We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had a great time with my friends staying here in this beautiful place. The staff was really nice and welcoming and we appreciated all their service. The pool was relaxing, our room was comfortable, and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. I'm pretty much an easy going person when traveling and I found this place suited my needs, as well as my friends. The location was just fine, not too far from the beaches, just a quick cab ride, though some might think it's not ideal, we had no problem. I would recommend anyone to stay here for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicB86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 624 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

My friends and I had such a great experience at this hotel. We spent a week there and found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating. The service was top notch. The rooms were very clean and quiet as well. If in the area...we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyK333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just spent a week at the fantastic Yum Kin. All positive reviews here at Trip advisor were correct, so we're really glad we booked the stay. The breakfast by the pool was the perfect start to every day, the staff really friendly and our room #7 was perfectly located.

Yum Kin's location might seem a bit off, but the walk down to the main street only took 5-10 min (with kids), and the cab drive down to the beaches went really fast too. We really liked the little village with all the small restaurants and shops. Plan to go back asap!

Room Tip: Number 7 was perfect for our family of four (two adults, two children).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent five days at Posada Yum KIn and we had a very nice time and the service level is very good. You should be aware of the fact that the hotel is located somewhat of the beaten track, but I think that this is an advantage and it only takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to the town centre and the cost of a taxi is about 35 pesos into town and 70 down to the beaches.
The breakfast is good, with both hot and cold dishes and lots of fruit and fresh orange juice, but the the coffee did not appeal to me, so if you are a coffee lover, maybe you should bring your own.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bass63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family and I found Posada Yum Kin to be just the right fit for our stay in Tulum. Ricardo was quite helpful in assisting us with all our needs and answering our questions. The hotel’s location on the dead end street was a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of Av Tulum. Our family took advantage of the bikes available for $5.00 per day and used this as our primary source of transportation in and around Tulum. The trip to the main street (Av Tulum) was no more than 5 min and to the beach only another 15 to 20 minutes. We particularly enjoyed the jungle like ambiance within the hotel‘s foyer and the unique spiral staircase on the way to the pool. We slept in a couple of rooms during our stay and found the lighting to be a little tough on the eyes when trying to read. A drying rack for hanging towels and wet suits would be a nice addition to room number 4 especially for a family with 3 kids. I would have no hesitations recommending this hotel to my own mother, close friend, or fellow traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter and I just got back from 2 weeks here and can't wait to come back. It is a beautiful and relaxing, peaceful place. My daughter loved the pool. The rooms are clean and spacious which helps with a teenager. The Staff were very helpful and friendly. Downtown was only a 15 minute walk which was very pleasant. Breakfast by the pool was a dream. The bike rental is a great option and a load of fun.
We will be back soon rather than later. Thank you for a wonderful holiday experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKU1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Posada Yum Kin was beautifully decorated with Mexican tile and wood throughout. Very Clean. The pool was very nice. One thing that I really appreciated was the water cooler in the room. Breakfast was good with french toast, eggs, fruit, breads, juice and coffee. Could not ask for more. Free internet acess. There was a little problem with a barking dog at night, but the owner said that she would be taking care of that. It is a little walk to the restaurants and I think you should have a car to reach the public beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhorse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.3 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 101 in Tulum
953 reviews
5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 101 in Tulum
476 reviews
4.5 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
5.2 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 | Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $69 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $10 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing