We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Yum Kin
Nearby Hotels
$359
$254
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Azulik(Tulum)
$510
$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$381
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of $225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$270
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zamas(Tulum)(Great Value!)
$164
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
$531
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveler rating
465
135
24
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
135
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtwater dispenserfull kitchenthe main dragbeautiful oasisbreakfast was deliciousbeautiful poolwalk into townevery morningdirt roadtree houseshort driverented a carmini fridgesmall hotelplaya del carmentulum ruins
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 631 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you are looking for the all-inclusive resort experience or a boutique hotel on the beach, Tulum has plenty of that. Posada Yum Kin is not that. Come here if you want a sensible, centrally located base of operations to explore the area, reasonably priced. The beach is a 10 to 15 minute drive, same with cenotes (caves with refreshing pools for swimming and snorkeling) and the main drag with plenty of restaurants about 5 minutes away driving. The other major street along the beach, with higher-end restaurants and spas, is 10 minutes away. Not much around Posada, in fact it is very much in the regular folk neighborhood. But inside it has a decent size courtyard pool, very helpful and friendly staff, a good buffet breakfast. We had 3 kids and the rooms were big enough to accommodate us comfortably. You will feel away from the action, because you are, but that is either good or bad, depending on what you seek. We found it nice to get away from all the tourists and come back to a comfortable, cozy hotel and hang out in the courtyard. Bottom line, if you don't plan to spend all day at the hotel this is fine, if the hotel experience is part of what you look for, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RC A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you RC A! We couldn't have said it better! We're glad you and your family had a great time at PYK and we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the hotel. It's small, the service is impeccable, rooms are beautiful and clean, shower has great pressure/flow, breakfasts are yummy with great variety/choice, and the kitchen in the room is helpful.

This hotel is definitely a better pick for families (pool, kitchen etc), and for people who come with a car. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the town and the hotel charges $5 for renting bikes.

Some things I didn't like -
- CONSTRUCTION. All the beauty is lost when you're trying to relax/read/sunbathe with sounds of people building on the property.
- Lack of kitchen basics. The hotel doesn't provide any salt, spices, oil etc - which would help when cooking just 1 or 2 meals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our first visit in 2010 was outstanding so we booked again this year. We arrived late in the afternoon ready to relax after a long day. Unfortunately, there was a mix up with our room and our beloved #8 was taken by other guests. We were put in room #9 but were dissapointed that our room may not be available for our stay. Ricardo was very apologetic and even brought us some of his dinner and a couple of Coronas to make amends. Fortunately, he worked it out so that we were able to get in to #8 on the 3rd night of our 5 night stay so we were happy with this solution. I have to say that Ricardo is one of the most helpful and accomodating people we encountered on our 10 night stay in Mexico, not to mention incredibly hardworking. We also met Dan's wife and co-owner, Balvina. Nice lady...we spent a lot of time visiting with her. She even made some special tea for me as I was recovering from a 24 hour intestinal disburbance. Very nice.
Although we didn't make use of the kitchen this time it is a great feature and well equipped. Breakfast was tasty and adequate. The new pool and breakfast area is beautiful and nicely landscaped. The only complaint we had was that the water was too cold so we never did swim but did spend some time just relaxing by the pool. They were also finishing up a new small room with no kitchen overlooking the pool as well as a 2 bedroom casita. The latter would be a great deal for families traveling together.
Last but not least, we loved the new kitten, Lucy. What an adorable, feisty girl. She quickly discovered that we are cat lovers and became our best friend!
Overall, a great second visit!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hola Trish,
It was great having you stay with us again. We're happy that Ricardo was able to straighten the room arrangements out for you and get you #8 again. Balvi says 'hi' and she is glad that you liked her tea. It is truly one of her specialties.
The pool temp can be a bit hit and miss this time of year. Hopefully, Mother Nature will help you out on your next visit to PYK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a gem of a hotel. Each room is a one-of....and we had a spacious well appointed Mexican tiled room next to the gorgeous clean and large swimming pool. We had a full kitchen, in case we felt like making meals at home with our pollos asados from town....
The manager was a wealth of useful information and staff all friendly and accomodating. My 88 year old mother thinks we should return ...but next time for a month!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neverhome53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We're so happy to hear that even your mother enjoyed your stay at Posada Yum Kin. Indeed we hope to see you back here for a month next time, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A great hotel that is full of atmosphere and charm. The hotel is on the outskirts of Tulum and was easy to locate; parking is available on the road outside the hotel. The centre of Tulum is about 10-15 minutes walk away so a car is probably useful in this area especially when visiting the beaches or the ruins at Coba and Tulum. The room we had was comfortable as well having character with the wooden beams. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom a good size with hot water always available. The room was well appointed with a table and chairs, fridge, coffee maker, filtered water, a 2 ring cooker as well as a good range of plates, cutlery, pots and pans. There is a nice pool with a separate sun terrace with sun loungers, a great place to unwind after site seeing that is a good alternative to the beach. The staff are helpful and friendly providing useful information such as where to eat, as well as being able to satisfactorily answer any question asked. Breakfast was adequate. The hotel provides good value for money; overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPYK, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! Yes, if you have a car, which we recommend, our location is nicely situated. We chose this location to avoid downtown noise and congestion. It’s close enough to town to walk, you have a birds-eye view of the nearby ‘local flavor’ and its easily accessible to the many activities nearby.
We hope you visit Yum Kin again soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews