We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel in every way!!!!”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Patterson, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hotel in every way!!!!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

January 4, 2013-January 27, 2013. I was joining my boyfriend, George, who had previously stayed the year before and loved it so much he wanted to go back and invited me! George stayed a whole month! Everything from check in to check out was prefect. Ricardo the manager was punctual, professional, so curious, and spoke excellent English. Our rooms were cleaned every day and when you checked in, the towels decorated the bed as swans in a heart with rose petals. It was so clean and fresh. The bathrooms had great hot and cold water. We had bottled water in our room but I was able to brush my teeth and drink the water out of the tap since it came out of the cenote. Breakfast was complementary and made by Manuel, Marisa, and her sister. The homemade pancakes were the best I have ever had accompanied by different egg dishes, yogurt, toast, etc. The pool and grounds were spotless. George and I watch football games on the TV on the ground floor. The security at the hotel was excellent and very quiet. Everyone had a key to the front door as well as to your room. It truly was a great restful romantic sanctuary. I hope to go back next year!! Jan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    129
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
187
271
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The place was very beautifull and the room was a simple suite which contained 2 double beds a kitchen and a dinning table. There was a free wifi in the room and a free buffet breakfast next to the pool.
The beds were simple wooden beds, which on first site looked breakable but they were quite comfortable. We liked that they arrange the towels as swans on the bed.
The service however was not that good. The reception was empty most of the day and even on the hours that they were saying that the reception is open there was no one there.
The breakfast was quite nice except of the fact that flies were entering the buffet plates all the time.
The place was located 10 minutes walk from the main street. The walk was ok during the day but when it became dark the way became unpleasant, taxi cost us around 30 pesos. The ruins were located 10 minutes ride and the taxi cost 50-80 pesos.

Another problem we had caused since we forgot something in the hotel when we left. We called the hotel and asked them to send it to us using an express car on our expense, they told us they will check it out and will call us back. After few hours with no returning call we tried to call them back several times but they just disappeared.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agartal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Mexico and we stayed 3 nights at PYK. It was a lovely stay. They staff and fellow guests were extremly friendly and helpful. It is definitely a quiet, relaxing hotel so I wasn't sure if my children would be disruptive or not. They were the only children in the hotel and everyone was very nice to them. My son had a great time looking for, and trying to catch, the little lizards. Breakfast was great. Something for everyone. If you want beauty and relaxation, this is your place. If you want tv, night life, constant entertainment...maybe not. For me, it was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaultwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spent the month of January there again this year and it's better than ever. Balbv and Dan have added some wonderful rooms and amenities to Yum Kin too. Ricado, the young manager, is a delightful and catering person. And, the staff of the tres hermanos ( Mieza, Merna and Manuel) are the best ever!!! If you are looking for the best in Tulum, you gotta stay there. I'm going back for the month of enero '14, so don't take my room!!!
George Friedrich
Arkansas

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Only one word describe this place. Excellent !!!l Great staff members, they speak English and Spanish. The staff is very friendly. The Hotel is a short walk to downtown. The Hotel is also eco friendly. I've stay in many Hotels around the world, but never seen a cleaner swimming pool. The pool is awesome. The food is great, especially breakfast. The price to stay there is great comparing to other places in town, they offer a lot more. I can't wait for my next vacation there.

Room Tip: room by the pool or top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just stayed for two weeks and really loved it. Ricardo and the team are very friendly and helpful. The grounds and rooms are kept immaculately clean, i;m sure the pool was cleaned every other day.

The fact it is out of town we found a bonus and you are removed from any bustle and yet it is in easy reach and the taxi system is so regular and reasonable it doesn't take long to get to the beach.

I hope that the hotel doesn't grow too much by adding too many more rooms as it will loose it charm and breakfast in the small pool area may become a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very relaxing and peaceful place to vacation. The staff is very nice and friendly. Great location, too, as downtown is only a short (10-15 minute) walk away. The rooms are clean and nice -- and quite spacious. The pools is very nice (and also spacious) and offers the perfect place to start your day (with poolside breakfast) or end your day with an evening swim.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Kukulkan Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5usd per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing