sun for a bit longer.

The only caveat I'd add is that the location isn't right on the main strip in town, so you should think through transportation. I actually thought this was a positive (the strip is convenient for bars and restaurants but the hotels all looked a bit bleak). We had a car, PYK rents bicycles, I guess taxes and rental mopeds are an option too ... if you're on foot, expect a 10-15 walk to get into town. Walking to the beach would probably not be worth the trouble.

So keep that in mind, but other than that, I had a great time here and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hola, Francis!
We are really glad to hear from you! We appreciate your perspective in our hotel and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your staying with us. It is very nice of you to describe us a cozy because that is what we aim for, to make you feel at home. We would really like to have you as our guest again and make your experience even better next time. Regards from Tulum to NY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Every time I go to Posada Yum Kin I am so impressed with the beauty, detail, and friendliness of the staff. Each room has lovely Mexican art, tiles and fine carpentry work. It gets better every year. They always add something wonderful.

Their attention to detail, excellent taste, and eye for quality is apparent in every corner and vista.
The tropical jungle garden weaves tastefully throughout the whole place -abundant with colorful flowers, plants and vines.

I love the upstairs. So much light and view of the surrounding jungle. My room had a wonderful large arched window looking out at the Tulum sky and tree tops.

The edge of the upstairs tiled deck with beach chairs is adorned in plants with large smiling yellow flowers as if they are saying "buenos dias!" to you all day long. The pool is stunning and clean, and the breakfast buffet is yummy- fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, pancakes, and eggs. I love how you put cinnamon in the coffee.

Everyone was super friendly, accommodating, and the atmosphere was so comfortable. The manager Jill is not only intelligent and a great conversationalist, but friendly, organized, conscientious, attentive, and professional.

In town you get a feel for real life in Tulum. It is an easy walk or bike ride to stores and restaurants, and the beaches are a close 5 minute drive.

I have traveled all around the world and this is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed.
Thank you for creating it!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, and the upstairs rooms have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very, very much, Stef, for such a beautiful review. We are glad to have you as our guest every single time! This place is your house and we are honored you come back everytime with such beautiful energy. We can not wait to have you here again! Best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Posada Yum Kin is in walking distance to ADO bus station, restaurants, shopping and to get to the vans to take you to the Mayan Ruins. You can rent a moped and drive yourself to the local beach or even the ruins. The people are extremely nice and staff were wonderful. A little bit more English is helpful.

Room Tip: Check water dripping from AC. While we were out exploring the town, the water dripped onto the lapt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, it is much appreciated! Yes, we are always working on English skills with our staff, who usually speak Spanish and Mayan. We have just hired a new general manager whose first language is English.
We hope to see you back here sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First of all, I raised an eyebrow when I got an email from the owner after our stay, requesting a review on Tripadvisor but suggesting that any negative comments be sent to him directly. I assume everyone here is being as unbiased as I am, because that's a bit of an invitation...not to be!

We stayed at Posada Yum Kin for a week this August. We knew it would be a bit of a walk to town and that we'd have to take taxis to the beach; we were prepared for that.

We were shown to our room at around 8 p.m. by a polite older gentleman of few words, a night clerk whom we never saw again. The place seemed magical: a lush jungle oasis leading to a huge room with a fully equipped kitchen; lovely, unique furnishings; and a spacious balcony with a table & chairs and a hammock. We soon noticed the lack of a TV, which should probably be emphasized more, so people know to bring laptops or tablets if they want any entertainment at night (the wifi works OK).

In the morning we started to get a little disenchanted, because although it was 9 a.m. or so, there was no sunlight coming into our room. The canopy of greenery was so thick that it was dark all day long, in our corner room on the ground floor. The leaves also caught the rainwater, so once it rained, it kept dripping inside the courtyard long after the sun had come out somewhere up above. The only sunlight we got was a blinding flash on the way to breakfast, because one has to go up a spiral staircase and across a bit of roof before going back down to the breakfast area. For someone who sun sneezes like I do, the dark-to-bright contrast was unnerving. (The pool area was in the sun, but we never used it, because it was actually too bright and hot out there after we'd been transformed into bats in our room.)

One day it rained steadily all day, and the floor of the courtyard was literally ankle deep in water - no drains, apparently. There was no way to get out of our room without soaking whatever footwear we had. Flip flops were the best option, but they got wet, never dried, and chafed our feet. I should have just gone barefoot.

We found breakfast to be a sad little affair, maybe because we always arrived shortly before closing, but I think later risers should be given the same quality as early ones (we were never actually late). Breakfast Guy was hard pressed to spare an "Hola," never mind idle chitchat (in any language). The buffet was weak compared to other breakfasts we had in Mexico (buffet-style or served at the table): dry, sometimes cold scrambled eggs with various mix-ins, which Breakfast Guy wouldn't make fresh until the old pan was gone (or so I assume - he was so uncommunicative); pancakes, which he did keep producing, because they disappeared faster than the unappealing eggs; and a few bowls of fruit, granola and yogurt that the flies just adored.

The front desk guy was pleasant and helpful, but hardly ever there, as I notice other reviewers have mentioned.

The walk to town is unpleasant, with poorly lit or unlit streets and huge puddles after the inevitable rainstorms (which we experienced everywhere in Mexico and were never a problem except in Tulum), though I admit, the barking dog on the roof of the low concrete building next door was pretty much the only creature to greet us one way or another.

Back on the positive side, since I am giving the posada three stars: the rooms were sparkling clean, quiet (at least our ground floor one), and regularly made up; air conditioning and fans worked well; the 20-liter bottle of water and the giant fridge are very helpful; and the grounds are beautiful, if simply too lush. A manicure might do wonders for letting some sunlight in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for the feedback, we’re happy that you liked our accommodations and will take your suggestions under consideration. We strive to always improve, so observations like yours, are invaluable to us.
Our free continental breakfast is an amenity that we receive many favorable responses for. We're sorry that you did not find it substantial enough. As PYK is committed to serving a cultural experience, as well as great accommodations, we hire locally whenever we can. Manual, aka The Breakfast Guy, is from a local Mayan family. Many of his family have worked for us for many years with great results. Manual speaks only Spanish (and Mayan). You will typically find that the Mayan people are quiet, shy and unassuming, but never rude.
We’re sorry that it rained during your stay, and probably because of that, found our Posada too much like a rainforest. That’s exactly what it is and most guests tell us that it is one of our best features. If you don’t like lush surroundings, Posada Yum Kin may not be the right place for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The best place in town. beautiful hotel, very romantic. Nice pool, great beds, shower and kitchen. It feels as if you are in paradice. Breakfast also great.
Best to have a car, otherwise you to walk about 30 minutes to the beach.

Room Tip: The room behind the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Staff at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hola, Carry!
We are very glad you found the place romantic and the atmosphere just perfect for you. It is always very encouraging to hear our you really enjoyed the experience of staying with us. Thank you very much because without you, our guests, our place wouldn't be the same. Thank you very much! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 96 in Tulum
929 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 96 in Tulum
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#46 of 96 in Tulum
357 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 96 in Tulum
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing